We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel - quite cheap though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The InnCrowd Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The InnCrowd Hostel
Ranked #79 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hostel - quite cheap though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is located in Little India which ensures that there are lots of restaurants around where you can eat fairly cheap.
The hostel itself provides a continental breakfast till 12pm, it has a common area with TV, DVD player and Wii. It doesn't have a roof garden or a billard table, which our travel guide had actually promised. They sell pretty cheap beer until 12am. A bed in a 10-bed dorm costs 20 S$. The whole hostel is very smelly, the AC works from 7pm to 11am only. During the first night the dorm wasn't really cooled down and during the second night it was freezing cold. They have approx 7 showers and toilets for the whole hostel. The towels that you can rent for 2,50 are not worth the money.
The hostel is an official tourist office and they therefore sell ticket for various attractions at a reduced rate, which is a nice plus.

I think I'd only come back again because the hostel is fairly cheap on a Singapore price scale.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    77
    51
    26
    11
See reviews for
7
52
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Good hostel, had AC which was great relief from humid Singapore. Good location, clean and safe. Could get deals at the front counter to attractions. Beds weren't the greatest but other than that it was an enjoyable experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the cheapest hostel we could find in Little India upon arriving (bar a very dodgy, dark and dirty one which was a dollar cheaper per night...) can't remember the exact price but it was cheap for Singapore. Breakfast of boiled eggs, toast, butter and jam was included and although it said 2 eggs per person you could pretty much help yourself to as much as you wanted, we filled up on it every morning. You could also help yourself to tea/coffee/hot water whenever you wanted which was nice.
You have to make your own bed and strip it when you leave and do your own washing up.
There was wifi and free computers and a TV, the communal area was quite small but ok.
Bathrooms were very nice and modern and clean. Dorms were basic but fine.
Great location in the middle of little india with lots of cheap and delicious indian food outlets close by.
However, the best thing for me was the free scooter tour. We decided to go along on our first night and didn't have very high hopes for it as it was free but thought it would be worth doing. It was probably the high light of singapore for us. We saw all the main sites including the oldest mosque, raffles hotel, the helix bridge etc, we also saw a light show and a laser show. We stopped to eat dinner and the really sweet guide bought us ice kachang deserts to share. You do the whole tour on micro scooters (so don't wear your flip flops as they fall off) and it was really fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was about 20 dollars a night which is pretty cheap for Singapore so I'd say it's good value for money.

There's MRT stations close by so you can easily get around and everything's pretty much within walking distance.

The staff were really helpful with information on trips, bus times etc. although when you arrive your not shown to your room and you're also handed a bunch of sheets to make your own bed!

The dorms were really hot during the day because the AC only comes on in the evening and there's not any fans. The AC is on all day downstairs though so you can cool down there if you need to!

The rooms are also pretty dark and you can't store your bag beside your bed although there is a storage area in the room.Take some ear plugs too as it can get noisy at night!

There's a big lounge area and lots of DVDs to choose from. The wifi is also good and the computers free to use.

The breakfast is pretty standard - tea, coffee, water, toast and eggs.

I think it's good value for money and id go back if I visited Singapore again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

ok. it's great value for your money. however i'd like to point out that sometimes it happens that when u arrive at the hostel you have to make your own beddings. i think they need to buy some new white blankets. dont get me wrong... it's not dirty but it's pretty old. the dorm is nearby clubs so it can get noisy specially Friday nights. i didnt got enough sleep at all. no food and drinks allowed in the room. bags should not be near or on beds. they should be at the storage area in the room. there's a locker but bring your own lock coz the rental is 5? SGD. They say no plugs in the room but i found one hidden beside my bed heehee. no need to buy a universal adapter.. BUT if the universal 5? socket is already packed and you cant wait for your turn, then rent a universal adaptor for 2sgd so you can charge in a singaporean socket. there's 3 PCs, also wi fi is fast. you cant cook...no stove. but the breakfast *tea, coffee, toast, strawberry jam, butter, hard boiled egg" is already prepared waiting for you until 11. no lock in dorm door. the 4? toilet and 4? showers are pretty clean so no prob. A/C is off at noon and resumes at seven so go somewhere before seven coz it's hot. as for me, i stay in the cool lounge.. my favourite spot where i can sit and just stare at the bulbs changing colors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm not much into the whole hostel thing, but I've stayed in a few before. I found this place in Lonely Planet and made sure to book well in advanced.
The staff seemed incredibly annoyed when you asked for anything.
I paid $2.50 to "rent" a towel that was so small and thin I'm not sure I would even call it a towel. The bathrooms were decently clean, however no fans so they were boiling hot.
The common area was pretty small, and it was also the only place you can get wifi. The dorm room I booked said 6 bed dorm. It was actually 6 bunk beds, meaning 12 people. The rooms and hallways smelled of urine and body odor.
The beds were horribly uncomfortable. You didn't want to move in the middle of the night for fear of a spring stabbing you.
The aircon was only turned on from 7pm-11am. The first night my rooms ac wasn't turned on until 11pm.
When you have a room with 12 people and its 80+ degrees out its just wrong to keep the ac off during the hottest part of the day. Good luck trying to take a nap or relax.
The location is great, but there are plenty of hostels in Little India.
I understand the prices are cheap, but with THAT many people staying there and for somewhere supposedly good enough to be in a very popular guide book, you'd think they would try harder and want to keep a good reputation. I was incredibly disappointed and would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaleyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent hostel in a nice neighborhood. Little India is a perfect spot for getting excellent and cheap food. There are two several MRT stations on a 5 minute walk away. The hostel provides dorms and private. Go for the dorm, better price and its clean and comfortable. The beer is really cheap (around $2.40) and you can watch movies in de common room. Internet access is free available and breakfast is simple but ok. (Egs, toast, marmalade and coffee/thee) the offer every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday a free step tour trough singapore, join them!! It's really nice!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juliuswes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#89 of 215 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#61 of 215 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Little India
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Little India
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#28 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Rucksack Inn (Lavender)
#34 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The InnCrowd Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The InnCrowd Hostel

Property: The InnCrowd Hostel
Address: 73 Dunlop St., Singapore 209401, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The InnCrowd Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The InnCrowd Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inncrowd Hotel Singapore
The InnCrowd Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing