We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The InnCrowd Hostel
Ranked #85 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Hostel is clean in a good location but a few small changes could make such an improvement. I was in a ten bed dorm, a simple small mirror would have been good and there was not one single plug socket. I would hate to be here in peak season with over 30 people trying to use the minimal number of plugs in the common area. The blankets are also from aeroplanes and cover about half your body, not good when your freezing from the air con.
The WiFi wouldn't reach my dorm and at my time of stay only one of the 3 computers downstairs worked.

Overall good price and location but a few things really let it down. Sort these out and you will have a great hostel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twatheodb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for The InnCrowd Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hostel is in a ok location in Little India but there are far better and more centeral places to stay. Our hostel room on the first night was nice and cold but the air con was very loud, so on the 2nd night someone had asked for it to be turned of so our room was boiling! After asking 3 times for it to be turned down it was finally done, at 3 in the morning. Ruined our trip there. Also toilets and showers are a bit rough but you do get breakfast and wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Walking distance to MRT, breakfast provided, unlimited internet, clean environment, friendly and helpful staff and the good thing is they will always be there whenever you need them 24/7! A good experience staying at Inncrowd.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked a double room for one night, but when we checked in, we were given a five-bed dorm room right beside the shared bathroom on the second floor. I think they have another building for private rooms, but we stayed at the main building on Dunlop St. Short distance from Little India MRT. As expected, it was noisy most of the time. Our room was clean and the airconditioner worked fine. The shared bathroom could've been cleaner. It was a cramped place, and the lounge was small. Didn't get to try the free breakfast. For $29/night, you'd be better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

a lying, cheating dump of a business.

they show double rooms as having an individual double bed with quilt and pillows, ambient lamps and couch, in reality ---
we got walked down 3 backstreets away from the main building, to another building in scary dangerous back alley, the room we were given was smaller than my bathroom at home, with the *tri bunk* (not double room as promised) bed almost hitting door. the bed was firm and you can feel the wire base through the 'mattress'. the pillows are so old, thin, worn out.
shower has nowhere to sit your things, basically a stall only.

we were handed thread bare towels to sleep with - 1 per person - in what was meant to be a double 'presidential' room for a couple. the wifi obviously didnt work as it wasnt anywhere near the hostel. the staff ignored our presence when we first walked into reception room even though no1 else was around.

breakfast is included but looks fit for pigs, not even dogs.

after reading other reviews,which i regret not reading beforehand, the place ought to be shut down.

Room Tip: dont degrade yourself by staying in this dump.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice little hostel, pretty easy to find from the metro station - about a 10 min walk
Dorms are compact, but clean. Each bed has a security locker just outside the door to the dorm - padlocks and keys ate provided at reception, free of charge.
The downstairs bathroom is clean and functional, though a little small.
The common area is a raised platform with a few beanbags and a table, together with a few higher tables and tall stools. It feels fairly comfortable and sociable, although there are quite a few people sitting around on laptops/iPads and not talking much!
There are a few beers available from reception for 5SGD - not a bad price for Singapore.
Wifi is available throughout the building at no cost. There are also a few computers in the common room for general use.
The whole place feels quite secure - you are given an entry pass for the front door on arrival (you need to pay a deposit).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

the room is good and quite clean. also the joint bathroom is clean. breakfast is pretty basic, bread, jam, egg, coffee and tea. the neighborhood is pretty save, but its very very crowded on the weekend. the MRT station about 10 minutes walk. you can get a discount to many places in singapore such as universal studio and bus discount to KL. the host is pretty helpful. overall its a nice hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenoPasaribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#51 of 234 in Singapore
298 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#49 of 234 in Singapore
508 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 234 in Singapore
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Little India
Checkers Backpackers
Checkers Backpackers
#170 of 234 in Singapore
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The InnCrowd Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The InnCrowd Hostel

Address: 73 Dunlop St., Singapore 209401, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $11 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The InnCrowd Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The InnCrowd Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inncrowd Hotel Singapore
The InnCrowd Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing