We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points but very noisy”
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perak Hotel
Ranked #161 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel has some good points: the staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is good if not great and it is very well located next to MRT stations and bus stops. The problem that I had staying there was the noise at night. You can hear the music from the bars downstairs, you can hear your neighbors flushing and walking above and you can also hear the calls to prayer from the mosque nearby.

If you have no problems sleeping through noise, then I would recommend this hotel but if you're a light sleeper, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 574 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

On my recent stop-over in Singapore I stayed at this hotel right in the heart of Little India. It is a very old building which has lots of character and charm and is not over-priced. The rooms weren't large but they were very comfortable. There was tea and coffee making facilities and a good air conditioner. Breakfast was adequate and the staff were very helpful. They even had a bookcase where you could borrow books which were all recent books. As the hotel is in the back streets you never had loud noise. There is a small front balcony at the entrance, hidden from the tiny street by pot plants where you could smoke. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotels in Singapore are pricey for what you get but The Perak was good value for money.

Our room was quite small but clean and had a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, ample wardrobe space and a TV. The aircon worked well. We just about got an acceptable wifi signal but there was also a direct Ethernet connection if required. The landings and staircases (no lift here but not a problem) were very oldy-worldy and ornate. The staff was friendly and helpful and the receptionist helped carry our luggage to the room when we arrived. The breakfast was more then adequate, if unexciting.

Right in the heart of Little India and a 10 minute walk to the nearest MRT station with lots of restaurants in area. The Tekka Centre is a five minute walk away where you can get some really cheap and tasty food.

We would have preferred something a little more upmarket but The Perak suited our needs for the two nights that we stayed there and was reasonably priced.

Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the 1st night of our holiday before leaving for Malaysia and were impressed enough to return for the last 3 nights at the end. The room was small but quite comfortable and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate and the location was terrific. We could hear noise from other rooms but it was not enough to disturb us. Would definitely return to the Perak on future visits to Singapore and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelista50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 for 3 days on business.Hotel was clean,breakfast was basic,some staff members more friendly than others although they were all helpful.Rooms were overpriced for what you are getting but I was told that when they last reduced their prices they had trouble with the undesirable elements in society hence price went back up which has ensured they have decent clientle,families etc..
Hotel was clean although not really suited for business travellers who need wi fi internet access etc. Had trouble getting internet in the rooms and had to work from the reception area.Did complain to the staff who asked us to leave a complaint so the owner would do something about it as they receive alot of complaints about the internet access in the rooms.If you look around you may find cheaper and better !!

Walls seem quite thin as gurgling water noises all night making it hard to sleep.Everytime a toilet flushes elsewhere.For a few day trip it is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaanj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March. Pretty much what we expected for the price. The room was small (which is to be expected for a room in any big city), but was clean and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant.
Only minor complaint was regarding noise heard from other rooms and the corridor, but certainly not enough to keep us awake at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Four of us stayed at this hotel. We had reserved a superior room and a standard room. We were upgraded to a deluxe from superior and a standard to a superior, for no extra charge. We found the rooms overpriced for what they were. All of Singapore is very pricey. We did enjoy staying in Little India. It was a place of character and very different from the CBD. Many good eating places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#128 of 317 in Singapore
1,024 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#172 of 317 in Singapore
339 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 317 in Singapore
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#186 of 317 in Singapore
35 reviews
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#181 of 317 in Singapore
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $77 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing