We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Perak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$284
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$143
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$313
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$206
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$172
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$344
$337
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$549
$332
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $404/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
90
283
153
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
283
153
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiano liftcall to prayerbudget hotelrooms are smallcharming hotelsim lim squaresmall windownoodleslight sleeperthird floormrt stationtea coffeepublic areasplus pointair conditionermin walk
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 580 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we book a triple room around christmas, the 3 beds are on a platform, so the remaining surface for 3 persons to move around is really too small. The bathroom is also very small and not very clean.It is located in Little India (not very clean area) .If I have to come back, I would choose another location, bencoolen, for example.Breakfast was OK, with a set menu everyday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Singapore is notorious for exceptionally high priced hotels – many of which are older, tired, and not worth what you pay for them. Those that are particularly new and modern charge accordingly. Nice middle of the road options that are clean and well run are definitely in short supply. The Perak fits the ”boutique, affordable, 3 star” category very well. The location is great, on a one way street oi the central city side of Little India, just a five minute walk from Bugis Junction or Little India stations, one city block from Sim Lim Square electronics market, an surrounded by cheap eats.
The hotel (still known to taxi drivers as the Perak Lodge) is built in a row of renovated traditional shophouses, It is a four story building, with no elevator – so is not ideal for those with mobility issues.
The Perak’s 35 rooms are small, as are all rooms in inexpensive hotels in Singapore. They are very clean, with polished original wooden floors, and quite hard beds. All rooms have small room safes, mini fridges with complimentary bottled water, and tea/coffee making facilities. I found the rooms to be comfortable, although a little dark, with not much natural light. Hallways though were light and airy.
The service at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and the included basic hot continetal breakfast and wifi were appreciated.
The Abdul Gaffoor Mosque is virtually across the road, so if you are not used to the call to prayer in the early morning, you may want to request a room at the back of the hotel, rather than on the streetfront. Personally, the melodic and somewhat melancholy call to prayer is a sound I have come to love while travelling – but the close proximity to the mosque does mean that it may be loud in the front rooms. Conversely however, some people may complain about late night neighbourhood nightclub noise able to be heard from the rooms at the back, particularly on weekends. I guess if you value complete nighttime piece and quiet, don't choose to stay in Little India.
Sure, the Perak isn’t an extremely fancy, large 5 star, but I thought it was definite value for money if you are looking for a appealing middle of the road option, and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist about the amount of natural light in the room, or whether you will be bothered by nightclub or mosque noise at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Look I can't say there's too much to be negative about given that this property is in the budget or value category.

The location is terrific being in the heart of the unique 'Little India' precinct which is an interesting oasis in a sea of steel and glass in modern Singapore. The building itself has a heritage, colonial and guest house feel. It has a lovely vibe.

However, the rooms are small. Perhaps two people is the maximum in a standard room. Nevertheless, there is a slightly larger category of room which will take three at a pinch. The breakfast is spartan and has only one cooked option. We had the Mosque up the road calling everyone for prayer - very loudly - at 05:30 each morning we were in residence. In addition, there were mould issues in the bathroom. All things said and done, I submit that the most annoying thing was the placement of the air-con which was a distinct unit situated directly above the bed. It was noisy and blew cold air over us all night.

So we'd recommend the place but only as a short stay (stopover) and on a cost conscious basis.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Met up with friends in Singapore and they had already decided on this hotel. It was a great choice. Singapore hotels are very expensive so S$150/night was a bargain. Clean. Friendly staff - helpful. Walking distance to MRT so all attractions are easily accessible. Basic breakfast included in the price - not a great selection but sufficient. No in-house restaurant but walking distance to places selling reasonabley priced Indian food. Free fast wifi. Would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, so if you feel claustrophobic without a window just ask when making the booking.
Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank yvonne_l_russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon at Perak Hotel in Singapore - it was a good decision! We had booked a standard double, but as soon as we got there they upgraded us to one of their better rooms at no extra charge. Our room was lovely, though quite small, relatively quiet and light. It was furnished beautifully and the bathroom was spacious and very clean. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but tasty: they change then menu every morning. We liked the Kaya (coconut jam) so much, that we asked the lady in the kitchen where we could buy it from and bought 5 jars to take home with us.
What we really liked about Perak Hotel was its charm and characterful building, and good location: very close to Bugis MRT Train Station, although we prefered to walk and really discover Singapore. It is a fascinating city - enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxannasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews