We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, cosy, nice breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Perak Hotel
Ranked #150 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Dublin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Clean, cosy, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good choice but not a budget option.
We paid USD 237.58 for two nights, thats basically what you will pay in a similar hotel in the center of Tokyo. (and sorry but Singapore is not Tokyo!)
Staff were helpful, the man in charge in reception made me print the Agoda confirmation receive before checking in so you may bring a copy already printed with you if you like to speed up the check in!

The room was small but clean. Internet wifi was working but wasn't really fast in our room. There was also LAN internet available. AC worked well and TV too.

The location is good, very close to Little India area where you will find good places to eat real indian food.
If you are coming from the airport get off at Bugis MTR station (direct line) and from there is a 10min walk to the hotel.

SIM LIM Square (Electronics Mall) is very close to Perak Hotel however I strongly advise against shopping there as it is a tourist trap full of scammers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    259
    138
    25
    23
See reviews for
89
235
60
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated in Little India we found the Perak Hotel convenient to Bugis & Little India MTR Train Stations........
Not a 5 minute walk initially but once familiar, very easy to access.
Also close to the Bus Interchange for those travelling to Malaysia.
A decent walk to Bus Point at Marina for 'Hop on Hop off' bus, China Town, Raffles, Clarke Quay and with plenty to see on the way.
The Hotel is small, so are the rooms, but nice and clean.
Offer simple but adequate breakfast - cereal, fruit salad, toast & jam, tea/coffee.
Very helpful and efficient staff.
Don't forget to factor in additional taxes when booking.

Room Tip: If staying for any length of time..............invest in a pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Singapore hotels have become so expensive, that I tend to keep the upmarket travel for different occasions. This time, I was travelling with a girlfriend and only passing through the Lion City for a couple of nights so we wanted a safe budget option and Perak ticks all those boxes.

The room was clean but basic and the shower reminded us of student days. However there was a safe, fridge, small TV, air-conditioning and it was quiet with breakfast included.
There is no lift and no porter service so be prepared to lug your bag up the stairs. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby lounge/breakfast area and there is 24-hour reception although after mignight you need to ring the doorbell.

This property has family rooms and we saw a couple of family groups at breakfast, along with couples and singles so it suits all travellers on a budget who want to step up from a hostel or backpackers.

The surrounding area has some great little bars and casual restaurants and is an easy walk to the popular Bugis St shopping area. Taxis, buses and the MRT are also nearby.

In the same situation I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbanegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself ,my wife and son , stayed at the Perak Hotel in late September for 3 nights in a triple room. might i say we were pleasantly surprised at this budget hotel. the room was only small but had everything we needed. the bathroom , while small was clean and the shower was hot. the room was air conditioned and though we only had a small window it did not bother us as we really only came back to the hotel to sleep. the beds were really comfortable as well and not hard like most hotel beds. the breakfast was included and while simple , was sufficient for us. plenty of breads and toast as well as cereal and each morning they cooked an egg dish eg omelette or scrambled etc. there is free wi fi in the dining area and lobby. the staff were very friendly and quite helpful. the "terrible twins " behind the main desk during the morning were great guys and helped us get free transfers to Universal Studios and advised us of a cheap bus fare to Singapore Zoo which saved us a few dollars. the hotel is close to Bugis street markets and not far to the MRT stations. also the Sim Lim square is only a few hundred meters away if you want any electrionics or computer gear etc. all in all i would class this hotel as a good budget hotel and if you are only staying a few days and plan on being out and about for most of the time it is perfect. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loudo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our children aged 2, 8 and 11. It is a lovely hotel. All very clean, nice breakfast (but not fantastic), helpful staff and free wifi. Really quick check-in and check-out.

The rooms are small (we had one double room and one with three beds) and the bathrooms are even smaller. And the windows in our rooms were almost prison-like. And the beds are just OK. But everything was nicely decorated and clean and charming! I mean, you get what you pay for, and this is among the less expensive hotels in the city.

Little India is a nice area to stay in. Lots of nice small shops and close to MRT-station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enemalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been guest of this Hotel since 2007. It is 100% clean, location is perfect, the best in Singapore, close to everything, to MRT, bus, shopping centres, etc...Staff is extraordinary, well educated, polite, friendly. I have ben here alone and also with family. It has free wifi internet and also computer in lobby for guests who dont have personal computer. There is 0-24 free cofee and tea. Nearby, there are many food options. If you wanna budget but exellent food than go to Sim Lim Square food court in basement. If you wanna best restaurant in Singapore, it is also nearby, and it is called FATTY ( Wing Seong Fatty is full name ) restaurant, it is oposite Sim Lim Square.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean, difference is in size, you should advice with staff what you want. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99TOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Compared to other hotels in Singapore, this hotel was the best in price/quality. Clean and neat rooms, with airco. Breakfast was served every morning in the cafe area, good standards, nothing extra. Some personnel were nice, some less nice. If you are facing the streetside, the noise outside could be taking yout night's rest, seems that the Indians are up all night. Plus there are several nightclubs and restaurants opened until late.
The Little India metro station was at a convenient walk ( about 10-15 min), which brings you to all sites in Singapore.
Good budget hotel for relatively expensive Singapore.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy198151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#120 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#175 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#152 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#153 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#220 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#99 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Property: Perak Hotel
Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing