We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“13 people for Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fratini La Trattoria

Fratini La Trattoria
Ranked #2 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“13 people for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Called up Gabriel and we arranged a special openning, for my family and I and some friends who came over to Singapore for the F1.
We had a fanastic lunch small tapas style serves of fresh, tasty Italian food.served hot
Great wine cellar at the back.
We all want to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    111
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb quality Italian food , intimate and personalized dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a great news to have Chef Gabriel Fratini back in Singapore ! He was running the best Italian restaurants here in the 80th and 90th . His new concept is more intimate and he will tailor make a menu depending off the products he found that morning @ the market . Expect an array off excellent dishes , some with a twist , always well presented . Chef Fratini share his enthusiasm,
and his only concern is to please his guest . Although there his a small menu , i would no recommend that place to go just for one pasta dish ...there are enough Pizzeria in town , but rather let yourself surprise with Chef Fratini creativity ..you will not be disappointed . The value for money is good , for the wine as well ..and you end up with a unique dining experience. Very pleasant and effective service , some done by the Chef himself .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tintinautibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HIGH QUALITY ITALIAN CUISINE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent food, wine and service surpassing most Italian restaurants in Singapore!
The dining experience at this level was beyond our expectations.
The octopus with potato was superb both in taste and presentation. We proceeded to eat roast eggplant with raw scallops which was worth the wait. I can say with all confidence that as an Italian La Trattoria Fratini has met up to all my expectations and I highly recommend it .
Thank you to the charming staff and Chef who made it such an inviting place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PaolinaBagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Interesting Italian tapas?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The latest addition to the bustling Greenwood community of restaurants. We wandered in early on a Friday evening for dinner, not knowing what to expect. The restaurant had its soft launch recently and was still trying to find its feet. We were fortunate to get a table for two outside.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but clearly stressed and slightly disorganized. One waitress with bleached hair was however an absolute disaster. Chef Fratini made up for it by his enthusiasm and friendliness, and we were soon persuaded to let him do a improvised "degustation" plate, tapas-style, for our mains. We had a selection which included taglatelle with scampi, and meat filled canelloni, together with a larger serving of pasta with meat sauce. The servings were attractively presented, but my wife and I both found the food lacking the punch and distinctiveness that should have made the dish special.

We then tried the same tapas approach for our dessert, and Chef Fratini presented us with a tiramisu in a pulled sugar basket, and a ice creamed filled cake. again, while the ideas were interesting, there wasn't much excitement in the taste. The tiramisu tasted particularly flavourless, and the ice cream cake looked and felt "stodgy".

We'd like to put our experience down to the restaurant perhaps not yet getting into its stride, but if our experience is representative of what the future holds, we would probably not be going back again.

Our dining experience of mains and dessert for two, came to $92. A bit pricey for the Italian tapas experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT ITALIAN FOOD WITH AN ASIAN EYE FOR DETAILS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me & my friends were so curious about this new Italian restaurant at Greenwood Avenue & have to admit it was a great dinner.
Chef Gabriele is a come-back in Singapore, having been one of the first Italian Chefs in town in the 80's, he's friendly & has a lot of stories to tell.

We shared grilled calamari with brocoletti, (so fresh ingredients), sliced "tagliata" wagyu beef with salad (top quality), roast eggplant with raw scallops (you can really taste the fresh fish), tagliatelle zucchini & pranws (creamy & tasty), it was an awesome food experience because Gabriele use all fresh ingredients & mostly he's very focused on the dish visual details, having worked in Asia for long time.

From the interesting wine-cellar we had a good Prossecco & a vintage Amarone, both good value for money.

I have to admit that we were surprised to don't find pizza in the menu but sometimes is also interesting to explore different Italian dishes.

We believe that Fratini is a different proposal on what sometimes is a standardized Italian cuisine, & on top of that when I go Italian, I always ask if there's an Italian chef & manager that can make & introduce the dishes properly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratini La Trattoria also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Fratini La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing