We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cosy and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Ranked #11 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Cosy and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My sister and I went to Singapore for a conference and decided to stay here. It's a very nice and cosy place to stay for a few days. It's also very quiet. The staff were all friendly and accommodating.

It was the first time I stayed in a capsule hotel, and for what its worth, I enjoyed my time.

The Pod is very much an excellent value for money. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Monique A,

Thank you for your kind words, we are indeed pleased that the amenities at The POD is to your liking. At The POD, we aim to provide quality services and facilities at affordable prices.

Once again, we are thankful for your pleasant review and will be anticipating your next stay with us!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    333
    75
    18
    2
See reviews for
30
91
427
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed 9 days in The Pod. What was showed what you get. Clean and nice modern stylish capsule style hostel. Especially the staff was great. Thanks for the manager Risman and the friendly staff Sue, Nazurah and Waynn. Compared to several other Singapore expensive hotels and cheap low quality hostels or budget hotels, The Pod is the best value for money. You get all the basic facilities for no extra cost. I have no doubt to stay here in my next Singapore visit too.

Cheers
Senthu Sritharan

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senthu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Senthu9,

We are extremely thankful for your kind words and it is good to know that your long stay with us has been a pleasant one. We will continue to put in effort to ensure that our high standards are maintained and even more so, improved.

Once again, thank you so much for your very positive review and we hope to see you soon in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The place is really cool, the staff is helpful, the place is very clean and the facilities are very very nice, and the bed was super comfy. Even though the place was up to our expectations for the price paid, we had a bad night because, as any other hostel (even very fancy ones like this one) the quality of your stay depends on the politeness of your neighbours, and one of ours was terrible, speaking very loud at 4 am, another was snoring and yet another was coughing, this of course is not under the control of the hotel, but yet, still important to consider that despite being fancy it’s still a hostel.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maricugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear maricugh,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are beyond thankful for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay with us was not exactly a perfect one due to the disturbance caused by other guests. We understand your plight and will make conscious effort to ensure that the other guests keep their volumes to the minimum level.

If you plan to visit us in the future, you can approach any friendly service ambassadors about the noise level and we would be more than happy to help you resolve them by asking the other guests to keep their volumes down. On a side note, we do provide ear plugs.

The next time you visit, we hope it would be a more pleasant and comfortable stay, nevertheless, thank you so much for your feedback!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having only 2 nights in Singapore with so many things to see and do, this "capsule" hotel seemed like a good solution, not wanting to spend money on hotels not planning to enjoy anyway. We only needed somewhere to sleep and keep our baggage. But we got so much more...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Ecat51,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, indeed The POD offers alternative accommodation style with quality service at affordable prices.

We are more than happy that we surpassed your expectations and we will continue to strive harder to maintain our standards!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a nice place to stay over when you have few hours time for sleep only and shower. Very clean and tidy. Friendly staff... The price paid is worth it... Will come back again to this hotel next time. In fact that i recommended this POD hotel to my staff to stay there during his trip this friday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Widjaja,

We are so glad to receive such great review from you and will continue striving to maintain such high standards of service and facilities.

Thank you so much for the kind feedback and for the recommendation to your fellow colleagues!

We await your return if your travel plans do bring you to Singapore in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We encounter problem during check in, but the hotel staff acted promptly to resolve it professionally. Actually this is the first time we are staying in the capsule hotel and don't know what to expect from. But we enjoyed the stay there with clean room, a/c 24/7, towel were change daily, compliment breakfast we are happy with the breakfast (don't expect 5 star breakfast) and mineral water and with a friendly staff ever-ready to helps. Walking distance to eating places, 5-10min walk to Bugis MRT station, within 800meter radius you are able to catch difference buses route to difference location. We would definitely going back to stay if we going to Singapore again.

Maybe next time they can consider capture the family travelers by modify the capsule for family. I'm sure there will be others would like to try out the capsule experience. Definitely will recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for lower capsule if you have restricted movement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Jamien O,

We are extremely pleased to hear that your first experience at a capsule hotel was a satisfactory and comfortable one. We really appreciate your effort to take the time to write us such a positive review. We are glad that our amenities and service was to your liking and will continue putting in effort to ensure that such standards are maintained.

As for including a family capsule, our team members are working on that and we hope that we would be able to accommodate families at The POD in the future.

Once again, thank you so much for such a pleasant review and for recommending us to your friends and families! We await your arrival in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

One night stay while awaiting international transfer.

Clean, great breakfast - in both variety and quantity of food, friendly staff, great location for doing a bit of last minute shopping. Would definitely recommend this place, no negatives really.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Daniel M,

We are more than happy that we surpassed your expectations and we will continue to strive harder to maintain our standards!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!


Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#1 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#5 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#6 of 217 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#7 of 217 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#5 of 217 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel

Property: The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Address: 289 Beach Road Level 3, Singapore 199552, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The POD is Singapore's latest boutique capsule hostel catering to discerning travellers who desire fuss-free and convenient living. With 83 cosy capsules inspired by modern and minimalistic living, you can look forward to convenience at your fingertips without compromising on comfort, quality or style. At The POD, personalised concierge services are on hand to satisfy your every need so that you can focus on the things that truly matter. Enjoy complimentary laundry service, hot buffet breakfast and Nespresso coffee, high-speed Wi-Fi access and more. A complete set of amenities ensures effortless living right at the centre of Singapore. Located at the fringe of the Singapore Central Business District, The POD offers quick accessibility to the heart of the financial centre or immersion in the warmth of bustling Haji Lane - rated as one of the top shopping places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing