We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manager Mei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #122 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Manager Mei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from 11/11/13 to 14/11/13 and want to say thank you to manager Mei for her excellent service and the accomodations she provided. The room we had was quiet and without the construction noise some other reviewer complained about. .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Traveller,

My sincere apologies for being unable to reply in French.

Thank you for your writing this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 5 weeks stay with us and you have enjoyed the warm hospitality of our team. It is gratifying to know that our pleasant and homely ambience of our apartments has also successfully contributed to the comfort of your stay experience.

I note that you have found our utensils insufficient for proper food preparation. In consideration that we have residents who have their families accompanying them during their stay and that they may require more storage space for their food items, we have equipped our kitchens with the more commonly used utensils. However, I would like to advise you that we have a range of additional utensils and crockery in our inventory which can be made available to our residents upon request.

We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Cynthia
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    106
    26
    1
    3
See reviews for
103
30
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at Somerset Bencoolen in November for a month and I can just highly recommend to everyone. The front desk team is amazing. I had my birthday while I was staying there and on the day the receptionists started to sing the "Happy Birthday!" once I entered the property. It was such a nice surprise. The apartments are also very clean, the housekeeping team did a great job every time they cleaned my apartment. There is also a small gym to use and of course the swimming pool on the rooftop, where you have a nice view of the city and you can relax after a long day of work. The apartments have a kitchen as well so you can prepare your own food if you wish to do so. However the property is centrally located, so shopping malls, restaurants and supermarkets are available in walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gabor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here in early December in a 1 bedroom apartment. Having an apartment gives you just that bit extra space. We really liked it and would stay there again. Everything was clean, bed and pillows we're comfy. The power points in the kitchen didn't work on the first day which meant we couldn't make a cuppa, but after we reported it, it was fixed by the time were turned later in the day. The staff were very professional and extremely helpful. The hotel is close to cafés, small supermarket, subway station etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Somerset Bencoolen for four nights. Overall I was pleased. The location was extremely good and the underground railway works in Bencoolen Street, while keeping the apartment tower a bit hidden, did not impact on us. Reception and room staff were without exception friendly, helpful and efficient. I appreciated the light breakfast included in our apartment tariff and the efforts made to change what was on offer from day to day. Internet service was great. The rooftop pool area was delightful and stylish. The apartment itself, 1210, was scrupulously clean and excellently maintained. While comfortable, the decor of the kitchen and lounge was, I thought, a little tired and basic given the tariff that we paid. The range of kitchen equipment provided also appeared hit and miss, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a well located serviced apartment with excellent and friendly service. We stayed with two small children - services for them include a child friendly pool, outdoors play area and toy room. There is a brand new Cold Storage supermarket in the PoMo mall behind the hotel, and it is an easy two minute walk from the MRT and buses. Within four blocks there is a wide range of well priced eateries and food courts, with lots of dining options, including Serangoon Road if you feel like Indian food! The breakfast every day was varied and perfectly adequate. The room servcicing was very good - the housekeepers were very creative in the way they displayed our kids toys for them every day!The MRT construction outside is noisy but if you have a room at the back, or higher up, you dont hear it at all. Taxis are directed into the onsite carpark, and it is no trouble. Very close to cultural attractions including the National Museum and the Singapore Art Museum, and a short walk to Raffles Hotel and Orchard Road if you feel like braving the heat... The front desk staff were always helpful, including arranging a tour to Malaysia legoland, and airport transfers. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: at the back, higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PsmithOfThePsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashidahmad, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear PsmithOfThePsmiths,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review about Somerset Bencoolen.
We are absolutely thrilled to know that you and your family had enjoyed our apartment facilities and services. Indeed, due to our excellent location with easy access to surrounding lifestyle options and transport modes, Somerset Bencoolen has always been very popular with families.

We are very grateful that we have had this opportunity to host you and your family during your vacation in Singapore. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Somerset Bencoolen.

Warmest regards,
Abdul Rashid
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 months, service is good haven't had a single issue, staff are very pleasing and polite. Most importantly it is located in close proximity to your daily needs like Mrt station, bus stop , 711 store hotels, bugis street, orchard street are all walkable distance. It was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashidahmad, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ashenoy,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience about Somerset Bencoolen.
We are heartened to know that you had a peaceful stay with us despite the challenges of MRT station construction works. Indeed, due to our excellent location with easy access to surrounding lifestyle and transport modes. Somerset Bencoolen has always been popular for business travel, holiday, extended stay or relocation.

We are very grateful that we have had the opportunity to host you during your 2 month stay in Singapore. Looking forward to welcome you again at Somerset Bencoolen.

Warmest regards,
Abdul Rashid
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with family. Had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 12th floor.
There is an MRT station being built out the front so be prepared for noise but don't let it deter you. We didn't hear a thing from our room so it didn't bother us at all.
Basic Breakfast was included which was fine.
The customer service was excellent.
It was close to the MRT station so we had no difficulty getting around.
Overall I was happy with our hotel choice and would stay there again .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austraveldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashidahmad, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Austraveldr,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience about Somerset Bencoolen.
We are very glad that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us despite the challenges of MRT station works. Indeed, due to our excellent location with easy access to surrounding lifestyle options and transport modes, Somerset Bencoolen has always been very popular with families.

We are very grateful that we have had the opportunity to host you and your family during your stay in Singapore. Looking forward to welcome you and your family again at Somerset Bencoolen soon.

Warmest regards,
Abdul Rashid
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Strand Hotel
#152 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#170 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Hotel Kai
#120 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Property: Somerset Bencoolen
Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing