We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience, but the food was just so-so”
Review of NOX - Dine in the Dark - CLOSED

NOX - Dine in the Dark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Arab Street
Description: At NOX – Dine In The Dark, we invite you to plunge into an intriguing new world of mystery and sensation you have never experienced before, and join us on a culinary journey through taste, smell, touch and sound, in total darkness. Seated in our pitch-black dining room, you will be guided and served by blind or visually impaired individuals that have been specially trained to offer guidance and reassurance to sighted guests. It is truly a rich human experience when the roles are reversed and the blind become your eyes, opening your mind to a deeper consciousness. Also, discover our exquisite menu crafted from the finest ingredients by our Chef de Cuisine and his team, and enjoy our fine wine selection and unique signature cocktails customized for each individual's palate. NOX - Dine in the Dark is definitely more than just dining, it is a unique mind-altering sensory experience! Experience this new European dining trend first-hand and 'see' it for yourself!
Reviewed July 26, 2016

It's a novel concept, eating in complete darkness, guided by blind waiters. My girlfriend and I went looking for an interesting experience and we did get it. Enjoyed the guessing game of what food we were eating, identifying the dish as well as the individual components that make it up. However, the food itself was just so-so, and didn't really find anything to rave about. Worth trying once, but struggling to think of what to come back for.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2016

Dear Stephtan,

Thank you for dining with us with your girlfriend. We are glad you found the experience a fun and interesting one. However, it is unfortunate that you did not find the food up to your standard, as majority of our guests love the food, and would come back for it.

With a concept like ours, there are many things to come back for - the constant change of menu (all 12 dishes) every 6-8 weeks, the awesome cocktails, the friendly staff, the visually impaired hosts who takes care of your needs in the dark and the stories they have to tell about how they deal with their lack of sight, and how they perceive the world (if you are interested), as well as the fun and mystery of trying and guessing what you are eating on a 12 dish menu (foodies love having competitions among themselves). Some people come back because we are able to 'magically' cater to their absurd dietary requirements and would find it a hassle to find another restaurant that would cater to them. Not to mention the people who feel so touched and inspired by the memorable experience that they would recommend it to friends and family.

There are a lot of reasons why people come back and each one is personal. We hope to see you back some time in the future and hopefully, you will take away more that what you did the first time.

Have a fantastic week!

Cheers,
Rachel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,417 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2016

The greeting on ground level was warm and instructional. This is a very different experience! We were asked our dining preferences and any dietary requirements, then after shedding all vestiges of electronic and light emitting devices we were escorted upstairs in complete inky darkness by a sight impaired waiter, seated and the table layout, courses etc. explained.

You cannot describe the feelings of distress (not being able to see anything and rely on your other senses) the anticipation of what you were going to get in each course (you are given 4? square dishes in each course with instructions on eating clockwise.) the idea is you are meant to guess what is in each, this will be revealed after your meal over a debrief downstairs.

I was surprised at how quickly you would rely on where things were and could quite easily find my wine/water/utensils within minutes almost every time!

I admire the wait staff who could navigate the restaurant without collision. Very impressed!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Non-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Non-Cat,

It is great to know that you enjoyed your dine-in-the-dark experience with us and that you found it to be a different and sensory one!

We hope we left a good impression and look forward to meeting you again soon, especially after we change our menu in August. Hopefully next time you can take the time to have a chat with one of our visually impaired hosts, and get a better idea on how they perceive the world.

Till then, have a lovely week ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Went with colleagues for dinner.
Was impressed by the blind waiter serving us in the pitch black dark room.
A good experience to have a feel of the visually impaired world.
Use our heart to see not our eyes.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank cynfulaquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Chung C,

It was great having you and your colleagues over for dinner with us.

We are glad it left you with food for thought and made an impression. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to meeting you again soon.

Have a great day ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

It was a unique experience! We were brought up to a room that is in complete darkness and were told to consume our food in a particular order. Not being distracted (by light, sight) actually makes you focus a lot more on your food (as you will be curious what you're eating) hence you get to appreciate the food better. Con is that it's expensive! I guess it's one of those things you do it once to get that experience :)

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Paulin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Paulin T,

Thank you for choosing NOX as your dining venue.

We are glad you enjoyed the dining experience and managed to focus more on the taste and textures or the food rather than just the plating. We hope you left with food for thought and felt inspired by the experience.

We hope to meet you again soon and look forward to another fantastic dinner with you.

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Went to Nox for our Anniversary Dinner with high expectations given its price. The experience exceeded it! This place had amazing service staff who guided us through the process well. Over the course of dinner, we were well taken care of in a terribly dark room by the visually impaired wait staff. It was a great experience and I found myself empathizing more with them. Menu was surprisingly good as well. The dark room heightens your senses. Throughout the whole duration, my partner and I were constantly surprised with the different tastes and associations we had to the ingredients. Cocktails were fantastic too! Not a placed to be missed, we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank nicolles225
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear nicolles225,

Thank you for choosing NOX as your Anniversary dinner venue. It was our pleasure having you and we are glad we managed to exceed your high expectations!

We are stoked that you love our food, cocktails, as well as our service. We look forward to your next visit and for you to try another menu of ours!

Have a lovely week ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOX - Dine in the Dark also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.