We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining experience in my life”

NOX - Dine in the Dark
Ranked #26 of 11,762 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampong Glam
Description: At NOX – Dine In The Dark, we invite you to plunge into an intriguing new world of mystery and sensation you have never experienced before, and join us on a culinary journey through taste, smell, touch and sound, in total darkness. Seated in our pitch-black dining room, you will be guided and served by blind or visually impaired individuals that have been specially trained to offer guidance and reassurance to sighted guests. It is truly a rich human experience when the roles are reversed and the blind become your eyes, opening your mind to a deeper consciousness. Also, discover our exquisite menu crafted from the finest ingredients by our Chef de Cuisine and his team, and enjoy our fine wine selection and unique signature cocktails customized for each individual's palate. NOX - Dine in the Dark is definitely more than just dining, it is a unique mind-altering sensory experience! Experience this new European dining trend first-hand and 'see' it for yourself!
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Recently i went with a friend to try Nox and it was simply the best best best experience i'd ever had in my life. Being led up by a visually impaired guide named harliq, who was really hospitable, dining in the dark where you have to rely on all your other senses to figure out what you're eating - truly mind boggling. I spent about 2hours in Nox eating the huge aray of dishes which they prepared for us and i must say that i'm really glad they didn't compromise on the food quality AT ALL.

All the dishes were cooked perfectly, well seasoned and absolutely delicious! The portions were a tad too big for me though so by the time it came to desert, i was quite full. Nonetheless, the whole experience was astounding!

They change their menu every 6weeks so i'm definitely going back to try this soon. Its an experience worth every cent - premium food and lovely experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abigail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Abigail L,

It is great to hear that you had your best dining experience with us! It was our pleasure to have served you and a joy to have you dine with us.

Thank you for complimenting our food and we are glad to know that you enjoyed every dish, and above all, the whole experience. We will be changing our menu tomorrow, 9th June, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 631 of 830 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ate here with friends. It certainly is a unique experience and we're glad we did it. It was fun discussing the dishes and trying to figure out what we thought we were eating, and we had plenty of laughs. Halimi did a great job taking care guiding us in and out of the dining area, and throughout our meal. It was interesting to hear his story.
There was either a lack of staff or lack of attention in the downstairs bar. Annoying wait to get drinks menu on arrival, having to chase waitress to place drinks order, then as our cocktails arrived told we had 7 minutes before we'd be taken upstairs. Juggling ice cold slippery glasses whilst in a human chain in pitch darkness added to the challenge.
The price for the set meal is fair enough given the unique experience. As I've said, it was fun trying to guess the flavours and textures, but in all honesty there was nothing we ate that wowed us. The drinks are pricey - two types of cocktails we ordered were too heavy on the ice. I had the birds eye chili cocktail which initially tasted great but got diluted by all the ice. Wine is also expensive.
The waitress apologised at the end of our meal for any delays so the staff were aware of struggling to cope with the numbers of guests.
Second time in a year I've eaten in a pricey restaurant only to discover it has unisex toilets. Until all men learn where they're supposed to be peeing, unisex should be banned.
Overall, a fun unique experience but be prepared to take a hit if you enjoy some alcohol during your evening out. And maybe consider going during the week for a chance of better service for your $$
I've rated it very good based on the unusual experience.

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Travellinglight17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear MumintheSun21,

We are very glad that you enjoyed this fun and unique dining experience with us!

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding our food, drinks and service. We appreciate your detailed review and welcome you to try our new menu that will be launched on the 9th of June.

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The service throughout the night was nothing short of prompt, polite, and extremely friendly, with warm, welcoming hosts and servers once inside the actual dining area.
The tasters we had before we were guided into the dark section were exquisite, followed by a series of varied and well-prepared tasty starters, mains and desserts.
Inside the dining area it is completely pitch black and impossible to see anything. This makes for a fun and interesting dining experience, enhancing your focus on the meal itself, and ultimately enriching your tasting of said meal. Each part of the meal (entree, main course, dessert) came with 4 different small dishes for a wide array of flavours. My personal favourite dishes of the night were fried oysters with peanut butter and thai chilli sauce, penne with pesto and escargot, and red wine poached strawberries with vanilla ice cream.
All in all this was a fun and fascinating night that I would fully recommend to anyone looking for a unique experience and amazing food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alfie_Harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Alfie_Harrison,

It was our pleasure to have served you during your visit and it is great to know that you had an incredible experience with us!

We are really glad that you enjoyed our food as well as the service provided from beginning to end! It is also very encouraging to see guests fully embrace our dining concept and have fun trying to guess what each dish actually is.

We will be changing our menu on the 9th of June and we welcome you to come back and try our new menu for the month of June! Be prepared for more interesting ingredients and pairings coming your way!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Nox was a fun night out. The staff downstairs were good but the real stand outs are the visually impaired waiters upstairs. They way they operate with their disabilities is truly inspiring.

As far as the dining experience. Eating in the pitch black will be a confronting idea to some but it's well worth it. It's really quite a fun challenge using your taste smell and touch to figure out what your eating. The food itself doesn't blow your mind but it is tasty.

The price tag is a little high probably but it's an experience different to other nights out and one you will probably only do once.

Definately worth a try.

Thank Aussie_Nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Aussie_Nate,

Thank you for spending your evening with us at NOX - Dine in the Dark! Our visually impaired colleagues are definitely amazing individuals with what they are capable of! We are really glad that you had a fascinating experience with us and embraced using your other senses to guess what the dishes are.

We will be changing our menu for the month of June soon and welcome you to give our new menu a try!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a truely unique experience. I had heard abouth these sort of restaurants in other cities but had not imagined the experience.

The evening started with excellent service, an opening drink and a small snack. We were then briefed and moved into the main room. It was quite a different experience - while feeling safe at all times - it was very dark and quite different to other things I have done.

We were then served a three course meal - where the food standard was as good as any restaurant in Singapore - the waiters were very attentive and helpful in making sure that you could find everything and that you didn't spill things. My wife ordered a drink of water which was an interesting experience in itself.

Once dinner was over we were then escorted out of the room and then debriefed.

It was a really interesting night.

We went with a 3 and 6 year old child - and they did really well - but I can see some kids who can't sit still having issues.

Anyway - something quite memorable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ilan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Ilan L,

It was great to have met you and your family during your visit to NOX - Dine in the Dark! It is always a pleasure to have guests like yourself who embraced our dining concept and enjoyed the whole experience.

We are glad that you and your family had a unique and memorable time with us, and hopefully left the restaurant feeling a little humbled and inspired as well.

From all of us at NOX, we thank you for having such well behaved girls and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOX - Dine in the Dark also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to NOX - Dine in the Dark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing