We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most terible hotel i ever stayed in highly not recommended”
Review of V Hotel Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
V Hotel Bencoolen
Ranked #156 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the most terible experience ive ever had in my life of a hotel please avoid thia hotel especially when yr travellin in a group.please avoid the hotel as far as possible worst service staff highly non cooperative

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan5059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

We got a room with twin beds for two persons at S$ 140 per day. Room was quite small with minium equipment (i.e. tiny table, LCD TV, hair dryer, telephone, water boiler, 2 free water bottles/instant coffee/tea per day, towels, indoor slippers, shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush & toothpaste; beware that toothbrush & toothpaste are very low quality; others are just average). No meal provided.

At S$ 140 for two persons, this must be considered good value; could be better if the room isn't too tiny.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MHZaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at Ibis Bencoolen one night before we flew to Taiwan and one night after our holiday in Taiwan. Hotel is excellent. Room size on the smaller size but its not a problem for us as we did not stay in the hotel most of the time. Cleanliness is excellent. I'm very particular about cleanliness of the bathroom and it was spotless though on the smaller side in size (but still not a problem as only need for shower). Location: BEST of the BEST!!

I highly recommend this hotel whoever wants to visit Singapore but ensure to get the great promotion price on Booking.com.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BruneiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel room was nice and Clean but very small for 3 people with large suitcases. Unfortunatley Construction of MRT outside our window which was noisy many hours during the day and night.
Internet was unstable, necessary to login again and again.
Aircondition too powerful in its lowest speed, could not keep it on during night.
Breakfast was not the best at the restaurant next to the hotel when it comes to selection and organization.

Room Tip: Studio for 3 suitable if weekend luggage only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just spent one night too many in the smallest and noisiest room in the world. A new underground station is being built with major construction. Spent night listening to reversing lorries and beeping.

Avoid V Hotel Bencoolen at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 42slarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked this hotel as a mid range hotel for our one night stay on our way home from five weeks in Europe. Our first mistake was expecting a decent size room for $180AUD. The room had very little space beside the bed and nowhere to put our suitcases. The bathroom was clean but there was no toilet brush, no soap only a container of body wash and the toilet roll was above my head over my left shoulder. I could not see it and thought there was no paper. There was also no bin in the bathroom, we had to relocate the bin from the room. These new rooms have an extremely bad design and one can't help but think it is all about getting as many in as possible to make more money. Walking along the corridor was like walking between gaol cells.

The staff were friendly enough bit there was no place to sit comfortably in the hotel, certainly not in our room. The 'lobby' had a couple of basic chairs and a low table in a very bright clinical space.

We were derected to the next door Cafe Parisienne for breakfast. Another joke, I fear. The cafe had two choices of breakfast cereal, makeup lolly water as an excuse for juice, terrible tea and coffee and several hot choices which all looked as if they had been there some time. There was a fellow frying eggs if required. These were delivered onto the plate with as much finesse as a labourer throwing rocks into a pile.

We were very disappointed to find our cab driver could not find the place because of the new metro line station build on Bencoolen Road. This is meant to finish in 2017.

I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

MRT construction will finish in 2017. Rooms were small but clean, free stuff for guests can definitely be improved, service was ok. Close to many eateries but not as close to Orchard shops as we thought.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.0 mi away
V Hotel Lavender
V Hotel Lavender
#147 of 319 in Singapore
3,774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
0.2 mi away
Summer View Hotel
Summer View Hotel
#112 of 319 in Singapore
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 319 in Singapore
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#150 of 319 in Singapore
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#151 of 319 in Singapore
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Bencoolen

Address: 48 Bencoolen Street V Hotel Bencoolen, Singapore 189627, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $90 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — V Hotel Bencoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Bencoolen is the latest addition to V Hotel brand, serving you with 272 rooms. Our hotel is conveniently located in town, along the Bencoolen Street, a stone throw away from many attractions, museums and shopping malls. Try our sumptuous breakfast (prepared by Chef Nordin) at only $12 nett. complimentary In-Room Internet Access (WiFi) for all our valued guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your V Hotel Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing