We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Singapore

“Great lunch place”
Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Reserve a Table
Ranked #402 of 15,399 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $7 - $71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Set in a 1930s landmark in the CBD, The Black Swan injects fresh glamour and life into an otherwise cold and mechanical district. The glorious Art Deco-style institution pays homage to New York’s canonised steakhouse trope, offering a grand expression of chophouse classics paired with an inspired winelist. An alluring amalgam of restaurant, bar and urban respite, The Black Swan’s extensive dining experience includes a lush alfresco garden patio, on top of an exceptional private dining experience in the bank’s former vault. The Black Swan’s intimate mezzanine lounge, The Powder Room, specialises in theatrical craft cocktails that hark to the free-spirited revelry of old-world drinking institutions. The restaurant was awarded Tatler’s Best New Restaurant of the Year in its first year of opening.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been going to Lo and Behold restaurants for many years and they always deliver good food at a decent price.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Kazuaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobeholdgroup, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kazuaki T,

Thank you very much for choosing The Black Swan. We are delighted to be able to part of your culinary experience and we endeavour to make your experience with us nothing short of wonderful! est assured, your feedback has been taken on board.

We hope that we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Yours Truly,
Veron Tang
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

5 of us had lunch there on Jan 17 2020. We had the 2 course set at S$39 each b4 taxes. 3 of us had the starters, which were good and tasty. I had the sunbream for main and the roasted pineapple for desserts. They were both excellent and delicious although I personally find the portions too small.

Service was good and the staff was attentive and offered their recommednations.

However it is not a good place to meet and catch up. As the place filled up with lunch crowd we had to talked above the noise. We had to adjourn elsewhere to continue our meet up over coffee.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Scenic32548937049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobeholdgroup, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Scenic32548937049,

Thank you very much for choosing The Black Swan. We are delighted to be able to part of your culinary experience and we endeavour to make your experience with us nothing short of wonderful! est assured, your feedback has been taken on board.

We hope that we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Yours Truly,
Veron Tang
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

My first time at this restaurant. I must say everything worked for me. The ambiance was great. Service was prompt, efficient and well-informed. The food was good. The high-stools without backs were a bit uncomfortable but overall I can object to little else.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 686amark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobeholdgroup, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Dear 686amark

Thank you very much for choosing The Black Swan. We are delighted to be able to part of your culinary experience and we endeavour to make your experience with us nothing short of wonderful! est assured, your feedback has been taken on board.

We hope that we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Yours Truly,
Veron Tang
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

From the moment we entered we have been well looked after. We celebrates my wife’s birthday. Quality of the steaks is amazing as well as the happy hour oysters. Nice romantic art deco ambiance.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AlexisvanDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobeholdgroup, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Dear AlexisvanDam,

Thank you very much for choosing The Black Swan. We are delighted to be able to part of your culinary experience and we endeavour to make your experience with us nothing short of wonderful!

We hope that we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Yours Truly,
Veron Tang
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

Great service with amazing food!
My order was perfectly cooked complimented with best choice of drink recommended by George.
Definitely made my last night in Singapore extra special!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank U8538GRfatmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobeholdgroup, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Dear U8538GRfatmaa,

We are glad that you enjoyed our signature dishes and we appreciate your recommendation to other Tripadvisor users. We are particularly proud that you found George especially awesome.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Your Truly,
Veron Tang
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing