We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average lunch amidst a beautiful art deco ambiance”
Review of The Black Swan - CLOSED

The Black Swan
Price range: $8 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Set in a 1930s landmark in the CBD, The Black Swan injects fresh glamour and life into an otherwise cold and mechanical district. The glorious Art Deco-style institution pays homage to New York’s canonised steakhouse trope, offering a grand expression of chophouse classics paired with an inspired winelist. An alluring amalgam of restaurant, bar and urban respite, The Black Swan’s extensive dining experience includes a lush alfresco garden patio, on top of an exceptional private dining experience in the bank’s former vault. The Black Swan’s intimate mezzanine lounge, The Powder Room, specialises in theatrical craft cocktails that hark to the free-spirited revelry of old-world drinking institutions. The restaurant was awarded Tatler’s Best New Restaurant of the Year in its first year of opening.
Reviewed June 25, 2016

First impression of The Black Swan when you enter is the wow factor. The interiors are reminiscent of 1930s art deco style decor, with lots of brass details and warm lighting. We came for the prix fixe lunch menu. My colleague had the gazpacho soup, and barramundi, which she said was excellent. I started with the radish and endive salad, which came out as a mixed green salad (no endives) with only 1 1/4 walnut bits in it followed by the Black Swan burger. The salad was still good even though it didn't have endives and just one walnut. The burger was nothing to rave about. Not sure I'll be back for lunch, but I'll definitely come back to try the happy hour oysters and cocktails. With an ambiance like this, I'm willing to give it another go.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dragnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Dear dragnette,

We're glad you love our space as much as we do. The historic Art Déco building really showers The Black Swan with some Great Gatsby glamour!

We appreciate your constructive feedback with regards to our starters and have shared your comments with the rest of the team.

We are delighted to have the pleasure of serving you, and hope to see you back at The Black Swan soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 307 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Nice Art Deco building so very nice. Good lunch time crowd. Set lunch but we ordered from the menu. Food was not bad. Definitely good place for happy hour drinks.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank youke_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear youke_worldwide,

We're glad you love our space as much as we do. The historic Art Déco building really showers The Black Swan with some Great Gatsby glamour!

We take great joy in being able to serve you, and are extremely delighted to know that we have made your dining experience a fantastic one!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

I have heard much of this place and decided for once to try out this place. It was a Friday night and they had an event upstairs, hence we were seated at the first floor. It was quite noisy with The Powder Room just across, packed with mostly business associates.

We ordered two cocktails which took more than twenty minutes to arrive, long after the appetisers were served! It was understandable that it was a busy night but the wait was too long! The Play with Fire cocktail, especially, was an interesting drink served on fire; warm and strong.

Even when the appetisers were served, the napkins weren't open for us. We had the escargots, charcuterie and two Joshu Wagyu as part of the friday specials. The escargots stuffed with the melt-in-the-mouth bone marrow was absolutely divine. The server however, missed one of our order for the Joshu waygu. Only one arrived and we had to wait for the other to be served before we could start our meal together. The wagyu could have been a bit more tender too.

The third cocktail we ordered was the BB King. Very unique presentation with a sorbet on cone by the side. I loved the flavors altogether.

Overall, it would have been a better experience should the drinks and food be served promptly and should we be seated in a quieter environment. Service were friendly but could have been more attentive. The bill came up to SGD300 plus for two, unless there are improvements made on days that are such busy, there are other establishments more valuable and comfortable than this.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gwennie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear GwendolynLim,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are grateful for your kind praises about our bespoke cocktails such as Playing with Fire and BB King as well as our food dishes such as the escargots and our daily specials, Joshu Wagyu.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and have shared your comments with the rest of the team.

We are delighted to have the pleasure of serving you, and hope to see you back at The Black Swan soon!

Best regards,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

A pretty nice dinner on Monday Evening.

The crews were attentive, dinner was great.

We went there for a friend's birthday and the crew offered the complimentary cake of the day. Good Gesture.

Good to catch their happy hours if you like French oysters at $2++

We had a great dinner.

Thank you Team at TBS.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 79JeanB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Dear Jean B,

Thank you very much for choosing The Black Swan.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time dining with us at The Black Swan.

We endeavour to make your experience with us nothing short of wonderful and we hope that we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Best regards,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016

Was here last monday for a couple of drinks and bar snacks after a long day at work. Decent ambience, coupled with good music. Food/drinks are on the pricier side compared to other restaurants. Enjoyable evening due to the service provided by the waiter on duty. Waiter displayed commendable service by being courteous and prompt. His name was "ming" if i recall correctly( No name tags).

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 163kennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Dear Kenny S,

Thank you for your kind words about The Black Swan!

We are particularly proud that you found Ming, especially awesome who is known for his hospitable & courteous service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.