We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cathedral”

St Andrew's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.61*
and up
Singapore's Colonial District Walking Tour
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Singapore Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #81 of 822 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: St Andrew’s Cathedral is one of Singapore’s most treasured works of architecture. Gazetted as a national monument on 1973, you’ll stand in awe at its majestic facade, with extended pinnacles and a glossy white exterior. Take a coffee break and enjoy our free wifi at The Cathedral Cafe which is conveniently located beside the City Hall MRT entrance (North Bridge Road).
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Lovely cathedral”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The site was chosen for a church by Sir Stamford Raffles in 1823 and the first service was conducted in 1837. After being struck twice by lightening it was declared unsafe and closed in 1852. The present building was consecrated in 1862 and became a cathedral in 1870. Lovely imposing cathedral shining white in the sun, quiet inside and not many tourists there when we visited. They had what looked a cafe on the grounds but we did not stop we were on our way to Raffles Hotel for high tea and easily walked from cathedral to the hotel. If you are in Singapore I would recommend a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    142
    55
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Captured beauty”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Being in the centre of town and still looking in place is a sentiment to the city and designers of the church all those years ago. A tranquil place to visit and reflect on your stay in Singapore.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 720RichardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A personal connection”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My sister and brother were married in that church. My late fathered is honoured with a family pew with his name on it. Family funerals took place there too.
I love St Andrew's church. I always visit to pay my respects to my late father when I visit Singapore. We will be there again in June.
Thank you Trip Advisor for such a comprehensive collection of all Singapore attractions, and others around the world. Without your website many will miss out on what is happening around the world. Trip Advisor is on everyone's list to visit for the most authentic opinions.
Congratulations!
A trusted global entity.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dakota31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Right in the middle of the city, St Andrew's offers a place of peace. While still maintaining its old charm and beauty, it's been updated with TVs for worshipers. An example of Singapore at its finest.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“White Neo-Gothic Cathedral”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's conveniently located beside our hotel, the Swissotel Stamford & its white spires are quite imposing. Actually it's an Anglican Church which just celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2006. It is also near the City Hall MRT Interchange..Unfortunately, I was not able to go inside.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Andrew's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St Andrew's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing