We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and modern hotel located conveniently near Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Ranked #35 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New and modern hotel located conveniently near Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times for business. Being close to the office helps, but I like the fact it is so close to the Chinatown district with its markets and restaurants.
Nice pool and gym area.
I stayed on a club floor which gave access to the executive club which included a reasonable buffet breakfast as well as drinks and food in the evening.
The rooms are nice and large with good amenities and bathroom with seperate bath tub and shower.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Anthony B,

Thank you for the review and for highlighting our locale. We do hope that you will continue staying with us whenever you are in Singapore for work. Safe travels!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    492
    117
    24
    16
See reviews for
217
402
60
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
north america
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

What is says on the tin. Nice place. Good meals. We used as a central spot to visit varies places. Good central hotel.Staff are polite. Rooms are clean and affordable. Nothing bad to say. A must see destination.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank janetruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear janetruss,

We are happy to hear that our location is a "central spot" and you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for the 5-stars review!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for a work trip, and will come back from now on. The hotel was great and the staff were super attentive. Great location with so many places to eat within a 2 block walking distance and in Ranking Pagar district so right in the financial district. Hard to beat!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzSupermodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear OzSupermodels,

Thank you for rating us 5-stars and that we are "hard to beat"! We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited Singapore for work and stayed at the new Carlton City hotel. The hotel was a stone throw away from my office and was picked for proximity more than any other reason. However my stay here turned out to be fantastic. The rooms were comfy and had a great view. The service was quite good and it was even close to the MRT station! Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Good views from higher floors :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear G_the_Globetrotter84,

A big "Thank You" for highly recommending the hotel. We are a mere 2-minutes walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT Station (East West line). See you again soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After staying at the Carlton city Hotel in Tanjong Pagar for a weekend in late May, I was back from mid June to mid July staying there for a month on business. Within minutes of Tanjong Pagar MRT, a 5-10 minute walk to China Town, the location is fantastic.

I stayed in an Executive suite on L17, the room was adequate for my needs and the housekeeping staff on my floor were very courteous and respectful.
Across the road is the Tanjong Pagar hawker market if you fancy quick food on the go rather than being seated in a restaurant.

After a month of staying at the same place I would usually find a few things here or there however I could not fault it. Overall my stay was excellent, I would be happy to return on my next business trip.

Thanks to the staff for making my month long stay comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to stay somewhere convenient, this is the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MikeCami,

Our staff will always be more than happy to ensure the comfort of our guests; thank you for the rating! It is always heartening to hear our guests returning to stay with us again, be it for leisure or business. We look forward to welcoming you back to "Experience Carlton City at Tanjong Pagar" again soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place in beautiful city. This place makes you feel like your on holiday!! Highly recommend this motel. It feels very clean and The lobby is stunning. And the rooms are very nice. Bathrooms very pretty. Gym, pool, nice breakfast too!! Try the bircher muesli YUM

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamieka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Tamieka l,

Thank you for the 5 stars rating and the special mention on the Bircher Muesli. We hope to see you again soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is fairly stock standard 4 star place. Nothing special by Asian standards but clean, comfy and good service. Only issue is there was no bathtub in the room which was disappointing. Location was fine and it was really easy to get a taxi.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rob G,

Thank you for the review. With regards to the absence of a bathtub within the room, I would like to assure you that over 90% of the hotel's guest rooms are fitted with a bathtub and a separate standing shower with rain shower facilities. Should you stay with us again for business, you could highlight this preference at the point of reservation and we will surely note the request. Thank you again for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Here's wishing you safe travels!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
3.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amara Singapore Hotel
Amara Singapore Hotel
#78 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Singapore
The Westin Singapore
#33 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#43 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore 078862, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing