We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel; value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Ranked #38 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel; value for money”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a very new hotel, and location is close to the metro. Prices are reasonable, and the service of staff is great.
Rooms are not that large, but more than sufficient for 2 persons. It has very good beds.

If you don't want the breakfast buffet, there is a small coffee shop in the lobby with great coffee and sandwiches.

Make sure your taxi driver knows where to go; we were dropped off at the Carlton.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear MAO1163,

Thank you for the review and may we add that the patisserie located at the lobby level is Tuxedo. We are glad to hear that our posturepedic mattresses were "very good beds" and our service delivery was to your satisfaction. See you again when you next stay with us!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    570
    136
    31
    21
See reviews for
265
501
78
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while having a 3 day break in Singapore. Hotel is new so very clean and rooms are well appointed. Had the fastest working WIFI I have ever used while staying OS and it's free. Friendly staff, very obliging when assisting with queries. Close to MRT station and China Town. Great row of restaurants just a 5 min walk down the street.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Trish G,

Thank you for the review. For the convenience of our guests, WiFi is complimentary throughout the hotel. We are glad to hear that our service levels were to your satisfaction. See you again soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We always looking for different hotels for holiday... n last trip was singapore (again) searching....searching .... n searching..... yuhuuuu...... found CARLTON CITY. After long queues on airport, finally getting hotel. Thanks for all hotel staff to help us.... very useful.... give us clean,cozy,quite,good breakfast .Nearly to shopping centre is one of best part cause sometimes we need extra waters. Uuupppssss forget.... I love the shower. Thanks n u have to try this place sometimes.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marli y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear marli y,

We are certainly glad that you've chosen to stay with us. Thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back when you next visit Singapore!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked this hotel when they first opened, thank goodnees we found it! Rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. Location is great! market is right across the street, starbucks just down the road and Maxwell Food Center is always were we go for lunch and dinners. Will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Chelsea C,

Thank you for the review and we are definitely looking forward to your next stay with us!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We found this hotel to be beautiful and of very high standard - the staff were lovely and the food of good quality.

The only extremely disappointing thing about this hotel was we booked a room and breakfast for 2 adults and one child. When we arrived there was only one double bed, when we requested a bed for our 4 year old we were told the double bed was made to sleep three people and if we wanted an addition bed it would be an extra $75 for our stay. We were also charge an additional $40 per day ( our stay was for 3 nights) to enable our 4 year old to have breakfast.

We were understandable incredibly disappointed in having to pay an additional $200 simply for a bed and breakfast for our child when we had already made the reservation and paid through booking.com.

The hotel were not interested in discussing this with us, and even though we had a copy of our reservation with us, they insisted that this was what we had to pay.

If you are travelling with youngsters and require an extra bed my advice would be to contact the hotel, before arriving, to make sure they do not hit you with extra charges once you are there and can do nothing about it.

Very disappointing, especially for a hotel that, on the surface, can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CSC78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCitySG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear CSC78London,

Thank you for the feedback and review. We left you a message and hope that you will contact us for further communication.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wonderful friendly staff, perfect location. You can walk to Chinatown or around the corner to the subway and access all of Singapore. Across street is a grocery store and a currency exchange that will give you a better deal than hotel.

Get subway tourist pass and ride unlimited!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romaninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Romaninaz,

Thank you for the review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again, when your travels next bring you to Singapore!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here and we think that the standard is almost like 5 star, seeing at the marble and bathtub in the room, etc..
However, the linen was disturbing us, and we think the quality isn't good, because of the roughness and itchy feeling..
The bathtub was also small and feels cheap..
For a 4 star hotel, it's just as expected..

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Titov888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Titov888,

Thank you for the review. Please accept our apologies that the quality of the bed linen was unacceptable to you. We would have been more than happy to accommodate another change for you via Housekeeping, whom can be contacted via “Carlton Touch” on the in-room telephone. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Singapore.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 312 in Singapore
3,832 reviews
Amara Singapore
#79 of 312 in Singapore
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#29 of 312 in Singapore
1,584 reviews
The Westin Singapore
#39 of 312 in Singapore
1,300 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 312 in Singapore
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore 078862, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing