We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Ranked #41 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“birthday stay.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

i took away my mum to SG for her birthday and stayed in carlton city hotel for 3 nights/4 days stay.

the hotel is brand new and i felt that i had got a good deal by staying with them.
it is my very first experience to stay in a brand new hotel.checking in is very easy and no hassle at all.the receptionist who is very lovely and attentive (from the philippines) gave us a wonderful room and help+answered all are queries.in les than 10 mins we are on our way to the room 2420.
they will give you an electronic keys for the room and for the lifs wich is an added security as nobody from outside can just go in and out of the premises.
the room it self is in decent size,two single bed with lovely matress plus the tv,fridge and all the other luxury.
bathroom is very nice too.they had a free standing shower and a seperate bath.
with a huge glass wall that divides the room and the bathroom this have a rolling blinds for your privacy.
the hotel is very clean and very close to the metro station of tanjong pagar.
taxis are cheap and easy to to get from the hotel lobby.
the staff are very helpul except from the breakfast room staff,who cannot understand my request to have a mini cake for my mum on her birthday.

all in all we had a pleasnt stay and my mother enjoyed her stay in SG.

the only problems that we encounter is a constant banging and fixing outside the building.which is fully understandable as some of the parts are still not fully done.
and to be fair with the management they provide a letter about the continues work that is undergone whilst we are in their hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the high floor for a better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear asyano,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review and we are happy to hear that you have experienced an All-New Carlton City, just 2 minutes away from Tanjong Pagar MRT Station. We will be sure to share your compliments to our staff who have made you stay comfortable and enjoyable, made even better with our posturepedic mattresses (in every room). When you do return to stay with us, do find time to indulge in all-day dining at Plate (level 3), serving local classics and favourites from the grill. See you soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    577
    138
    31
    22
See reviews for
271
504
78
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We chose the Carlton City Hotel for our six night stay in October before it even opened in August. Expected there might be some teething problems with the hotel being only open for a couple of months but we didn't encounter any at all. Best hotel experience we have had in our travels so far. The service from all the staff in the Carlton Club was simply outstanding - a credit to the hotel. The Hotel's location is only a short walk from Chinatown and a couple of minutes walk from the Tanjong Pagar MRT station. The MRT gives you a cheap option to access the entire island and its attractions. For $26.00/Adult a 3 day Tourist Pass gives you unlimited travel on the MRT rail & bus system and you get a $10 refund if you return the card. Supermarket, ATM's and fast food outlets are all nearby if you need these options. We will definitely be back on our next visit.

Room Tip: We chose the Carlton Club Room option. It costs a little extra but best decision we made for the hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denbar5256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Denbar5256,

Thank you for the 5-stars review and we already can't wait to have you back to stay with us! The hotel is a 2-minute walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT Station and many of our guests find that very convenient. At your next visit, why not have a drink at our rooftop Graffiti Sky Bar, or just chill at The Trading Floor (our lobby lounge cum business centre) and take advantage of the complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. See you again soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostroma, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, 2 minutes from Tanjong Pagar MRT. It's quite new and the rooms are well appointed and sleekly designed. Check-in took longer than expected (about 15 minutes) as the staff lacked adequate training to deal with my request for a room facing away from the adjacent construction. Check-out was extremely efficient. The gym is tiny for a hotel of this size (only 1 elliptical trainer, 1 stationary bicycle, and 2 treadmills + weights). Wi-fi speed and ubiquity was excellent. The hotel is also a good value for business travellers. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There's construction happening next door for a new Oasia Hotel, so ask for a room facing elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slane001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear slane001,

Our rooms are designed by a hospitality interior design company and we are pleased that you took notice of it! We will be sure to share your feedback to our Front Office team and hope that our gym facilities met your fitness needs. WiFi is also complimentary throughout the hotel. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My 4 year old son and I stayed here for 8 nights, Oct 8th-16th. Check in was super quick which was great as we were tired after our flight. The room was very clean and comfortable. It had good curtains, which is very important to me as I wake up easily with light/sound. Soundproof was also excellent and I couldn't hear anything from outside when in our room. Perhaps there could have had the option to turn the aircon a tad cooler than 21 degrees, but that said I am a little fussy with aircon being cold when in humid countries. However, I can appreciate it being an energy conscious hotel, and this wouldn't put me off staying again

I really liked the area - everything we needed was within walking distance. There was a fair price supermarket across the road, with multiple atms out the front. MRT, 7-11 and fast food restaurants e.g. mcdonalds and burger king within walking distance. Taxis were easy to get out the front of the hotel, I never had to wait more than a few minutes.

I had bought a toy for my son while out shopping and couldn't find a screwdriver to open it, to put in the batteries. I asked at the front desk and the maintenance guy was so helpful! Sorry, I can't remember his name but he went well out of his way to help us :-)

Thanks for a great stay! I want to stay in future, and went to book another stay just now, but the rates have increased about 25% since last booked. But for the quality of stay I think it is probably worth it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodbyekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear goodbyekitty,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we appreciate that you have taken the time to do so. As a Green Mark Platinum Award hotel (the highest rating for green buildings in Singapore), the air conditioner's temperature within guest rooms can be controlled from 21℃ up to 30℃ with three fan speed modes available (low, medium, high).

It is heartening to hear that you have booked your next stay with us! Do check out the various room packages we have available on our website (carltoncity.sg) and enjoy more savings when you book your third stay with us, in advance.

See you soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a great hotel conveniently located near Tanjong Pagar MRT station. The station is only about 2 mins walk away from the hotel. Hotel is still in a very new condition (apparently it opened in August 2013) and is nicely decorated in a modern style with warm colour tones. The room was spacious and had all the important amenities that you needed (free WiFi especially!). Service from the staff was very attentive and understanding. Always had a smile to their faces and willing to help when required. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Dickson N,

Thank you for the 5-stars review! At Carlton City Hotel Singapore, it's all about experiencing the New. The hotel received its first guest on 5 August this year and your compliments are very encouraging to our staffs - we will be sure to share this with them. Do recommend your friends to stay with us and WiFi is complimentary throughout the hotel.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Hotel is awesome! Its only a few months old. Everything is brand new, the design was very modern and sleek. It exceeded our expectation. We were upgraded to Executive Room. Very content though.. Stayed at the 23rd level. The view was magnificient. The hotel service agent were friendly and warm hearted. The staff actually took time to come down to our room and ask for review which is good. :) look forward for another staycation here.

Room Tip: stayed room 2308 and 2310 for the best tanjong pagar dock view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueminxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, General Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JeiJak,

Further to your recent stay at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. I’m most pleased to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations and you found our staff to be friendly and warm hearted. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Staycation City escape.

Kind regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 8 nights at the end of September. Got a great deal including breakfast which made the decision to stay for us as we were worried about the location initially. However, we found this to be perfect with some nice local bars and restaurants around. Rooms and service very nice and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hash Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, General Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Hash Brown,

Further to your recent stay at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. I’m most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would return to the hotel. Our location in Tanjong Pagar CBD is lesser known by traveler’s than Orchard Road and Marina Bay, but it’s a nice central location and a great base from which to easily get around and explore Singapore. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Singapore.

Kind regards,
Mark Bulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#60 of 314 in Singapore
3,885 reviews
Amara Singapore
#78 of 314 in Singapore
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#30 of 314 in Singapore
1,626 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#12 of 314 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#76 of 314 in Singapore
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore 078862, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing