We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Nearby Hotels
$314
$203
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$186
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$195
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$236
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$140
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$409
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$529
$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveler rating
778
640
148
33
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
640
148
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanjong pagarmrt stationmaxwell food centrerooftop barclub roomwalking distance to chinatownmodern hotelbusiness districtfree wifiminute walkwater pressureraffles placehawker centrebusiness tripmobile phoneexcellent hotelstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,176 - 1,181 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a new hotel from a trusted brand. It is very well located close to the MRT. Being in the heart of the business district, a lot of offices are a short walk away. Great for nightlife as well, at Club Street or the nearby China Town. The staff is very helpful. The gym is a bit cramped, but has all the equipment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureLoverNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear NatureLoverNewDelhi,

Thank you for the review and we are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Well the taxi driver first dropped me off at the Carlton Hotel which judging by the lobby must be excellent. But I wasn't too disappointed. The Carlton City is near Chinatown and quiite a big social scene around Club Street. It's new, it's next to the subway system and one stop from the quayside. The staff are excellent and I saw the maid clean the room... even the most fastidious person would have been happy. Interesting call on the bedsheet change as well. Most hotels (and let's face it we know they don't do it to be green) have a policy where you have to opt in for a change of sheets. At the Carlton City it's an opt out so they change unless you put the card on the bed.
Reasonable gym. Room service was efficient although the menu was limited. The internet was free for all guests! I thought all round this was a good hotel and chatting to someone who seemed to come over on business a lot was the best hotel in the area.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonwells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear jonwells1,

Thank you for the good review and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had unintentionally arranged our 3 day stop in Singapore - on our way back from Sydney - for the same weekend as the 2013 Singapore Grand Prix and so had been shocked at the prices of accommodation. My partner spotted that the Carlton City hotel was very reasonably priced on a booking website and so we decided to take a risk, securing our room prior to the building completion and opening. We felt that this was a risk worth taking, due to the fact that this hotel is the 4* sister hotel of the 5* Carlton Hotel, located directly opposite Raffles and so we presumed that they would not want to compromise the Carlton brand by building a sub-standard addition to their portfolio.

As we arrived in our taxi from the airport (costing around £15 and well worth it in the 30 degree heat) and the concierge whisked our bags away for us. Check in was a little long winded, as the hotel was very busy and they only had 2 of the 4 reception desks manned, which was a shame and visibly frustrated other guests, who appeared to be in a rush. However, once we had checked in and headed upstairs to our room, we could not have been happier. The room was extremely modern and had fixtures and fittings to rival many 5* hotels that we have visited. The bathroom had a glass wall, so that you could watch TV whilst taking a bath, with ceiling speakers for clarity of sound (do not fret, there was a blind that could be lowered when privacy is required). The bed was large and comfortable, carpets new and fluffy, the lighting system was a little confusing (we were very tired) and had options for any combination of lights that you could ever need. We found the mini-bar prices and room service to be very reasonable and there was an informative welcome pack, with really helpful tips on Singaporean etiquette. It was nice to have 2 complimentary bottles of water included, which made a welcome change from the overpriced water bottles on offer in previous hotels. There was an electronic pad near the door, with options to 'Make up Room' and 'Do not disturb', this was a modern and great twist on the cardboard door handle sign (which always falls off or goes missing).

There is a rooftop bar, which looked very nice but we seemed to miss the opening times on every occasion. The outdoor pool was a little small but clean and tidy and perfectly adequate, with enough sun loungers to go around. Breakfast was included and there was a great selection to choose from, suiting most tastes. Although, I would suggest to the management, that the various buffet options be clearly labelled, as many remained a mistery having no label and I only found out about the wonderful omlette bar on our last morning. Each of the hotel bars had a happy hour at some point in the day, making the prices even better. There is a great bar/restaurant across the road, with lovely friendly staff and this was open late when we visited. We found it easier to get the last MRT back after an evening out and would stop in for a quick drink, on the way back to the hotel.

We had a very late night flight and upon mentioning this to reception, they organised a 2pm check-out at no extra charge, which made life much easier and then they happily stored our bags until that night. Upon mentioning that we would like to shower before heading to the airport, they arranged for us to have late access to the poolside outdoor shower. We needed to amend the pick-up time of our car to the airport and the concierge assisted with this, communicating directly with the firm on our behalf and spending almost 30 minutes arranging an earlier collection. When the car failed to arrive on time that night, the hotel staff took control and did their upmost to resolve the issue.

NB:- If you choose to book a room, then make sure that you have the address noted down to show to the taxi driver, as we found their local knowledge to be a bit sketchy and since this is a new hotel, they may struggle. Tanjong Pagar MRT station is only a minutes’ walk and is a good marker for the drivers.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Danni B,

Thank you for the detailed review. Graffiti Sky Bar opens daily from 5pm - 11pm and we hope you will be able to enjoy your favourite drink whilst enjoying the cityscape view from our rooftop (level 29) the next time you stay with us.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location 1: : the hotel is at the AYE end of Anson Road on edge of Chinatown. This site used to be grass just a few years ago and a completely dead area. Now there are several new business towers, residential towers and some life but no real shops.

Location 2:the hotel is very convenient for all of the Business District - even to Suntec, but if Suntec is your destination then Pan Pacific of Marina Mandarin would be more convenient options.

Building: brand new (opened in August 2013) and typical Singapore: high ceilings and good quality.

Lobby lounge and proper coffee bar: these looked popular.

Swimming pool - oblong shape and 20m long so OK for swimming but narrow and so quickly gets 'busy'. Gym: well equipped. Pool area: no service and no lifeguard but the pool is next to the all day dining.

Bedroom: reasonable size, not large. Bathroom has 'window' into the bedroom. This works if you are alone but otherwise blind will secure privacy when using the toilet.

Club lounge: quite reasonable selection of drinks and the evening snacks included hot food, sushi as well as cheese and nibbles. Staff were excellent and really trying to please because they are all new. Perhaps too attentive. For example there is an outdoor terrace and I moved my chair out of the sun. The staff immediately came and offered to move the table as well. I wondered how many cameras were watching me!

Graffiti - an outdoor roof-top bar: I visited and it was empty but it looked promising.

Would I go back - yes but it is full price for the area. Not a bargain but it delivers.

Room Tip: even numbers give a sea view. Lower floors could be blocked by Amara hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Simon S,

Thank you for the detailed review and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely hotel! Stayed here for several days at the end of August to early September.

Location is terrific - it's right in the middle of the CBD. With only a short walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, it's easy to get around the city. There is also a Fairprice grocery across the street that's open 24 hours, aside from the usual convenience stores. It's also easy to get a taxi by asking the concierge, or walking to the taxi stand across the street.

Check-in/out was a breeze. They did ask for my credit card and passport.
(I requested if they can accomodate us for early check in, and we were able to enter our room by lunch. Normally it would be 2:00pm)
The lobby was quite spacious and elegantly decorated. To access your floor, you are given a keycard that you tap in the elevator.

Room - The 32sqm deluxe room is still actually quite spacious even with 3 occupants. (I requested an extra bed. Attached is a picture to see how it looks) The mattress is comfortable, as are the pillows.
The large windows provided sufficient natural light into the room. There's also some space below the window area to sit down or put stuff on.
Bottled water is given daily, but water in Singapore is potable anyway.

Toilet - There is a large glass panel dividing the bedroom from the toilet. While it seemed awkward at first, thankfully there were blinds you could close. The toilet is pretty spacious. There's a tub and a rain shower as well. Towels and toiletries are easily accessible and where they should be. The toiletries could have been better, like the body wash and shampoo.
Towels were changed everyday, and housekeeping cleaned the room well without touching our stuff. There is no scarcity of towel racks, hooks and hangers.
Word of caution: the water can be quite hot, even at the coolest setting.

One qualm I have about the restroom is that there was no bidet or sprayer for the toilet. It would have been perfect otherwise.


When travelling abroad, I always check the electrical outlets beforehand. Singapore by default has this three-pronged outlet, but thankfully there were also universal outlets in the hotel room.
Also, I loved that Wi-fi internet was free, and available throughout the hotel with pretty good speeds.

Overall, I had a nice stay.
It had just recently opened, so everything was sparkling new. There might be some construction here or there, but it's not so much a distraction if you won't spend most of your time inside the room. Hopefully it improves as the hotel gets more seasoned.
I was not able to dine in the restaurant nor the cafe, or even visit the sky bar.
I am highly considering returning here on my next trip to Singapore, and hopefully try out their dining options as well.

Try to look for better prices or deals on the usual discount reservation websites :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Roy V,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews