We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Ranked #40 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a brand new hotel, everything is new. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. The location is good, 2 minutes walk to MRT station. The service is OK but can be improved. Only issue is their TV system is not very stable. Overall, it worth to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank growingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear growingfish,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed an all-New experience at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us during your next visit to Singapore.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a room at Carlton City to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I planned it as a surprise and requested for an early check-in such that I could surprise him with the room and a cake. Knowing that such a request is highly subjected to availability, I had half expected that an early check in would not be possible. However, upon arrival at Carlton Hotel at 10am on the check in day, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that not only was the room ready, Carlton City had given me an upgrade to a room on the 23rd floor where the view was spectacular, and had also arranged for a cake to be delivered to the room. Front desk staff Ida was especially friendly and helpful. I would thus like to commend Carton City was their impeccable service and initiative. Service aside, the room was beautifully designed, and being new, everything was spotless. The only gripe we had was the temperature of the water; it took quite a while to warm up. Also, the room was relatively quiet and peaceful, except for slight knocking noises in the morning, presumably from minor construction. This should resolve when the hotel is fully ready. Overall, for the level of comfort, service and value, I would certainly place Carlton City on my list of choices in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kytrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear kytrachel,

We are glad to have made your stay a memorable one and hope your boyfriend was as pleasantly surprised with the birthday cake. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We (2 adults & 2 young kids) travelled during the Raya Holiday. Stayed for 3 nights, whereby checked in on the 5th day of this new hotel being operated.
We were very impressed with the grand lobby. The hotel's interior are very modern & chic! Everything provided in the room was brand new, I always choose new or refurbished hotels whenever possible.
Staff are very polite and greet us with a smile! We left a mobile charger in the room after we check out and was able to locate from the housekeeping Manager (Jack Ma) immediately when I contacted them. He was very helpful by checking the way to send the charger back to us.
Sky bar and Tuxedo cafe on the ground floor was not operated yet during our stay. Pool was not huge but great for us and the kids.
Good security with the access card activation system in the lift.
Breakfast spread are good and well-worth with the choices of coffee from the self service brewing machine, love it since I can have a few different cups of coffee. Location are great and just opposite 24 hour Fair Price super mart. Very near to MRT station, thumbs up for ease of travel around the city even with a stroller.

The disappointed issues : Minibar are a great disappointment, only replenish 1 tea bag a day, is that so expensive? In room coffee given are the instant mix, cheap & low quality. I expected something better as this is the Carlton Hotel group.
The big surprise is that no towels were replaced after making up room on 1 of the day, my son have to stand in the shower for 10 minutes waiting for the towels. No floor mat, after the complained, they supplied hand towels as mat. Replaced with only 1 face towel on a particular day and no hand towels provided. House keeping not consistence with their work.
They did not wipe table above minibar, didn't wash used mug which I think this have to be improved immediately. Toilet amenities are limited, no replacement of shower gel and shampoo on the 2nd day and practically I have to call up housekeeping every night to provide cotton bud and facial cotton....it's quite inconvenient.
Other than the cons, it was quite a pleasant stay. I will be back to this hotel and hope to find much improvement.

Room Tip: Try to ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitetingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Nitetingale,

Thank you for the detailed review and we have certainly noted on your comments. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

So glad we chose to stay here on our 7 night trip to Singapore. The rooms were amazingly clean, the staff were friendly and willing to help with anything! The buffet breakfast was nice and fresh with the menu changing every day. A big thank-you to all the staff at Carlton City who made our stay very enjoyable :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLB3989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear TLB3989,

We are happy to hear that the hotel's staffs have made your stay very enjoyable. Do visit us again when you next visit Singapore.

Carlton City hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wow !!!! 100 out of 100 for location .... 30 seconds from the Tanjong Pagar mrt .. Great room ...huge.....Clean...... Great bed ...nice bathroom ....bathtub ..... . Super TV .. Fast WIFI ... Fast check in ... Check out ... GREAT Staff ...China Town ... Maxwell street ... Eateries ... Clubs.. Pubs .... Walking distance .... FAIR PRICE supermarket and Seven Eleven right opposite ... Privacy ... Stayed on the 26 th floor ... Great view facing China town .... Decent size pool ... Everything about this hotel GREAT .... Will stay again ......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Attin,

Thank you for the wonderful 5-stars review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is so central to everything, china town markets close by, excellent bakery and 7 eleven across the road, public transport so easily accessible, The rooms have loads of space and excellently decorated, The staff are really friendly and the facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear jorgie53,

Thank you for the glowing review. We hope you've enjoyed the Graffiti Sky Bar and look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you next visit Singapore.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights with my parents, partner and 2.5yr old. With being a new hotel there is always bound to be little hiccups. When these occurred the staff were straight on to amending them promptly. The beds are incredibly comfortable. I don't think we all have slept so well (and long with a 2.5yr old) in a very long time. Across the road is everything you need. The best bakery with yummy everything! The 2 local food stalls have cheap and tasty food. The supermarket also has everything you need and more. Great location with walking to Chinatown and Maxwell Street Hawker food stalls a 5-10min walk. MRT 2min walk. Will definitely be recommending this amazing hotel in a great location to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Rebecca J,

Our beds are fitted with branded posturepedic mattresses and we are happy to hear that you've had comfortable nights' sleep on it! Thank you for the good recommendation given and we hope to welcome you back when you and your family next visit Singapore.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#59 of 317 in Singapore
3,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Amara Singapore
Amara Singapore
#74 of 317 in Singapore
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 317 in Singapore
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
M Hotel Singapore
M Hotel Singapore
#67 of 317 in Singapore
1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Singapore
The Westin Singapore
#36 of 317 in Singapore
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore 078862, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $175 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing