We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance and smiling customer service”

Napoleon Food & Wine Bar
Ranked #255 of 11,481 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Napoleon Food & Wine Bar opened its doors in Telok Ayer Street, between Raffles Place and Tajong Pagar. Its innovative concept, revolving around pairing and sharing, offers the chance to taste 32 southern European wines by the glass and pair them with the Singaporean chef's interpretation of Southern European casual cuisine. The company's proximity to French wine domains and castles makes it possible to offer great wines at wholesale prices. Whether you are a wine connoisseur or just the occasional wine lover, at Napoleon you will be able to enjoy wines at your pace and comfort, in a modern and cosy atmosphere. The idea behind the concept of Napoleon Food & Wine Bar is that buying wine should be like shopping for clothes - customers need to have the opportunity to try before committing to a purchase. Therefore Napoleon offers 32 bottles of wine – 16 red and 16 white – lined up within a row of Enomatic Wine Dispenser Machines that ease out sampling portions, a half glass or a full glass of wine if you so prefer. Underneath them, eight simple labels made it even more accessible. Unlike regular wine bars, the wines are not categorized by grape variety or region. At Napoleon the reds are categorized as ‘smooth’, ‘fruity’, ‘deep’ or ‘spicy’ while the whites are labeled as ‘dry’, ‘rich’, ‘fruity’ or ‘sweet’.Napoleon’s talented chef has created tasty dishes influenced by the best of both Southern Europe and Asia’s cuisine. Customers are encouraged to share the dishes and pair them with the wine of their choice. Mon - Fri: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm, 5:30 pm - 12:00 amSat: 5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the first wine bar in Singapore my husband and I can finally call "home". I love the fact you can do a tasting of wines before purchasing a full glass. So many options, and they have the most divine sweet wine and desserts! We always order the meat and cheese plates, plentiful and always fresh. Looking forward to trying the lobster risotto, my friends are raving about it! If you want a cozy atmosphere (and yes they accept reservations!) with a nice glass of wine and good conversation, Napoleon is a must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 313 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

I’ve been to this restaurant a few times for lunch and dinner over the last three months or so, hoping it would get better but to date is hasn’t (and I think today was the last opportunity it’s going to get). It’s a real shame because the food in here is pretty good value, especially for the set lunch, but it’s everything else that lets it down. The service is cold and impersonal, the gimmicky ipad ordering system is annoying rather than helpful (there’s always a need to ask for clarification so why can’t we just order from a waiter instead), and the place just lacks any kind of atmosphere. The decor is really well done and looks like it should be a cozy and welcoming place but the lack of friendly faces kills it.
In all honesty, it feels like a non-restauranteur has thrown a ton of cash at a nice looking restaurant but hasn’t much idea of customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TanjongP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The dispenser is a great solution for a country that doesn't understand service.
Excellent selection of wines.
Get a seat outside as the seats inside are tightly placed. Especially at the bar where it's impossible to get onto your seat. The seat at the far end is so close to the chair behind that both guests have to duck every time someone walks through the tiny gap. Removing one stool would solve these and make everyone more comfortable.
The team is friendly and efficient except the hostess who was busy chomping away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank confucius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The restaurant offers a good selection of wines that you can just help yourself with. Not being a big drinker, I like that I can sample a few different wines at smaller portions (however note that a small portion is PRETTY small). The food was good and atmosphere relaxing and not too crowded. I found service to be great and the owner/server even noticed that type of wine that we liked and gave us a sample of one, which I thought was a nice touch. I'm not a big fan of using ipad to order and it seems unnecessary given the size of the restaurant. This is the 2nd restaurant I've encountered that uses this system and on both occasion the order actually didn't go through because I didn't press confirm. I think the bar would feel more intimate if there are servers taking orders.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CSW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Decent reviews on tripadvisor and $8 wine sounds good until you realise it's for half a glass (75ml), small portions for mediocre food, bad service and the overall ambiance doesn't suit the concept. We were surrounded by wires and the ipads that you order through didn't work properly.

Also, was strange to me that it's self-service with the menu yet they add the same service charge on.

Definitely wouldn't go back and would warn people against it seeing as there are so many other places that are better value for higher quality food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sophie_t99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC C, Guest Relations Manager at Napoleon Food & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We serve our first glasses at $8 for a full glass with a precise 150ml pour (our wine dispenser machine are very accurate, please check www.enomatic.com). For better value wines, which cost $14 for a full glass, we charge $8 for a half glass of 75ml. But we still have full glasses for $8. Different wines, different values... The iPad menu allows you to order yourself but dishes don't come at the table by itself, you still need service staff. Many places nowadays have iPad menus in Singapore and they all charge service charge as the staff needs to be remunerated. Even at places such as Din Tai Fung or Sakae Sushi where you order yourself with a pencil and a paper, you still need service staff and hence they all charge the service charge. Sorry to say I thus don't understand your point here. I am disappointed to read you find the food mediocre as we have received a lot of very positive feedback on it so far. Taking this into account, we hope you are willing to give Napoleon a second chance. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napoleon Food & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Napoleon Food & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing