We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, comfy room, lack of common room”
Review of Mori Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mori Hostel
Ranked #99 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, comfy room, lack of common room”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

1. Staffs are very friendly and helphful, I would like to thank Rahan for his time to have some good conversation.

2. For the offer price ive gotten for the bed in mix dorm, its a bargain in singapore, especially when the bed is super duper comfortable and clean!

3. Location is good, if you want to have a good night sleep, this place is peace and quiet. Farrer Park MRT takes about 10mins walk and Lavendar MRT, 20mins. Looking at other hostel location and my one night stay in Kem leng Hotel, it's not easy to find a room which is peace and quiet in an affordable price.

4. 1 night, i stayed in the lady dorm, paid extra sgd and it's worth it. The room is more spacious and there's a bug mirror with some seats and hairdyer for the ladies to touchup their looks. Great concept!

Now..
The Cons:

1. Common room is not available. So I don't have a place to interact with other tourists such as myself. Having conversation in the dorms arent that appropriate especially late hours or early morning, this will be explain on my 2nd con. The front area of the hostel is actually a nice place to sit down and chill. I would recommend that the hostel provides some small tables too since seatings are already made available.

2. My experience in the lady dorm was terrible. not at all hostel's fault. I was unlucky enough to be in a room with 4 indonesian ladies who doesnt respect other guests sharing the room with them. For example, putting their stuff all over the place, chatting loudly from 10pm til 2am in the morning eventho I hinted them by switching off the mainlight at 12am. They woke up around 7am and they started to chat away again like mad, they took the breakfast from the hostel dining area into the room (THATS not nice). (Dear the management of Mori Hostel, i really love your hostel, my advise based on experiences staying with a lot of hostel around the world.. is to inform every guest to be considerate upon check in, like inform them that by 10pm, its lightout and guests advise to be quiet in dorms so others are not disturb etc. I know it's at the back of the dorm door but to be frank, its quite small that it can be unnoticable plus the rooms are dark too.
For those who never experience staying in a hostel, it is NOT like a hotel. So please don't treat the room like it's completely yours!

3. I guess it would be nice for the hostel to have one whole restroom for females only and another restroom for males. Believe me, generally, we wont mind to climb up 1 to 2 floors up or down. Its much better than restroom to share both male and female.


Overall, Mori Hostel is great to sleep in (if your roommates are good) and great staff!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devilezz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mori-hostel-mgr, Owner at Mori Hostel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear devilezz69,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the positive feedback.

The outdoor deck space outside with chairs is actually the common area that was incorporated as part of our design to retain the living habit of residents in a traditional shophouse. Shophouses in Singapore were one of the earliest and significant dwelling typology in Singapore. Residents often expand their programmes of their home out of their living spaces into the five-foot way, thus turning it into a communal area where family have their meals or friends to hang out for drinks. We hope to retain the same socializing spirts as of those days.

Once again, thank you for feedback and we look forward to hosting you in Singapore soon!

Cheers
Anson
Mori hostel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    52
    35
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
21
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in a mixed 6 bed dorm for 1 week with my girlfriend in October 2013 on the middle floor.

I'll start with the positives as there isn't as many as negatives...

1/2 price rooms as the hostel is apparently relatively new, S$300 for both of us for 1 week!
Clean
Modern
Awesome beds, large and super comfy and not creaky like every hostel in Australia
Very friendly and helpful staff
Close to Farrer Park train station and right on the edge of Little India
Air Con
'Free' breakfast, sounds good but its never really free as you have paid to stay there.
Each bed has an individual reading light, every hostel should have this!
We got free laundry and drying but not sure if we were meant to?!?
Great Wifi...

Negatives...

The free breakfast is pretty rubbish, toast, tea, coffee and really bad cereal with usually warm UHT milk.
No fridge or cooking equipment whatsoever so apart from pot noodles you'll have to eat out.
One shower and one toilet on the top 2 floors, god knows what it would be like when busy.
The showers are just more than a dribble.
No hand towels or hand dryers in the toilets.
No mirror in our room, although I did see a room with a mirror on the ground floor.
No communal area.
The large beds make the room space tiny, nowhere for luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz_Adventures2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mori-hostel-mgr, Owner at Mori Hostel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Oz_Adventures2012,

Would like to thank you taking the time to share your experience with Mori hostel and we are grateful that you have also commented on some of your concerns.

Total guest satisfaction of our guests is important to us. While we understand that we might not be able to satisfy every single guest, we will definitely monitor all our guests feedback and scrutinize our observations to ensure that we will always continue to improve our performance.

We look forward to hosting you and friends in Singapore again!

cheers
Anson
Mori hostel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in Mori hostel in sept 2013 for 2 nights. The hostel is situated close to a train station so easy to get into central Singapore but is on the outskirts of little India. If you're wanting a hostel in the hustle and bustle of little India then this isn't the one. The room we had (6 bed mixed dorm) was abit dark and dingy as there were no windows. Unfortunately due to the lack of communal space it is not the most sociable hostel either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard_wee, Owner at Mori Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi Laura12349,

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments of mori hostel.

As you'd highlighted, it is the very reason we fell in love with this little property,it offers guests a peaceful rest and is a stroll to the hustle and bustle of little india.

Part of our concept is to bring back the old Singapore, where people gather at the front patio (five foot way ) to mingle and socialise.

We would encourage guests to come out and chill out at the area.

Also, mori hostel is located in a heritage conservation controlled property, which typically has windows at the front and rear.

Once again, we thank you for your stay with us. Should you decide to visit us again, please inform us of your preference for rooms with windows, we will gladly accommodate the request should it be possible.

All our guests feedback will continue to be monitored and scrutinized our observations, to ensure that we will always continue to improve our performance.

We look forward to hosting you and friends in Singapore again!

cheers
Howard
Mori hostel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My review is based on private double room, $80 SGD per night;

The room; clean, comfey, safe box, tv & DVD player (films to borrow from reception) and 24hr air con, a bit small but it's singapore!

Shared bathrooms; always clean and waters hot, what else could you want.

Close to MRT 5min walk and 10 min walk to little India for a decent curry.

It's pricy for what you get but it is singapore and accomdation ain't cheap!

Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard_wee, Owner at Mori Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi James,

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments of mori hostel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive feedback is a great encouragement and very much appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you and friends in Singapore again!

cheers
Howard
Mori hostel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The room is clean, near MRT, nice music, good service...
However, I think they can improve the breakfast , provide more choices to the customer....
Also, I think Mori should enlarge toilet and bathroom

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard_wee, Owner at Mori Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi Carmen C,

Thank you taking the time to share your experience and comments of mori hostel.

We're glad you enjoyed our choice of music and are grateful to your your encouragement of our staff's positivity.

we will definitely monitor all our guests feedback and scrutinize our observations to ensure that we will always continue to improve our performance.

We look forward to hosting you and friends in Singapore again!

cheers
Howard
Mori hostel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I chose this hostel at first because they offered 50% discount on bed and the photos are convincing enough. the beds are quite comfy but not enough space in the room with 6 bunk beds.
I came with total of 6 family members with two mothers and they put us in 3rd floor which not convenient for our mothers to using stairs to 3rd floor. the breakfast is disappointing, i found fungus on the breads and the jams and butter is not properly stored. Last, only 1 bathroom and toilet for 2nd and 3rd floor, so if it's full we have to go to 1st floor.

If you only need a place for sleep, this place is OK, it's quiet and and the aircon runs well for 24hrs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurencia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard_wee, Owner at Mori Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi Laurencia M,

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments of mori hostel and my sincere apologies for the late reply.

since your feedback, we've undertaken immediate measures to ensure breakfast supplies delivery received is inspected. As our complimentary breakfast is self service, we have also taken measures to remind guests to be mindful and considerate with condiments at the breakfast area.

Should you decide to visit us with your family again, do let us know in advance if there are elderly members, we will do our best to accommodate you at a lower floor should that be possible.

cheers
Howard
Mori hostel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Mori with a group of friends and we really had a great time. Location-wise, Mori is conveniently located. Just a short walking distance to Farrer Park MRT, Little India and City Square Mall. At first we were a bit worried in finding Halal foods near Mori but the staffs were helpful enough to point out a few nearby halal restaurants. And the room and shared bathrooms are all clean and in a good condition. The beds are a total comfy and just what we needed after a long day out in the city. Free breakfast is also provided with breads, jams, cereals and tea/coffee. Just that the pantry is quite small with limited seats available. Overall, would definitely come back to Mori if we decided to visit Singapore again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SyamiraNabila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
The Shophouse
The Shophouse
#74 of 227 in Singapore
264 reviews
Gap Year Hostel
#95 of 227 in Singapore
76 reviews
Traveller@SG
#59 of 227 in Singapore
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#29 of 227 in Singapore
280 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 227 in Singapore
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mori Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mori Hostel

Property: Mori Hostel
Address: 429 Race Course Road Mori Hostel, Singapore 218675, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mori Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mori Hostel is a new hostel situated along Race Course Road and within Singapore’s culturally rich Little India Historical District. By carefully redefining & integrating the modern functional comforts of a boutique hotel with the social experience of hostelling, Mori Hostel offers a unique blend of warm hospitality embodying comfort, style, quality, culture and exceptional good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mori Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mori Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing