We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience with Capsule Backpacker Hostel”
Review of Vintage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vintage Inn
Ranked #54 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

For me, one of the important factors of finding accommodation in Singapore is the cost beside comfort, privacy and convenience. And Vintage Inn provides more than what I expected. I never a fan of backpacker accommodation in my life and it’s my first experience with it. Booked it with promotion rate with one night stay. The capsule type really attracts me to try out, and out of the surprise it does amaze me. The location just a stone throw way from Little India MRT station and close to nearby happening areas. The hostel is new and well decorated. The reception is great when I check in with brief introduction within the area. The capsules come with single bed, personal lighting and power point for recharge. The best part is all capsules has curtain attach in it to allow guests to enjoy maximum privacy possible. All capsules with personal locker beneath it. AC is working perfectly. The noise level in the room is kept low, thanks to the capsule design and also the considerate guests. Pantry design is great with all basic facilities available such as microwave, boiler and also washing machine.
But the down part of it is the size of toilet is kind of small for me. Hardly move for clothes changing. Would be convenient if there’s shower gel provided in it too. Anyhow is well maintained and clean. Did not manage to try out the breakfast though. For those leaving before 8am would miss it. Hope the management would able to make it much earlier, say at 7am.
Generally, I do enjoy my stay and definitely consider again for my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanNyTan_1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hi Danny,

Thank you for sharing your first ever hostel experience with us. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations. We do apologise for the size of the bathroom. Being a humble establishment, we had to make good use of the space that we had. We would look into the shower gel and earlier breakfast timing options to see if they would be viable. But we do thank you for your input. They have proven helpful to us. Also, we would like to Thank You for the amazing comments and ratings that you have given us.

It is highly appreciated and we hope that you think of us the next time you decide to come to Singapore!

Sincerely,

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my me and my wifes 1st experience in capsule type accomodation, although we have backpacked in many parts of the world for many years. We were so impressed when we stayed in July we immediately re-booked for our return in August. The accomodation (Capsule) was excellent and exceptionally clean just like the whole place. Free WI-FI and very considerate fellow guests, was quiter than the average hotel. Best of all though was the quality of all the staff, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure our stay was top class, and the friendliness went a long way to make the whole atmosphere of the Vintage Inn exceptionally friendly. It will definately be our 1st choice when staying in Singapore!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hi Rod!

You truly honor us by calling us the 'Best in Singapore'. Though there is still so much we can do to improve ourselves, and to provide every single one of our guest with the best stay that they can have here in sunny Singapore, your title caption has humbled us beyond words.

We would love to have you stay with us again the next time round you are in Singapore!

Have a great one, Rod!

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of shared accommodation, and this was my first capsule hotel experience - but I was pleasantly surprised.

We had a top double capsule which was clean, new, and had a light and powerpoint. We had a good sized double locker underneath the capsule below us which was more than enough room to fit a carry on suitcase, carry on duffel bag, and whatever else we needed (the locker is only as high as a typical plane overhead locker, but very deep). There was plenty of room to store larger luggage at the end of the room out of the way.

The room was air conditioned and people were generally quite considerate.

The free wifi was very fast. There was also a PC available in the room.

There was breakfast included in the mornings which changed each day and was generally very good. The hotel had clothes washing facilities but we didn’t use these.

The bathroom area (off the kitchen) was probably a little too small and possibly not cleaned frequently enough, but it did the job. There are no shelves to place anything in the bathrooms – clothes, toiletries etc – and when showering this was particularly a problem. I placed clothes precariously up near an open window ledge but these fell and got soaked. The toilet cubicles can also become showers and the taps come on very easily if you simply brush against them – so again, I got drenched one night before bed. There is a window out onto the kitchen and dining area from the bathroom so you can’t really change outside the shower either.

Might be worth sweeping or mopping the bedrooms during the day as the floors (and the lockers) had quite a bit of hair throughout.

Location excellent, plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby, and MRT station only a 2 minute walk away – if that.

Room Tip: You need to climb a small ladder to get to top capsules - this wasn't always graceful (particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Particuliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hi Particuliere!

Thank You for your comments. We truly appreciate them!

With regards to the bathroom issue, we do understand that it is a little smaller than usual. This is because we tried to fully utilise as much space as we could in our humble hostel. We have also ensured that the bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly twice a day, and we would also be fixing in hooks so that the guests may hang their clothes and toiletries in the bathrooms.Together with the regular daily clean-ups of the bathroom, we have also ensured the regular daily clean-ups of the rooms as well.

We do feel for you with regards to brushing against the shower taps and getting drenched, as it has happened to us before as well. We are currently trying to find a way where we can 'lock' in the taps so that accidental bumps against the taps would not trigger them to go off. However, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies to you.

We would love to have you back in Vintage Inn the next time round you are in Singapore, Particuliere!

Cheers!

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. It's wone of the best and most affordable places to stay in Singapore. The pods are spacious and have proper thick inner spring mattresses. So comfy after roughing it in the Philippines!

Free breakfast, strong wi-fi, airport transfer, 1 minute to MRT and right in the heart of colorful little India.

The only tiny bit of feedback I could give is the bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. It's a brand new hostel so it was really clean everywhere and mostly clean in the bathroom but rubbish was left in toilets for a few days on the shelf which is a tell tale sign the cleaner hasn't been. The sowers are brand new so it was fine but just may become an issue as the hotel ages.

Loved the staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BillieDashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hi Billie!

Thank you for your compliments and your suggestion with regards to the bathroom cleanliness. We try our best to ensure that our hostel is as clean as possible. That being said, we would like to apologise for the lack of effort. This issue has since been resolved and our staff are making sure that the bathroom, as well as our general area, is clean and rubbish free on a daily basis.

We would love to have you over at Vintage Inn Singapore again in the future Billie!

Cheers!

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Ok firstly where is the 6* option TripAdvisor?!??

This place has to be one of the best hostels in the whole of Singapore and no doubt the whole of Asia!!

We stayed here (3x male travellers) in early August for 3 nights as part of a 5-week tour of SE Asia and couldn't have been more comfortable, well looked after or made to feel at home.... The guys at Vintage Inn really have cracked it!

Location is superb, right on the main road in Little India the MRT (underground train/tube) station is just a 3min walk away and this leads you to every corner of Singapore via the ultra-efficient and cheap-to-use tube system. Downstairs from the hostel is a fantastic Indian restaurant (Banana Leaf Apollo) and there is a 7/11 just 50m away which keeps the essentials and last minute snacks!

The hostel itself is located on the 1st & 2nd floors (2nd & 3rd for you crazy Americans!
haha just kidding) of an old traditional Little India building, but they have security cameras and key-fob entrance for peace of mind.... Not that you need it when you consider Singapore is one of the safest cities in the world!!

Inside Vintage Inn you will find 2 mixed "dorms" (one on each floor) but these are not your typical dorms as each person or couple has a sleeping pod with curtain for privacy. The pods are solid and made of a stylish gloss white material, each with a power point and light inside as well as a VERY comfortable bed and very fresh crisp white cotton bed linen. I had a bottom pod but bear in mind that the upper level pods have a short ladder for access so if you have any problems with this let them know in advance!!

The guys who run the place are spot on with local knowledge, speak perfect English as you would expect in Singapore and are very kind and courteous.... They were even kind enough to collect us from the airport when we arrived which was very stress-free and easy.

On-site facilities include laundry (wash & dry) for a small fee, kitchen, fridge/freezer, complimentary tea/coffee and a real clever set-up of cubicle showers/toilets with lovely hot water showers as well as sinks and mirrors with hair dryers etc.

The free wi-fi is lightning fast (I clocked it at nearly 35Mbps!!) and is perfect for keeping in touch with family or uploading pics, I never once had a bad connection for maybe the 1st time in Asia.

This place is a real testament to how a hostel should be run and I really hope the guys can expand and take what they've done here to other places!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi Jay!

We would like to Thank You for your superb review of us and your intention of giving us an even higher score than possible! We do try our very best to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable and enjoyable time while in Singapore. And your review just shows to us that our efforts have been validated.

We hope to be able to see you guys over at Vintage Inn again!

Cheers!

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The Vintage Inn is a great place to stay. Inspired by Japanese pods but expanded to be like beds in a luxury sleeper train the linen is crisp, white and new. The pods are lit have power outlets And you can draw tre gold curtain for privacy. The rooms are silent (double glazed) And air con with wifi And desktop. Breakfast si included and delicious. Bathrooms as all are spotless. youll love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hi Bronwyn!

Hope you and your family are well! We would like to thank you for staying with us and we would love to have you and your family over at Vintage Inn when you guys get the chance to visit sunny Singapore again!

Cheers!

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights, it was our first time in a dorm and if all dorms are like this we wouldn't think twice about booking another! The beds are so comfy and the dorm is spotless! Curtains across your capsule bed makes it more private. There are plenty of showers and again very clean.
Staff can't do enough to help you, breakfast made every morning when your ready and even free transport to the airport.
I would definitely recommended staying here if your travelling in a couple or alone!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolaandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi Nicola and Sam!

Thank you both for the high ratings and reviews! We truly appreciate them! We are also really glad that you got to share your first ever hostel experience with us. We hope that all your future hostel experiences are just as good.

Do take care and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Cheers!

Vick
Vintage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#154 of 317 in Singapore
376 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#185 of 317 in Singapore
315 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#153 of 317 in Singapore
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
@ Little Red Dot
#69 of 237 in Singapore
425 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Capsule Hostel
Wink Capsule Hostel
#13 of 237 in Singapore
693 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Inn

Address: 60 Race Course Road, Singapore 218567, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $26 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vintage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many spoils and riches in life do not necessarily have to come with an astronomical price tag. We at Vintage Inn keep it luxuriously simple. We believe in the preservation of heritage and character and you will be surrounded with a collection of South East Asian artwork and antiquities the moment you step into our humble abode.Interacting with our team will also leave you most exuberant! Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will assist you in making your journey to our wonderful island a most enriching one. From helping you with event and restaurant bookings to advising you on the many attractions and must see places, our staff will ensure that you maximise your budget and time. We also possess a collection of literary works so that you may learn more about how this humble fishing community and port island grew exponentially into one of the world's top cities in a single generation.Our Airport and Ferry terminal transfer service and a hot gourmet local breakfast will ensure right from the very start that you will experience a fuss-free travel whether you are a tourist or a business traveller on a smart budget. Do check with us on the array of complimentary products and services which we offer to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vintage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing