We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hostel”
Review of Blanc Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blanc Inn
Ranked #34 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
1 review
“Beautiful hostel”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our first time to Singapore. Everything so expensive. But this hostel price reasonable and very clean. The trains about ten minute walk and many eating places nearby the hostel. I will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aomtrachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
33
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just stayed for one night. The pictures on the website make the place/rooms appear bigger than they are. I had to go to the hospital during my stay there and the staff was very helpful, even to the point of standing out in the street (in the rain) trying to get a cab for me. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights when we visited Singapore in July. We were initially concerned about the privacy of their alcoves but decided to give it a try as we did not want to spend too much on a hotel  (accommodation is so expensive in Singapore!). It was much better than we expected, we got a room like space, and although on the small side compared to the usual hotel room size, was clean and comfortable. It was our first time in a hostel and I took a bit of getting used to the fact that there were other alcoves in the same room. Luckily, the other guests were quite considerate and did not make too much noise. The toilets were shared but kept clean. I loved the decor of the place and the lounge was very charming. It was a shame they did not serve breakfast but we did try out the local breakfast in nearby eateries which the hostel staff directed us to. There is a hip looking coffee joint opposite the hostel which I recommend you visit, it reminded me of the coffee bars in New York and they had great coffee!
Surprisingly, the hostel had discounted attraction tickets as well which was useful, we got our tickets to universal studios quite a bit cheaper than the official ticket price. All in all, great value for our money and would definitely be back if we visit Singapore again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetowander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of August. The rooms are set up as privacy alcoves with curtains blocking the entrance to your space but you are more or less in a dorm i.e you can hear your fellow roommates. We had a double with air con and a safe. Very comfortable, clean, with a nice common room area (with complimentary tea and coffee). The bathroom is unisex. It was clean but could do with a makeover. The staff were really friendly and full of information about the area.
You can easily walk from here in to the city centre through little India but if walking's not your thing then Lavender MRT station is just down the road.
Lavender food hall (local hawker centre) is around the corner and is brilliant for food. Try the chicken rice and the pork dumplings.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs alcove to avoid any noise from above. If you're having a beer in Lavender fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LotusFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is one of best, unique hostel I ever stayed for my South East Asia trip. The hostel has a theme in white. It has four big loft design rooms. In each big room, it has 4 privacy alcoves, each separated by privacy curtains. With that, it is almost like a private room by itself. The price is much cheaper as compared to staying at a hotel.

As many other reviews had mentioned, the hostel is very clean, comfortable bed linens, staff friendly, locations is good where the hostel had a good guide write-up how to go around Singapore. The hostel is near to two MRT stations - Lavender MRT station and Farrer Park MRT station.

Room Tip: Each privacy alcove has a safebox in a steel cupboard. Still, Bring own padlocks for the steel cupbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcchua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A friend of mine had recommended Blanc Inn to us. My family of four stayed at the hostel for 5 nights in July. The hostel is easy to find. The hostel has its own inhouse website whereby it tells his guests where and how to move around Singapore. The hostel will send you email the URL of the website, only after you have made booking reservation with the hostel. Overall, we are satisfied with the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tong Ko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed for a night at this hostel on my transit through Singapore. What caught my attention was how clean it was and unlike other hostels I've been to in Europe, Blanc inn was bright and airy. I was in a shared room but the layout of the room and the curtains meant I had privacy while sleeping. There was a cosy relaxation area at the back of the hostel and I got to meet fellow travellers.

Bathroom facilities are shared so be aware that the usage is a lot higher in the night. That said, the bathroom facilities were kept very clean by the staff!

I felt this was good value for money especially since I was traveling on a budget. It also exceeds the hostel experience I've had in other countries. Would definitely reccomend blanc inn!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#172 of 312 in Singapore
346 reviews
Hotel 81 Fuji
#286 of 312 in Singapore
11 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Sleepy Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC Premium Hostel
#93 of 230 in Singapore
104 reviews
7 Wonders Hostel
#85 of 230 in Singapore
70 reviews
Blissful Loft
#182 of 230 in Singapore
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanc Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanc Inn

Property: Blanc Inn
Address: 151 Tyrwhitt Road, Singapore 207564, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blanc Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanc Inn is a hostel open just in April 2013, converted from an old shop house in a historical district between Little India and Arab Street, and 5 minutes walk to two MRT stations. We aim to provide an improved hostelling experience by introducing a spot of luxury in our design of private and spacious sleeping areas. Each air-conditioned suite contains up to five alcoves, each one offering private sleeping zones for individuals, couples or groups. Each alcove is segregated by privacy curtains, generously proportioned and individually furnished with its own single or double bed. As we do not use bunk beds in a dormitory style setting, our guests have plenty of privacy and will not end up sleeping next to a stranger.Alcove facilities include clean pillows & bedlinen, personal reading light, power points, free same day luggage storage (till 8.30pm), personal safe deposit box, mirror, ceiling/wall fan, air conditioning, sharing toilets/showers outside rooms (free shampoo/ shower gel), non-smoking and 24h CCTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blanc Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanc Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing