We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real south indian food in singapore..”
Review of MTR Restaurant

MTR Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving Pure Vegetarian Authentic South Indian Food Since 1924. Only the Finest and Fresh Ingredients used. No MSG,Chemicals and Preservatives used. NO Service charges levied. Situated Opp. Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple on Serangoon Road. Near Ferrar Park MRT station Next to City Square Mall.
1 review
“Real south indian food in singapore..”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I searched various places in singapore to hav south Indian food and one fine day i found this and had my breakfast and lunch.. Really tasty and my family enjoyed a lot, cost is also average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subramanyam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Subramanyam, Very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed the visit to our restaurant. All the ingredients are imported from Bangalore, to keep the same taste. Our motto is to give authentic, hygienic, and original South Indian Food in Singapore, at an affordable rate. Looking forward to see you and family and friends more often in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    323
    57
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good quick Indian eats!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Jet-lagged and wanting something close to my hotel in Lavender, I stumbled upon the reviews on this place: MTR.

In New Zealand, the supermarkets are stacked with these beautiful little $2 packet-curries made by a company called MTR - so what was this? A chance to eat at an actual MTR outlet? Their Singapore HQ?!

Unlikely, but it made me Barry Chuckle, nonetheless.

Arriving at The MTR Head Office, I was greeted in a friendly manner and shown to a table. While friendly, the staff were slightly fussy, with a rushed feel to their demeanour. I also felt that they were trying to determine my order for me - I'll decide myself, thanks.

When delivered, the food was of a great standard, and for a very good price, too.

I would pop by here again for a quick feast - about $25 for a couple of meals and a desert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Dunc, Thank you for visit to our restaurant and the review. We are happy to know that you really liked our food. Sorry for the over enthusiasm from our staff to guide you through the menu. (Many first timers ask our help to select from the menu.) Looking forward to see you and family and friends more often in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best South Indian vegetarian in town!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The dosas both masala & rawa were excellent, the best part is that the accompanying sambar for each dish be it the dosas or the vada or rawa idli was distinct! And each of them were pretty good particularly the accompaniment to rava dosa which was similar to avial, the good old sambar was pretty good as well.

The vada was excellent, the rawa idli & filter coffee were good.

Overall a very good addition to Singapore's Indian Food scene

Helpful?
Thank Shivam0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Shivam, Thank you for your visit to MTR Restaurant and the review. Every ingredient is brought in from Bangalore, to give you the same taste as in India. Looking forward to see you and family and friends more often in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Authentic South Indian food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Absolutely yummy and authentic MTR food. Being from Bangalore, I have missed the dosas from there until now.
We love their service, which is warm and also quick. We return week after week and cant fault it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SK_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sir, It's almost 3 months since you visited MTR Singapore and posted a genuine feedback.

With the help and support from good people like you, we are now ranked as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" by Trip Advisor. Till date, we have not advertised anywhere. Our customers do it for us. Our contact is ONLY through word of mouth publicity.

Our focus is on serving pure, authentic, South Indian Vegetarian food at an affordable rate with a smile. All the ingredients are brought down from India and kept at specified temperature to give the original aroma and taste. We use NO chemicals, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All items are freshly prepared.

Kindly visit us more often with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and a Clean Restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The gentleman at the front counter is very friendly and all chefs wear face masks when preparing food. They are meticulous and the presentation of the food is worthy of a 5 star rating. Keep up the great work. We notice your diligence!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cogper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrywatson01, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Cogper, Thank you for visiting MTR Singapore and for posting a genuine feedback. With the help and support from good people like you, we have ranked as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" by Trip Advisor. Till date, we have not advertised anywhere. Our customers do it for us. Our contact is ONLY through word of mouth publicity.

Our focus is on serving pure, authentic, South Indian Vegetarian food at an affordable rate with a smile. All the ingredients are brought down from India and kept at specified temperature to give the original aroma and taste. We use NO chemicals, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All items are freshly prepared.

We have NOT seen you in recently at our restaurant. Kindly visit us more often with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MTR Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to MTR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing