We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asphodel Inn Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asphodel Inn Singapore
Ranked #227 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013. The rooms are pretty small. But I think rooms are usually small in similar hotels in Singapore. We paid around $140 for triple occupancy per night taxes inclusive. There is no room service in this hotel. However, the Front office staff is very helpful. Free Wi-Fi is available in lobby. The hotel is very near to Ferrer Park MRT (around 5 minutes walking distance) and Little India. Mustafa is also around 5 minutes walk with lot of indian restaurants. Overall we had a comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    34
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
28
38
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manipal, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed with family for 3 nights,arrived on a Sunday morning and stayed till Wednesday evening.
This hotel is really good if you are coming only for a nice sleep after all the sight seeing.
Rooms were comparitively smaller but spacious enough for two since we were there only for our sleep.Rightly priced and i dont feel like spending huge money on rooms that u need only for comfortable sleep.
The receptionist was really cooperative with a pleasant face and will give all the guidance if required regarding sightseeings.
Inshort it was a covenient stay n a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I gave this hotel a four star as the location was convenient; it took us 3-10 mins. walk to MRT Farrer Park Station and it’s accessible to most of the tourist attractions. Hotel receptionist was accommodating. We had a good size air-conditioned room and bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows and most important the room was clean. Free bottled water, choco drink and coffee.
The downside they don’t serve breakfast, inform the guest beforehand to bring the remote control of the tele/TV upon checking out so time will not be wasted and no Wi-Fi connection in our room. There’s an internet connection in the ground floor/reception area and nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed in Asphodel Inn for 2 nights. Before booking I was reading the reviews here and was not expecting much. So when I checked in I was pleased with the room, it was not huge but the right size, the bathroom was fine and overall the room was clean - I think they recently renovated and painted the rooms. All in all the room was comfortable, price reasonably and amenities just enough - nothing extravagant.

The hotel was also close to the MRT Station, it takes about 7 mins to walk to Farrer Park Station Exit B, from there you can go just about anywhere by train. It is also fairly close to City Square Mall where you can just get about anything you need.

The only thing disappointing was the fact that there was a karaoke lounge behind the hotel and it can be pretty loud during Fri/Sat nights. Ask for rooms at the 3rd or 4th floor or rooms not facing the back lane to ensure that you are not disturbed by the loud singing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel to stay at on our first trip to Singapore. It was in a good spot because it's just a few minute walk to MRT. The staff was very friendly to us. I have to say the rooms were really small but we managed just fine! Everything was clean so can't complAin!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karawang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stay for 3 night with 3 family of my friends. I book a double bed room, but i get a smaller room than my sister in law with same type room. The amenities that they give to you are : hot water, tea/coffee maker, free wi-fi, air cond, 2 bottles of mineral water, towel. you must bring your soap because they only give you a toothbrush & small toothpaste. The price is not cheaper than a hostel, but it just 500 m to Farrer Park MRT station, Little India Area. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast, but there are many place to eat behind the hotel, exactly on Serangoon Road. 711 store is near to. Lavender Food Square it just 10 minutes walk. You can eat in a cheap price and many choices. From this hotel you can go to Mustafa Centre, Sri Variamman Temple, and you can see many buddhist temple around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited Singapore last week for our much awaited vacation and chose Asphodel Inn as our retiring abode for 4N 5D, since we wanted to spend less on our stay and more on journey/food/activities, especially when we had to return only to sleep at night.

The hotel stood up to our expectations with a nice and neat room which (though a little compact) was good for two. The room was basic but clean with powerful air conditioning, and at the end of a long day definitely provided us with a good quality sleep. The hotel's receptionist Titi, was helpful in guiding us.

This hotel located at Race course Road, is very close to Farrer Park MRT and hence is at convenient location to travel around in Singapore. The adjacent lane had many Indian(especially Veg) food restaurants. Our choice of a decent daily Breakfast was Komala's Veg restaurant located 200 m from the hotel.

Pros:
1) Clean rooms.
2) You daily get 2 complementary water-bottles (500 ml each), and some coffee sachets.
3) Hot shower round the clock.

Cons:
1) Washroom is very small (like most of the hotels in Singapore).
2) No Restaurant/Food facility in the hotel, but that's OK with the price offered and nearby you get good Breakfast-Lunch-Dinner.
3) There are a couple of Karaoke lounges around(and in front) of the hotel which are open till late at night(On weekends until 2:00 am), this might be a little too noisy for some of us to sleep.
4) Behind the hotel (especially around Karaoke lounges) you might encounter sex workers during weekend nights, so take care if you are with your family.

Room Tip: 1) Rooms towards the road side can be a little noisier due to Karaoke's around. 2) If required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Prince_Parasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Classique Hotel
#217 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#214 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#191 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rochor
Penta Hotel
Penta Hotel
#218 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#192 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#148 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asphodel Inn Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asphodel Inn Singapore

Property: Asphodel Inn Singapore
Address: 380 Race Course Road, Singapore 218702, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asphodel Inn Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Asphodel Inn Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asphodel Inn Singapore Hotel Singapore
Asphodel Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing