We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very welcoming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asphodel Inn Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asphodel Inn Singapore
Ranked #218 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel to stay at on our first trip to Singapore. It was in a good spot because it's just a few minute walk to MRT. The staff was very friendly to us. I have to say the rooms were really small but we managed just fine! Everything was clean so can't complAin!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
29
38
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karawang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stay for 3 night with 3 family of my friends. I book a double bed room, but i get a smaller room than my sister in law with same type room. The amenities that they give to you are : hot water, tea/coffee maker, free wi-fi, air cond, 2 bottles of mineral water, towel. you must bring your soap because they only give you a toothbrush & small toothpaste. The price is not cheaper than a hostel, but it just 500 m to Farrer Park MRT station, Little India Area. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast, but there are many place to eat behind the hotel, exactly on Serangoon Road. 711 store is near to. Lavender Food Square it just 10 minutes walk. You can eat in a cheap price and many choices. From this hotel you can go to Mustafa Centre, Sri Variamman Temple, and you can see many buddhist temple around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited Singapore last week for our much awaited vacation and chose Asphodel Inn as our retiring abode for 4N 5D, since we wanted to spend less on our stay and more on journey/food/activities, especially when we had to return only to sleep at night.

The hotel stood up to our expectations with a nice and neat room which (though a little compact) was good for two. The room was basic but clean with powerful air conditioning, and at the end of a long day definitely provided us with a good quality sleep. The hotel's receptionist Titi, was helpful in guiding us.

This hotel located at Race course Road, is very close to Farrer Park MRT and hence is at convenient location to travel around in Singapore. The adjacent lane had many Indian(especially Veg) food restaurants. Our choice of a decent daily Breakfast was Komala's Veg restaurant located 200 m from the hotel.

Pros:
1) Clean rooms.
2) You daily get 2 complementary water-bottles (500 ml each), and some coffee sachets.
3) Hot shower round the clock.

Cons:
1) Washroom is very small (like most of the hotels in Singapore).
2) No Restaurant/Food facility in the hotel, but that's OK with the price offered and nearby you get good Breakfast-Lunch-Dinner.
3) There are a couple of Karaoke lounges around(and in front) of the hotel which are open till late at night(On weekends until 2:00 am), this might be a little too noisy for some of us to sleep.
4) Behind the hotel (especially around Karaoke lounges) you might encounter sex workers during weekend nights, so take care if you are with your family.

Room Tip: 1) Rooms towards the road side can be a little noisier due to Karaoke's around. 2) If required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Prince_Parasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had a good experience, the hotel has a very nice and clean atmosphere; very near to the mustafa centre and Little India.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snehasish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Nice, friendly staff, good location near the farrer park station. small but very clean and good for short trips.

Room Tip: book on internet, its cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in May en route to Bali. It's a very long way from the airport but very close to Farrer Park MRT station and very easy to find. The hotel lobby was bright and new and the staff were friendly. Don't be fooled. The room was tatty, the shower was filthy and the air-con didn't work properly. The bed was ok and the sheets were clean but all in all not a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days with my wife. Walkable distance of 100 to 150 mt from MRT. Rooms are small but neat and clean. Staff is also co-operative. Mustafa centre is on 300 mt where nearby u can find numerous indian hotels for veg and nog veg (Average cost per person is 8 to 10 dollar per meal). If u just coming for sleeping in the night then this is great value. Free internet is provided buy only in hotel lobby.
Only problem is to reach Mustafa centre which is on 300 mt it takes 12 to 15 min, bcos u have to do lots of crossing as jaywalk is not allowed in Singapore and it is punishable offence.
Nearby area to the hotels are also very good and safe. U can come at any time in night.
I would recommend The Claremont hotel which is opp to Mustafa centre and MRT is on same distance. But it saves ur walking time for Indian food. I did not book that hotel bcos reviews were not good.
U can definately go for Asphodel Inn if ur r budget traveller and u just want to come in to the hotel for sleeping.
Regards........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhijit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#217 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Classique Hotel
#223 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#109 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penta Hotel
#222 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#192 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#194 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asphodel Inn Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asphodel Inn Singapore

Property: Asphodel Inn Singapore
Address: 380 Race Course Road, Singapore 218702, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asphodel Inn Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Asphodel Inn Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asphodel Inn Singapore Hotel Singapore
Asphodel Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing