We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Classical French”
Review of Toots Brasserie

Toots Brasserie
Ranked #3,413 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampong Glam
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Classical French”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We chose this place on the back of the chef's reputation as we loved the food at his previous restaurant, and were pleased to find that he was here at this newly opened restaurant not far from our hotel (Pan Pacific Beach Road). When we called to reserve, we asked for a baby chair too. When we arrived, the waiter seated us and immediately told us that the chef could prepare something for our 2yo, if we would like it. That was so welcome, as we were a bit worried about whether our 2yo would eat much of the food we ordered. And so we asked for pasta with tomato sauce. We tried it ourselves and it was actually freshly made and very delicious! Our own food was superb – foie gras melted in the mouth, duck was very tender, fish was delicate and fresh. Perhaps as there weren't many patrons yet, the waiter, chefs and proprietors came out to talk to us and were very friendly and helpful. The waiter again offered for the chef to prepare small desserts for our little one, but we declined as he would not eat much. Imagine our surprise when they brought out 3 little desserts; one for each of us and the little one’s was simple but specially prepared one. We were so touched with their thoughtfulness. Together with the high quality of food here, this is definitely one restaurant we recommend! When we got the bill, we were pleasantly surprised that they did not even charge us for the little one’s pasta, which we were prepared to pay for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jess_free80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Probably the best value for money French restaurant in Singapore”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Chef Jason has mastered the art to prepare authentic French hearthy meals and the seamless service truly make you feel at home (I mean France of course)... You should definitely check this out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GP_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great food and service”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

nice quiet atmosphere food good standard
excellent wait staff
chef amenable to changes to dishes
air conditioned and nice music

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANIS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wedding Dinner”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

After a long search for a wedding venue with a special dinner menu we have decided for this restaurant. The service has been excellent from the planning to the dinner itself. Our 5 course menu had been customized to our needs and every single dish served exceeded the expectations of our guests. As a frequent traveller and a guest to fancy kitchens over the world I highly recommend this small hidden place for its great service, very tasty food and exceptional value for money.

Helpful?
Thank kobyashiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Great Bistro Discovery”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a remarkable discovery. Good value French style bistro food with a funky wine list as well. Staff are great especially the owner. I went back 3 times for lunch, dinner and had breakfast every day - part of the hotel room costs! This is genuine French food, bread to kill for, small things perfect like the butter. Here you will get all those classic French dishes that grandmother's cook. The chef look about 18 years old, but he can cook up a treat. A real find and will be raided by me on the next trip! A no brainer!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mister8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toots Brasserie also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Toots Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing