We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“New & Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #94 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New & Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dorsett over the weekend. Select Dorsett as their location is right above the Outram Park MRT station with direct access to Changi Airport via the MRT (East West line). Walking distance to Chinatown, area surrounding the hotel has quite a few of good restaurants. The hotel itself is pretty new and really love their interior design. Room is on a small size but perfectly equipped with all the necessary amenities. Free internet with a very good speed, really liked their rain shower and bathroom design. Despite arriving at the hotel at 11 AM, they allowed us checked into the room. Rates are quite attractive as well. The only minor thing is a bit hard to get a taxi early in the morning to go to the Airport, but luckily their staff are always willing to help.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank depechemode101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear depechemode101,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    324
    101
    20
    17
See reviews for
108
206
62
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We got free upgrade to Loft room when check in. Location is very good. 2 minutes walk to Outram Park MRT. Hotel is brand new. Good design but the functional aspect of the room is not very good. The bed is on the second floor, which I find is not very practical. The second floor only fits the beds and one side table. Very cramp. It is quite dangerous as well if one needs to go to toilet in the midnight with the lights off, you might fall down from the stairs as the stairs is too close to the bed. No electrical plug in the toilet which we can't use the hairdryer in the toilet. The room has two TVs. Second floor only has one electrical plug which is not enough. One on the second floor and one in the ground floor but only one TV controller. The hotel has a swimming pool, decent size and a gym as well. It also has one local cuisine restaurant which we don't have the chance to try. Services wise is good. Housekeeping staff and check in/out staff are friendly and polite. We would stay in this hotel again if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxuryhotelfansclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Luxuryhotelfansclub,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the room design and amenities. We truly appreciate your patience with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We hope we can be given an opportunity to welcome you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here from Mar 12th to 21st. Conveniently located above Outram MRT station. Rooms are of average size. Had a small issue with the AC cooling, got it solved promptly within a day. The management needs to put efforts to make the breakfast more interesting by including more fruits
and salads. For a vegetarian, has a limited options to choose from. 5 mins walking distance to Chinatown makes it more worthy to stay.
Lots of hawker centers nearby to choose from. All in all a good location and a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Baindur,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the convenience of our prime location.

On the other hand, please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the breakfast. We have raised your comments to the attention of the Management and our F&B operator at Pappasan.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This reviewer agrees with all the other positive reviews for the Dorsett Singapore. Location, hotel build quality and cleanliness, helpful staff, good facilities, etc. My room was a standard Dorsett Room on the 10th floor. This had the infamous bathroom suite with swinging door. Note that the integrated sliding bathroom door has a pop-out catch above the lock for extracting the door from the wall recess. Bottles of water in the room (tea/coffee making) are replaced daily. I stayed for 4 nights for local business and found the direct access from Changi to Outram Park MRT station next door to the hotel a selling point. Outram Park is the junction of the East West line & North East line with Chinatown and the HarbourFront (for Sentosa monorail) only 1 stop away. The hotel brochure states that they sell MRT Ez-link cards. Breakfast in the restaurant includes a good variety of food for different tastes & nationalities.
The staff were happy to extend my late checkout from midday to 6pm for a reasonable cost due to a late night flight. Metered taxi fare to/from Changi is about S$30 but some do not take Visa credit cards so some cash is handy.

Room Tip: A higher floor room can give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTrav44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Worldtrav44,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over at this place for a night. Check in was relatively quick. Staff was friendly. Was informed by check in staff that room is upgraded to a bigger room for free. The room is new and clean. However the bathroom was really really tiny! The room area itself is quite spacious. Very convenient as it is right next to an MRT station. Getting taxi in the morning is relatively easy. Will consider going back again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwlyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jwlyy,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the first time i've stayed anywhere other than MBS in Singapore, I was very apprehensive. But The Dorsett is great.
I am in my room right now writing this review. Its a fantastic location, next to the Outram Park MRT, makes it easy to navigate the city. It is on the same line that takes you to the airport, super convenient.
The room I have is a cute loft style room where the living space (small ish) with couch, TV (also upstairs over bed), desk to work from and bathroom is downstairs and the bed is upstairs. I really like it. I might even say I love it!
China Complex is a few minutes walk down the street, so local foods are easy to access.
Staff are really friendly. In Particular Michelle (one of the taller Singaporeans i've met) went out of her way to help me. I was so impressed that I booked The Dorsett in KL on the next leg of my trip, hopefully I get the same great experience there.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in SG, It is not MBS but it is a fraction of the price and offers a different aspect of Singapore.
Thoroughly impressed!

Management: If you are reading this, please give Michelle a pay rise, i would stay here again because of the service she provided me alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robbieh836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear robbieh836,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

The management has duly noted on your appreciation. Your special mention of our service quality has been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times. To top it all, our ongoing Recognition Programme will be beneficial to our employees in either monetary and/or non-monetary ways.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

stayed here over the weekend, clean and new hotel, with friendly staff. nice restaurants around the area as well, to suit all budgets. great location and very convenient via public transport. will def consider staying again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coordinatedpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear coordinatedpink,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#86 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Furama City Centre
#58 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#100 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Majestic Hotel
#74 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#49 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#79 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing