We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly impressed!”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #87 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Thoroughly impressed!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the first time i've stayed anywhere other than MBS in Singapore, I was very apprehensive. But The Dorsett is great.
I am in my room right now writing this review. Its a fantastic location, next to the Outram Park MRT, makes it easy to navigate the city. It is on the same line that takes you to the airport, super convenient.
The room I have is a cute loft style room where the living space (small ish) with couch, TV (also upstairs over bed), desk to work from and bathroom is downstairs and the bed is upstairs. I really like it. I might even say I love it!
China Complex is a few minutes walk down the street, so local foods are easy to access.
Staff are really friendly. In Particular Michelle (one of the taller Singaporeans i've met) went out of her way to help me. I was so impressed that I booked The Dorsett in KL on the next leg of my trip, hopefully I get the same great experience there.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in SG, It is not MBS but it is a fraction of the price and offers a different aspect of Singapore.
Thoroughly impressed!

Management: If you are reading this, please give Michelle a pay rise, i would stay here again because of the service she provided me alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robbieh836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear robbieh836,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

The management has duly noted on your appreciation. Your special mention of our service quality has been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times. To top it all, our ongoing Recognition Programme will be beneficial to our employees in either monetary and/or non-monetary ways.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    439
    141
    33
    21
See reviews for
157
274
93
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

stayed here over the weekend, clean and new hotel, with friendly staff. nice restaurants around the area as well, to suit all budgets. great location and very convenient via public transport. will def consider staying again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coordinatedpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear coordinatedpink,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Dorsett for 4 nights in July , good location, next door to the Outram ParkMRT station and buses at the front door.ten minute walk to china town, though loads of restaurants and bars close by serving all varieties of food. I stayed in a standard twin room with a business colleague, which was indeed STANDARD. Very small room, if staying again would upgrade to a deluxe or better, though nothing else was available when I booked. Overall staff were very good, polite and helpful. Ate in the restaurant, food was good as we're the cocktails. Staff friendly and efficient, waitress was from the Ukraine and was very knowledgable .
Go to china town seafood restaurant which is 50 metres from the Chinatown MTR station Pagoda st exit great chilli and black pepper crab and very cold tiger beer.
Would stay again at the Dorsett for the location and staff.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank toptraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear toptraveller14,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Do allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the room size. To avoid disappointment, please do book early with us to secure your preferred room.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

A swish hotel that is convenient to the mrt, bus routes and Chinatown (a couple of blocks walk) but not in amongs the noise and craziness of it all. The foyer has a bit of Singaporean upmarket tackiness in the bling but otherwise the hotel is clean and elegantly styled. The pool is great and rarely busy. The standard rooms are pretty small (read: tiny) but I do like the integrated bathroom - fun and embarrassing at the same time. It is a very comfortable hotel (not to mention the beds) and the hotel staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supertooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear supertooth,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June 2014. The location was good with easy access to the MRT so it was perfect for touring. There isn't a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, you'll have to walk a few minutes to find those.
Room was good. Beds were incredibly comfortable, A/C was super cold. The only issue was the bathroom, specifically the door. You could barely get into the shower with the bathroom door closed. And there's part of the bathroom that's just open to the room, no way of closing it. That'd be fine for a couple but I was traveling with another friend and it was a bit awkward, especially for a 2-twin-bed room.
For the price and location it was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear AdamFo,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect for our needs. Our main purpose was to visit Universal Studios, but staying on Sentosa was too expensive. This was a great option and the taxi was only $10 to Universal Studios.

The area nearby had some cool dinner and breakfast options so I would suggest having a walk around.

The hotel was clean, had very high ceilings, and had a great shower (rain shower or normal faucet). The whole place has a very new feel to it.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Shanst,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore
#78 of 312 in Singapore
1,693 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,528 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 312 in Singapore
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel Alexandra
#66 of 312 in Singapore
797 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing