We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An opinion from non-business traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #81 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An opinion from non-business traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Located just next to MRT Outram Park NE3 line H exit, I found this hotel is very convenient. Many bus stops around, including those which heading to Orchard Rd. and Marina Bay. I was lucky to be upgraded to the Loft Room, and I totally love the private space on the loft -- which is the bed -- while I can watch the TV or the people walking from afar. Too bad that there is not much movie/drama channels on the TV.
And I was a bit bothered that they don't provide water spray on the toilet. I know it's not in their culture, but it would be great if any kind of guest does not have to be bothered by this custom. Also, I had difficulty turning on/off the hot water in shower room. It's either still hot, or getting hotter. The door knob (in the shower room) as well, was like a really short thick metal and it was hard to pull the heavy glass door from the inside with a wet hand. Fortunately I had my nail, so I can stuck it to the little space between the door and the knob to pull it.
Apart from that, I did enjoy my stay in this hotel. The calming scent at the entrance always give a 'welcome home' feeling. But if you're a midnight snack eaters, be sure to buy it in advance. The nearest convenient store is small and does not have many choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear deadesu,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Also, please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the amenities. We truly appreciate your patience with us and we have brought this to the attention of the department concerned for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    419
    131
    30
    20
See reviews for
146
260
86
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a short stopover trip in Singapore and got a great rate for the weekend. The hotel still has that "new" feeling and - the rooms was comfortably furnished with neutral decor and a very comfortable bed with good quality pillows and linens. As others have mentioned the rooms are on the small side and the bathroom design may not suit everyone (the wardrobe door basically slides to cover the open wall between the bathroom sink and the bedroom but still leaves a sizeable gap so does not offer privacy or sound/smell proofing when using the toilet). But neither of these things bothered me as I was traveling solo and didn't have much luggage with me. The staff i came across were consistently polite and helpful. The roof top pool on level 3 was a nice size/design and I enjoyed a quiet early morning dip as there were no other guests in the pool area at the time. The hotel location is very convenient if you are using the SMRT to get around Singapore as it is right next to Outram Park station (same line as Changi Airport) and is also within easy walking distance to Chinatown and local food options (including the Smith Street and Maxwell Hawker centres). I did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. All in all I thought this hotel was a very good choice considering the other options available in the same price range in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear PJ_SYD,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

PLEASE Trip Advisor can we have a chance to do X+ or Y- or .5

This is (financially) part of an Apartment Block, the units/flats are on the other side of the drive in. Looks impressive as you arrive, reasonably spacious, chandeliers, grand piano playing by itself in the corner.
The rooms are designed to make max space of min space - they are not rooms more bed containers. Very smart, bright and modern but 1 hanging rack, no storage drawers at all. Sliding doors - option look at your clothes or look at the bathroom sink. Intrigued that some people think it is a tourist hotel - do NOT come with more than one small suitcase, or a business hotel - all my papers for a week are all over the bed..
The plusses
Has a small pool and gym.
Location - within 3 mins of MRT Outram Park, 10 Mins Max of MRT Chinatown and Chinatown itself. Certainly more "Oriental atmosphere" that more central Singapore. Within 5 mins of the Hotel a range of "Smart" / "Trendy" more European influenced Bars and Restaurants - see the review for The Reading Room.... all get 10% Discount with a Hotel Room Card and China Town a short walk. Area at the back of the Hotel very smart some great old buildings
Have enjoyed my Sunday OUT, but a week in the small room ????
The Coffee shop.... serves some very well priced and good quality fresh asian food (at the back of the menu) not sure about the more pricey food at the front - would probably go somewhere else

Room Tip: Find out if the rooms are of different sizes (and price) if you want space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerlea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear summerlea45,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us and the positive ratings. We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed the facilities and convenience of our location.

Our Dorsett Delights Programme allows hotel guests to enjoy discounts at participating outlets in the vicinity. We are glad you were able to enjoy this value-added service during your stay with us.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore again.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at the Dorsett for 3 nights in the first week of June. The Hotel is around 40 mins drive from Changi Airport

Check in was smooth and i was shown to my room in less than 15 minutes. They gave me my room preference for the 10th floor. Gives you a pretty good view of the city, if you are into that sort of thing. The rooms are small but i guess most hotel rooms in Singapore are on the smaller size when compared to other Asian countries.If two people were rooming together then this would be definitely be cramped.The rooms are well appointed and clean. The bathroom is stocked with toiletries and linens feel like new. The bed and pillows are an absolute joy to sleep in. The Hotel is well located and is walking distance from China Town. Just 2 mins from the Hotel is the MRT so in that way the Hotel is centrally located and you easily have many travel options

If there was one thing that really disappointed it was their breakfast buffet. They dont refill their food counters fast enough.The staff generally had a very disinterested look and their food was just about average. After paying almost 250 SGD for a night you would definitely expect a little more!
Other than this, the I did have a very comfortable stay. The front office was very supportive and their service was exceptional.

Overall i would recommend the Hotel.Is it VFM? Its almost there. Just a few minor tweaks here and there and i would have given it a 5

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms usually have a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ganesh N,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

On the other hand, please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the breakfast. We have raised your comments to the attention of the Management and our F&B operator at Pappasan.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on 9 &10 may 2014 for business & leisure. Nice pool & clean room. Location are excellent to everywhere & best of all, within walking distance to my office & great foods @chinatown & nearby dining. Will definately stay again whenever i attend my monthly meetings in singapore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay Meng O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Fay Meng O,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff are so friendly. Location is perfect its just by the outram mrt. Short walk to Chinatown. Rooms are very small. Cleaning isnt that great by housekeeping but in general the lobby and hotel is clean. Food and resturant is good but mostly for Asian.
If you are going there for business then this is tour hotel. If yiu are going Singapore for fun and you have limited budget where you cant afford 5 stars, then again this is your hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jasem S,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

We apologise for the disappointment you felt over the housekeeping matters and we truly appreciate your patience with us. Please rest assured that we have taken steps necessary to improve our service.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This si second time I have stayed at the Dorsett. It is a new hotel and very clean and modern. The staff are great and really friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are functional, although a little small, getting into shower room was tight in the small space as opening door was difficult.
The hotel is ideally placed to visit China Town and there is a tube station right by hotel.
The food could do with some improvement as choice was quite limited - particularly at breakfast. Despite that I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wewanttoliveinIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear wewanttoliveinIbiza,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and our locality.

In addition, we have shared your feedback on the variety in breakfast to the Management and our F&B operator at Pappasan.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#89 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Amara Singapore Hotel
#77 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Naumi Liora
#100 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing