We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #88 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location - This hotel is located above the Outram Park MRT stop. If you are coming from the airport by MRT, then when you get off the train, follow the signs for the North East Purple Line via underpass. Only then will you get to exit H, which will lead you up onto the street, then turn left and walk along towards the hotel. If you follow the "way out" signs once you get off the MRT then you'll need to go to exit A, turn left and walk along till you see the Dorsett opposite, and cross the street over to the Hotel.

Service - Most of the staff were friendly enough. Our key cards stopped working on the third night but the staff were quick enough to sort it out. Our do not disturb and housekeeping light was not working either but they sent someone to fix it soon enough. (Tip - red light = do not disturb and green light = please clean room)

Room- we stayed in a twin room on the 3rd floor facing the inside, so it was quiet. (There are 10 floors) Our friends stayed in a King room facing the main road on the 3rd floor so it was quite noisy. Rooms have all the basic amenities inc. toothbrush and toothpaste, hair dryer. There's also complimentary bottled water each day. Rooms were clean and I liked the rain shower head too.

Breakfast - served in the restaurant in the hotel lobby. There is not much choice but enough to satisfy most people's taste. (Small salad & fruit bar, cereal, bread, dim sum, sausage, baked beans, friend noodles, made to order eggs and waffles, tea, coffee & juice) Come after 9am if you're not in a rush, it is less busy then.

Overall, good comfortable stay in a convenient location with Chinatown next door and lots of little restaurants and bars a few streets up. Marina Bay and Harbourfront only a few stops away.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing inwards and not next to the main road as it can be noisy. A/C can be noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkchicken88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear pinkchicken88

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind posting and rating on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed the facilities, convenience of our location, as well as the comfort of rooms and hospitality in place.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore on your next trip to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    449
    143
    33
    21
See reviews for
161
279
96
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Not cheap, but very nice. Located close to Outram Park - easy MRT acess from the airport.

Very friendly and professional check-in. Got an upgrade out of the blue. Fabolous room.
Quick, free WiFi, clean room, very good bed. Very quiet.

Gym is small and not well equipped, pool is nice. Roof garden has a nice view, but to call it a garden is a joke.

Located close to Tiong Bahru and Chinatown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear gkfld

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a recent trip to Singapore in a twin share room on the sixth floor. The room was very clean & comfortable and well appointed although the room was small. Very quiet at night with comfotable beds so sleep quality was good. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly with quick & efficient service at all times. The hotel is located approx 5mins walk from a convenience store, 10mins walk from chinatown and 15mins walk from major shopping centre. The MRT station is next door which is a cheap and convenient way to travel around the city. The pool is nice and wasnt crowded. We ate at the restaurant on site several times - the meals were fresh and tasty with a good variety of asian and western food and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The coffee shop in the lobby serves great coffee and cake. Overall a fantastic stay at the dorsett and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Melz72

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Dorsett has a great location. China town is 10mins walk away and the shopping area with the normal shops about a 15 mins walk away. The MRT (the underground rail) station is right next door! You can take this to vivocity (one stop away) to get the express train link to Santosa Island where Universal Studios is. Vivocity is great for shopping too. Clarke quay is a couple of stops away. Great for food and drinks at night.

Staff were great and check in was fast and efficient. The rooms were clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. The only bad was the rooms are really small. The bathroom is tiny! Theres also a strange design feature in that the bathroom wall moves across so you can see out into the bedroom and the person in the bedroom can move it to look straight into the bathroom!

There's a restaurant on site, but we didn't try it. We were staying on a room only basis, but there was kettle for tea and coffee.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingoaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Flyingoaktree

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights, service staff (esp. Concierge service) very customer friendly, room was nice and clean. Location is superb - just around the corner from Chinatown. Breakfast is worth the money. Water pressure is a bit low - but this is normal in Singapore..

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cyantology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear cyantology

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great hotel . i will stay for some time here ( company accomodation) there are some issues that i would like to tell you.

Laundry is late (sometimes next day)
On the breakfast im sure you can do better then that .very poor choice can be made
Staff front desk , always a pleasure to see them but sometimes when you request something like laudry bag or laundry pick up can take some time .(20 minutes to come to pick up laundry is a lot) not once.
Overall i like it but for the bathroom sliding wall. is either a dor of the dresser or bath wall you chose what you want to see ,the shower or your clothes .Not cool :( this apply for the small rooms .
Also noisy if people chat on the hall way.
Electrical circuit box in the dresser is buzzing you can hear it in some rooms. i` ve changed one room because of this already.

Room Tip: Go for the big rooms .avoid breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DlMarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear DIMarius

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts of your stay with us. Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the laundry services, noise disturbance, and food & beverage experience.

We truly appreciate your patience with us and thank you for your feedback which has since been reviewed with improvements made on areas highlighted.

On the same note, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the convenience of our location, as well as the cleanliness of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This beautiful and very clean hotel is so conveniently located in the chinatown area and is next door to subway station. You have plenty of choices of delicious and cheap restaurants at walking distance. When we arrived at 1hAM due to late flight from Bali , the hotel was fully booked with no more double bed room. The hotel staff managed to upgrade us to a more luxurious room with a king bed . By the way, they have the most honest hotel staff on earth! After we checked-out, on the way to our home in Canada, the hotel manager Elvis Ang sent us an email to notify us that the room attendant has found a $100USD bill we forgot in the safe box when we left and believe it or not, they managed to send the cash money back to our home in Canada. That is a beautiful experience ! So stop comparing when you arrive in Singapore! Book this hotel! You will not regret !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear hhkh

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality, especially that by our Duty Manager, Elvis, have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#54 of 315 in Singapore
1,546 reviews
Amara Singapore
#79 of 315 in Singapore
1,744 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 315 in Singapore
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#111 of 315 in Singapore
860 reviews
Park Hotel Alexandra
#67 of 315 in Singapore
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing