We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #90 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Not cheap, but very nice. Located close to Outram Park - easy MRT acess from the airport.

Very friendly and professional check-in. Got an upgrade out of the blue. Fabolous room.
Quick, free WiFi, clean room, very good bed. Very quiet.

Gym is small and not well equipped, pool is nice. Roof garden has a nice view, but to call it a garden is a joke.

Located close to Tiong Bahru and Chinatown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear gkfld

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 996 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a recent trip to Singapore in a twin share room on the sixth floor. The room was very clean & comfortable and well appointed although the room was small. Very quiet at night with comfotable beds so sleep quality was good. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly with quick & efficient service at all times. The hotel is located approx 5mins walk from a convenience store, 10mins walk from chinatown and 15mins walk from major shopping centre. The MRT station is next door which is a cheap and convenient way to travel around the city. The pool is nice and wasnt crowded. We ate at the restaurant on site several times - the meals were fresh and tasty with a good variety of asian and western food and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The coffee shop in the lobby serves great coffee and cake. Overall a fantastic stay at the dorsett and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Melz72

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Dorsett has a great location. China town is 10mins walk away and the shopping area with the normal shops about a 15 mins walk away. The MRT (the underground rail) station is right next door! You can take this to vivocity (one stop away) to get the express train link to Santosa Island where Universal Studios is. Vivocity is great for shopping too. Clarke quay is a couple of stops away. Great for food and drinks at night.

Staff were great and check in was fast and efficient. The rooms were clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. The only bad was the rooms are really small. The bathroom is tiny! Theres also a strange design feature in that the bathroom wall moves across so you can see out into the bedroom and the person in the bedroom can move it to look straight into the bathroom!

There's a restaurant on site, but we didn't try it. We were staying on a room only basis, but there was kettle for tea and coffee.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Flyingoaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Flyingoaktree

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights, service staff (esp. Concierge service) very customer friendly, room was nice and clean. Location is superb - just around the corner from Chinatown. Breakfast is worth the money. Water pressure is a bit low - but this is normal in Singapore..

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank cyantology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear cyantology

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great hotel . i will stay for some time here ( company accomodation) there are some issues that i would like to tell you.

Laundry is late (sometimes next day)
On the breakfast im sure you can do better then that .very poor choice can be made
Staff front desk , always a pleasure to see them but sometimes when you request something like laudry bag or laundry pick up can take some time .(20 minutes to come to pick up laundry is a lot) not once.
Overall i like it but for the bathroom sliding wall. is either a dor of the dresser or bath wall you chose what you want to see ,the shower or your clothes .Not cool :( this apply for the small rooms .
Also noisy if people chat on the hall way.
Electrical circuit box in the dresser is buzzing you can hear it in some rooms. i` ve changed one room because of this already.

Room Tip: Go for the big rooms .avoid breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DlMarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear DIMarius

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts of your stay with us. Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the laundry services, noise disturbance, and food & beverage experience.

We truly appreciate your patience with us and thank you for your feedback which has since been reviewed with improvements made on areas highlighted.

On the same note, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the convenience of our location, as well as the cleanliness of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This beautiful and very clean hotel is so conveniently located in the chinatown area and is next door to subway station. You have plenty of choices of delicious and cheap restaurants at walking distance. When we arrived at 1hAM due to late flight from Bali , the hotel was fully booked with no more double bed room. The hotel staff managed to upgrade us to a more luxurious room with a king bed . By the way, they have the most honest hotel staff on earth! After we checked-out, on the way to our home in Canada, the hotel manager Elvis Ang sent us an email to notify us that the room attendant has found a $100USD bill we forgot in the safe box when we left and believe it or not, they managed to send the cash money back to our home in Canada. That is a beautiful experience ! So stop comparing when you arrive in Singapore! Book this hotel! You will not regret !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear hhkh

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality, especially that by our Duty Manager, Elvis, have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel has got to be one of the best I have stayed in, from the Staff to the room. You are greeted by smily faces every time you pass by Reception and they are so helpful and can't do enough for you. The room, maybe on the small-ish side if you are being picky, is spotlessly clean and well appointed. It has everything you need. The beds are also really nice and comfortable.
During our 5 night stay it was my partner's birthday, and Elvis (The Manager on duty) organised a lovely cake and wine and made his day every special. They even asked if I wanted "Happy Birthday" sung to him....that's what I call service. It was a thoroughly wonderful stay, and when we are next in Singapore there is absolutely no doubt as to where we will be staying. The hotel is right on top of an MRT station that is well served for the whole city....don't worry, you can't hear the trains :)
Thank you to Elvis and his Staff for the perfect stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Charlotte1512

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality, especially that by our Duty Manager, Elvis, have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#66 of 317 in Singapore
1,614 reviews
Amara Singapore
#69 of 317 in Singapore
2,037 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 317 in Singapore
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 317 in Singapore
3,893 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#121 of 317 in Singapore
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $132 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing