We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem :)”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #89 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Singapore and when we booked via Booking.com the hotel wasn't finished , so it was with some trepidation that me and Mrs B rocked up to the lobby .
Should we have been worried ... Not at all . This is a little gem with great links to the local hot spots via the MRT . We were there for the F1 weekend and it was an ideal location .
The staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel clean . There were negatives hence the rating of 4 but they are not worth moaning about . This hotel is definitely worth a punt if your budget cannot stretch to the likes of the Marina Bay .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear John B

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that both you and Mrs B had a delightful experience in our hotel.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 972 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
3617
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Right, straight off the bat. These rooms are not very big. I haven't stubbed my toe on a bed corner yet but there's 3 more days to go. Sorry to start with the negative but on the positive side, that's it.
I've been staying around the bay district since I started coming but am now sold on the lower cost option of the Dorsett. I love Chinatown and its eateries and cheap (reputable mostly) massage. And one mrt stop from my work at harbourfront is a plus.
Pool must be 33 yards and great for laps. Gym is functional. Breakfast as good as the expensive hotels.
Seriously great value

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Stewart T

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that your overall experience has been delightful.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not many people know about this new Dorsett. It's new and located close to Chinatown. Difficult for taxi drivers to figure out how to get to hotel lobby. I like it as its modern and clean. Best of all, its next to a MRT so getting around Singapore is fast and easy. I waited for 20 minutes for a taxi but to no avail and not wanting to be late, I took the MRT. Arrived 5 minutes later than my scheduled meeting but could have been much more delayed had I insisted on a taxi. Overall, it's a good business hotel.

CG

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear C G

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that your overall experience has been delightful.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

good location easy to get from airport and right over from outram smrt station , rooms clean nice and comfortable . also chinatown is a short walk for some great nightime food at good price,s. the hotel will book a taxi if you need one early in the morning for you stops standing in the road trying to flag one down

Room Tip: rooms on 10th floor are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Tamsbar

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that your overall experience has been delightful.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is located near Chinatown. The room is clean but a bit too small. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance. The Outram Park MRT station is just a few steps away from the hotel making it very convenient to go around Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinxpepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Pinxpepot

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that your overall experience has been delightful.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After staying at several different hotels in Singapore over the years booked the Dorsett on recommendation of local Singaporean.
It was well worth it - very good value for the money and the location was great - right on Outram SMRT station so very easy to get around to different parts of Singapore.
The hotel is located on the edge of Chinatown so eating in the local food court/s was very easy and the food there is fantastic and cheap.
Well worth looking at Dorsett for your next stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear PeterS6

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that your overall experience has been delightful.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although not many people seem to know where this hotel is I have to say it is an excellent choice. It is a couple of minutes to China town, opposite Outram Park MRT and brand new. I stumbled upon it whilst browsing hotels on booking.com. You are literally 10 mins from all the popular hang outs on the MRT. Clarke Quay is just 2 stops down which is a nice place full of bars and restaurants, always busy. Also 2 stops away is Raffles Place where a lot of the business is. As Singapore is so small this hotel is very central and allows quick access to business or pleasure. I was upgraded to a larger room free of charge which helped greases the wheels on this review too I guess. Not sure how small the normal rooms are but mine was plenty big enough to act as a short term base. The restaurant next door was great too but at 15 dollars a pint of beer you have to take advantage of the 3 for 2 specials on most alcohol and even then it stings.

Room Tip: Was quickly upgraded when I complained that I ordered a double and got a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulyAid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear JulyAid

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us and we are pleased to note that your overall experience has been delightful.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
1,594 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Amara Singapore
#69 of 319 in Singapore
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
M Hotel Singapore
#121 of 319 in Singapore
1,697 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $128 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing