We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait for the boat ride to open”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of River Safari

River Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.95*
and up
River Safari Experience in Singapore
Ranked #64 of 805 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: River Safari is Asia's first and only river-themed wildlife park inspired by the world's most iconic rivers. Witness some of the biggest, most endangered animals from these rivers, in lofty tanks and luscious walk-through exhibits! A must-see are giant pandas Kai Kai and Jia Jia in Southeast Asia's largest giant panda exhibit. Plus the world's largest freshwater aquarium themed after the Flooded Amazon Forest! The River is Calling...
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wait for the boat ride to open”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Went on a weekday to River Safari on a 2-in-1 park hopper. The general sense is being underwhelmed and over-charged for a park that generated so much interest and anticipation, mainly because only half the park is open. The highlights include the giant tanks, with manatees, gars, some pirahnas and some river fishes, and of course the panda enclosure. However, most of the trails are dotted with signboards and picture illustration (musuem like?) and exhibits such as arrowanas, turtles, angel fish fails to wow visitors. There are also no shows or special Lets wait for the full park to open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Windtalker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    668
    419
    123
    63
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exotic animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The animals in the River safari were all exotic animals and we were so lucky that those animals were still exist, despite some maybe endangered. We hope that Singapore zoo continue the conservation for those exotic and endangered animals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

As other advisors have mentioned the river attraction of the river safari is not yet available however this does not spoil the adventure!

20 minutes by taxi from marina bay sands and roughly 22SSD fare.

There is lots to see and experience even for people like us who are not really zoo or safari people but it definitely gave us inspiration for other attractions or maybe even a safari holiday at some point!

The highlight of the trip was seeing the giant panda, just amazing! Fabulous creatures, although to be fair all they really did was eat bamboo and the odd carrot, but so very well worth watching and waiting for people to move around so you can get an excellent view of them.

It's a crowded experience with lots of other tourists wanting pictures etc but just be patient and loiter. Others will leave and you will have your clear photo opportunity within a couple of minutes of standing around

Tip for other visitors... We did the experience in about 2.5 hours and got a park hopper, electing for the night safari later in the day. Go around 2pm if you just want to do the 2 safari parks. But if you want to do all 3, which can be done, arrive early morning when the zoo opens. Start with the zoo, head to the river safari and then night safari later in the evening.

Another tip - the food area around the river safari closes around 6:30 but don't panic... Head up to the night safari area where there are ore food outlets which are open later.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeAndMrsJonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fun & interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Despite the boat ride not being available, it was a fun and v enjoyable experience. Esp loved the Amazon flooded forest, so peaceful and happy just watching the aquatic animals. Next attraction i enjoyed was the 2 pandas. Super cute pandas and you can learn how the menus are prepared for the 2 pandas. Didnt complete the river safari as we arrived late, it closes at 6pm. Get the park hopper ticket - its value for money. Will visit again if i do visit Singapore on my next trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebug163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The River Themed Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The River Safari is a river themed zoo located in Singapore and is just next to the Singapore Zoo and the night safari. It comprises of mainly freshwater attraction and of course, the highlight which is the giant panda forest.

It was a pleasant outing for me. However, i didn't find the place fantastic. I felt that the giant panda forest was pretty similar to the Giant Panda Adventure which i saw in Hong Kong Ocean Park. The pandas were cute but if you are talking about value for money, you definedly have lots more to do and see in HK Ocean Park.

My comments ... just alright!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Safari also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing