We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars attraction.”
Review of River Safari

River Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.87*
and up
River Safari Experience in Singapore
More Info
$66.20*
and up
Full-Day Safari Experience in Singapore
More Info
$72.22*
and up
Singapore Super Saver: Night Safari and River Safari
Ranked #64 of 822 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Safari is Asia's first and only river-themed wildlife park inspired by the world's most iconic rivers. Witness some of the biggest, most endangered animals from these rivers, in lofty tanks and luscious walk-through exhibits! A must-see are giant pandas Kai Kai and Jia Jia in Southeast Asia's largest giant panda exhibit. Plus the world's largest freshwater aquarium themed after the Flooded Amazon Forest! The River is Calling...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Five stars attraction.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is really a great tour of all the great rivers of the world. There is 3 big aquarium throughout the tour in both airconditiong & outdoor. Of course, there's the red panda, giant panda & squirrel monkeys to add to the fun. The only set back is that the river ride is only open at the end of 2013.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thisisjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    713
    437
    127
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rivers of the Continents in Singapore”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is an educational place for children and also a great eye opener to all!

Accessibility: Have to go by taxi/cab as it is most convenient. Public transport with shuttle bus to Khatib MRT available at certain operating hours.

It is wheelchair friendly and pram-friendly. Pathways suitable for prams and it is not for bumpy surfaces.

Value of money: Currently, in this month May,2013, some sites are not available yet, not even the boat rides, so the cost is about $25. With a group of adults I have been with recently to this place, we took 3 hours to explore the sites comfortably. When all sites are opened, perhaps, 4-5hrs there would be the average. But if you only spend 1 hour breezing past the place without stopping by to admire the creatures or listen to the guides along the way, it might be a bit too expensive for a short trip.

Time: The morning period was cool and comfortable. With light rain, it posed no problems to the trip as most areas are sheltered and you will not hesitate to walk in the open even if it drizzles, provided you have an umbrella or a cap. This is because the open spaces takes you to the next zone which is back to a sheltered zone. So all is well-covered.

Cleanliness: The toilets are clean. That may be important for people concerned over the use of toilets. At certain places, I see vendor machines selling bottled drinks. I saw one 500ml of coke cost $3. So come prepared with some coins if you run out of drinks.

Big Aquarium - the flooded forest : There is a grand spectator stand for people to sit and watch the giant creatures (manatee) swim. You can also go up to the second level to watch them eat from the giant basket of vegetables. Second level has no seat. Just to watch from another angle.

Entire concept: Classification by rivers in different continent was very systematic. It's not putting all the fishes of the worlds together or monkeys together like the zoo. Thus, you get the experience what you can see in River Mekong, River Nile, Amazon etc. Very suitable for school trips!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still under construction”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This seems to be the newest addition to the parks around the zoo. We spent 1.5-2 hrs here. There were some nice aquariums -some quite large with Dugongs, and arowanas. The Panda enclosure was a nice escape from the heat. Many of the tanks were empty and the boat ride was not yet operational. It was rather disappointing as not everything was ready (and we were paying full price for entrance). I think it will be a good visit once it is actually finished.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ll1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildlife_Reserves_SG, Manager at River Safari, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. The Amazon River Quest boat ride and animal exhibits along this ride will not be available until later this year. This has been the case since our park's soft opening on 3 April 2013. In view of that, admission tickets are sold at a discounted price. Please rest assured that we did not charge full price for the tickets purchased. We are excited about the full unveiling of the park later this year and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go on a River Safari in a busy urban city!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The recently opened River Safari SIngapore (officially opened in April 2013) is a refreshing new attraction in SIngapore. Part of WIldlife Reserves Singapore, the River Safari is unlike any zoo you may encounter anywhere in the world.

Built into the natural surroundings of the secondary rainforest of the Seletar/Mandai area, the River Safari features flora and fauna in their natural habitats in the major rivers of the world such as the Amazon, the Ganges, the Mekong and the Yangtze. Of course, any man-made replicas can never truly capture the immense natural wonders of these great rivers but I would say that these small replicas featured in the River Safari is as good as it gets, short of actually visiting these natural wonders individually.

The flora and fauna among the exhibits in the River Safari include rare and highly endangered species such as the famous Giant Panda and the Red Panda. The number of freshwater fish species found in the River Safari is astounding. These include the giant Arapaima, Garfish, Giant Tigerfish, Paddlefish, Chinese Sturgeon and Giant Mekong Catfish.

And the best part of it all? The River Safari is easily accessible using public transport. Public buses and taxis will get you there from the city centre in less than an hour. And it is also nestled together with its more popularly known sister attractions such as the Singapore Zoological Gardens and the Night Safari. A "Park Hopper" pass will grant you access to all 3 parks plus the Jurong Bird Park and is a cost-effective means for tourists to visit all these attractions. Enquire at the Pass Office and the friendly staff there will advise you on the costs and other administrative details.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
“proud to be a singaporean more after i visited river safari”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I went to river safari on 17/5/2013 Friday and its not very crowded . I will come back again because not all of the wildlife are there yet. Those that are there are adapting very well and I am very please that all the staff are very caring , informative and interactive with visitors about the wildlife in their respective stations. Big thumbs up for them . The whole place is wheelchair and pram friendly . I hope river safari will make the boat ride an optional choice because I wont want to board the boat, I am happy with walking .I was studying in an international school for all my life and I am multilingual, I heard some visitors(from neighboring countries) said they are not very willing to try the boat ride due to some phobia from flood face in their countries and other personal reasons.Viewing from the view decks I actually can see some beautiful kingfisher and I feel that the boat ride open in year end is going to be an amazing one too ,please hold your excitement for a few months more ,if you really want to board the boat.
The most important thing to prepare for this trip is mineral water ,you really need at least 2 bottles to hydrate yourself.
I feel that you need to have some patience when viewing some wildlife .Not all are visible at a glance ,some are hiding in corners ,therefore time is needed to find and see them. The longest was 50 mins ,just to find the green anaconda .I actually had mix feeling when viewing the piranha, I actually quite disagree with breeding and protecting piranha , however in river safari I learn that not all piranha are human flesh eating, some are animal eating. The human eating on surround the human like you are in the middle of a tornado while the animal eating just look at you in a flock. You can move your hand in front of the fishes ,some actually follow your hand motion. Top 4 animals you must visit (1) Indian gharial (they are really enormous ).
(2)Giant Panda kaikai and jiajia I was told that kaikai (male) was more active then jiajia (female)by the staff there.Jiajia actually smile for the cameras before she had her lunch. Very cute Pandas. Giant panda area have air con in their area,very cooling and have more crowd than other areas.
(3)Manatee and(4) giant river otters .That is where I feel so proud to be a Singaporean ,you have to really see for yourselves ,if you think Conrad hotel Rangali Island Resort at Maldives is beautiful ,you will hope and want more that you can build a house in river safari and watch the manatee and giant river otters every single day . For food ,you must try is the cappuccino and bamboo rice set B from Mama Panda kitchen, I am not very impress with the panda bun but the cappuccino was really good. overall ,worth every penny even incomplete,a must go in Singapore!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yolo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Safari also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing