We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Symmetry

Symmetry
Ranked #379 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kampong Glam
-
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great place to hang out with friends. It's one of the most spacious cafe I have ever been. Be mindful to get a queue ticket. Nice cafe in Singapore always requires some waiting time. Went on a Saturday around 2+pm SGT and the waiting time was around 14-20min. Would recognize to take a walk around as there are also quite a number of attraction to see.

The interior design of the cafe is cool, mixture of everything. Details attention seeker would find it thrilling.

Food is quite nice, yet portion might be a bit small, and it's average cafe price. A plate of egg benedicts costs sgd22. Portion may not be as good as Lola's cafe.

If you go for atmosphere and nice food, do consider this place. If considering a sumptuous dinner, Cafe is not always the right place to. A 10 minutes walk from Bugis mrt station.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Icy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    38
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“worth a try - above average eggs benedict & truffle fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Love:
1. Truffle fries - one of the better renditions of truffle fries around (although Au Chocolat is still my favourite), love the shaved cheese
2. Eggs benedict - Symmetry's version comes with portbello mushrooms, although it could have been better if they had served it whole instead of mincing it
3. Location - doesn't hurt that it's in Bugis area, where you can walk over to Kandahar St (Rich & Good Cake Shop for swissrolls), Liang Seah St (Ah Chew Desserts for traditional chinese desserts)

Tip: Symmetry accepts reservations, do make one in advance, to avoid the queue!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank borderless_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic waffles ! But definitely not a place to chill at .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Was really taken by surprise that this place's so mad crowded. There were tables laid out in the open next to the shophouse unit , just a couple of metres from the main road to create extra capacity . My friend and I chose to wait for 10 mins or so for seats inside and gosh it was so crowded, noisy and kinda stuffy in there , everyone's chatting on the top of their voices. We waited for more than 30mins for our order and realized that they had missed out our order when the peeps who ordered after us were served . We were promptly served after our second reminder to them .The big breakfast's just like any other , have tasted better... But their waffles were amazing . If I would ever return again , it would probably be just for the waffles and definitely not for the ambience .

By the way, the waffles were on the house - for missing our order. Hospitality +1

Helpful?
Thank JSG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cool but bloody crowded :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Location - plenty of roadside parking and easy to get to via Bus or MRT.

premise - located along the main road and has plenty of outdoor seating which are somewhat sheltered by huge trees outside and makes it look totally rustic. the inside of the cafe is quite nice in design with odd tables and chairs which are a mish-mash of designs.

crowd - mainly couples and tonnes of friends. all there to enjoy a good Saturday tea / coffee session.

service - crowded place but the people all had a smile on their faces!!

food - the menu was sold out when we came and so we only had coffee and it was expensive in my books.

verdict - bring your friends and chat you lives away and enjoy the relaxed feel of the place and the 'cool' factor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gee_P_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just had our anniversary meal here. Two drinks (nonalcoholic) and two mains was just over 100 Singaporean. That said, food and drinks were excellent and the decor eclectic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symmetry also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Symmetry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing