We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home cooked vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keisuke Tonkotsu King

Keisuke Tonkotsu King
Ranked #565 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Home cooked vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't come here trying to impress any friends it's a down to earth basic truly good ramen stall. Minimal service maximum atmosphere.
Lots of bean sprouts and eggs you can eat for free. Soup base is great ramen can be more tender but hey everything works together really well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank confucius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have always loved my Ramen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have always loved my Ramen! I did some research on Ramen King competitions and made a trip here. The meal is great, tasty! Seating is a tad limited, I foresee an expansion or a second branch someday, perhaps? Will definitely return when I can.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When more Japanese than locals eat at a ramen place in Singapore, its probably good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Literally a stumbled upon place right beside the tanjong pagar MRT station. i tried the black spicy broth with the flavored egg, I was in noodle heaven. Forget about the cramped space and the 4-item menu. There are so many Japanese eating lunch here! Plus unlimited hardboiled egg and bean sprout sides, it simply is such great value!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manilagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly the King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Together with my ramen buddy I went back to Keisuke. We arrived around 8:30 p.m. and where super positively surprised that there was hardly any queue.

I ordered the ‘Black Spicy Tonkotsu King Ramen‘ that arrived just a minute after sitting down. The broth was thick and had a strong porky taste to it which was boosted by the black garlic spice and chicken oil. It was mildly spicy so the taste wasn’t covered up but for me it could have been a notch sharper. The Chashu which they cut in big thin slices was juicy and tender, just a bit too fatty on my piece. I ordered the noodles ‘hard’ and for many people those might be slightly too al dente but as you often get rather squashy noodles I loved their bite and texture.

They always serve the same high quality food here with fresh ingredients and just go the extra mile and that's why Keisuke is still my favorite ramen shop in Singapore.

For my full review and pictures please check out the article on my blog:
http://getmygrubon.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/keisuke-tonkotsu-king-orchid-hotel-singapore/

Get Your Grub On!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nik_getmygrubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keisuke Tonkotsu King also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Keisuke Tonkotsu King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing