We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Singapore Prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay
Ranked #84 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hostel was great! Although we originally thought we had booked a private room - we were pleasantly surprised with the dorms. When you find out that you are in a dorm of more than 8 people - you're usually worried that you'll never get any sleep!
This was not the case at all! My boyfriend and I shared a double-bed-capsule and had absolutely no problems catching some zs!
The staff was SO friendly and helped us whenever they could. Some people in our group do have food allergies and the front desk was kind enough to write everything in Cantonese for us to take with us to restaurants :)
The bathroom could be a tiny bit cleaner and it can get a little hot in the room if you shut your curtains. Other than that - great deal and location for Singapore!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello Estelle,

Thank you for your lovely review of us. We're glad that you adored our double bed bunks, we've added privacy blinds to make sure that guests do enjoy maximum privacy even in our dormitory rooms. Thank you on your kind comments on our service staff as well, it is comments like such that keeps us striving to provide excellent service. We would love to welcome you back to Singapore any time soon, but meanwhile have a blast at Bali.

Cheers x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Bunc hostel clarkquay was quite impressive for a hostel as the location is very convenient since it's close to the mrt station,clarkquay and also clarkquay mall.. The rooms were very clean and cozy the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and modern. Over all had a good experience and I would recommend people to stay here as it's very affordable and also very clean and new

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Bvesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hello Bvesh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Bunc@Radius Hostel. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, it was indeed our pleasure hosting you as well. We understand that you do visit Singapore often, we hope to see you soon again!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You will not find a more convenient and affordable hostel in Singapore. The staff are helpful and always smiling. The beds, bathrooms, and floors are clean and the breakfast is nice as you can quickly grab something and head out to explore all that is Singapore.

If you are on a tight budget and can't afford the outrageous hotels in Singapore then you will be very happy with the Bunc@Radius.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AestheticsInSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi A,
Thank you for your review .
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a double bed in one of the dorms which was on the fifth floor. The lift only goes to the fourth floor so we had to climb two sets of stairs with our massive packs. We then got to the room which was boiling because the AC only works at certain times of the day. Our bunk was the top which was a nightmare getting up and down and the room was tiny so hard to organise our stuff without a bed easily accessible. The actual space around the bed was big though and the bed was comfortable. I also liked the light in the bed area.
The bathrooms were constantly flooded and one of the toilets is the size of a coffin. You also need a key to get into the bathrooms which I think is pointless.
The breakfast was good that there was breakfast but it was white bread and cereal I ate when I was five.
The location is very good though, just by the river but with so many options in Singapore I won't be returning to Bunc.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Camilla,
Thank you for leaving us a review.
We apologize for the tiring climb up the flight of stairs but due to the building constraints and this being the original structure ,we have tried to seek permission from the building authorities but we weren't allowed change much of it thus the lift was left in it original structure of reaching only the 4th floor.

Our AC is turned on at 6pm till 1030am because we had installed a fresh air system that we have to run every afternoon ( when most of you guys will be out) . the Fresh air system actually takes in air from outside of the building , runs it through a coolant and pumped into every room. The cooled air will force the bad air which is also the warm air to rise and be taken away by our in room exhaust system. We need to do this daily to rid of any unpleasant smells and keep the air in the rooms fresh.

With regards to the constant flooding in the bathroom, its because during the construction when we laid the tiles, we didn't create an enough sloping gradient towards the drainage to enable the water to flow out, but we have arranged the contractor to redo the tiling for that bathroom floor. Mean while we do apologize for the inconveniences caused and we would like to assure you that we have instructed our cleaners to clean that particular bathroom more frequently to minimize the water gathering at the affected part of the floor.

We believe that improvement is an endless process thus we treat every review seriously as we try our very best to work on every feedback we get.

We hope that you would give us another chance to host you when you revisit singapore again.
Looking forward to your revisit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

this is what i call home away from home. it's so convenient, and comfortable and most of all, affordable for budget travelers. the wifi, and the cosy pillow and bed, are worth my trip in Singapore. Keep the good job! I'd love to come back and stay here again! ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RingkaiZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hello Zee,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We're thrilled by your title "bedroom away from home". We hope you enjoyed everything that Bunc@Radius Clarke Quay had to offer, the newly furnished breakfast area, the customized bunk beds and most importantly our convenient location. And we know we will see you again soon.

Thank you Zee. :)

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I would still advise those to stay here. It was a good hostel. Work was still being carried out during our stay so we did not see the final finish.

PROS
-clean sheets
-maximised storage space for each pod
-each pod has a safe deposit box
-very comfortable beds
-modern design
-air con very good
-curtains for each pod provided privacy
-very friendly staff and were helpful
-brilliant location (right in the centre)
-good bathroom facilities
-good competitive cost for washing and drying clothes

CONS
-no TVs in the pod which it stated on the website
-no chill-out lounge
-lack of selection for breakfast (we did pay about £30 a night each person)
-washing machines not working
-no games room
-bathroom was not cleaned regularly (one of the two showers did not expel enough water and the other had a slight blockage from hair, which was not removed for the remaining 3 days that we were there for)
-price quite expensive for a hostel but I guess it is Singapore

Overall as hostels go, this was a very good one and different.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi ARG,
Thank you for staying with us, we are in the mist of correcting and improving parts of the hostel and processes as we have had some issues with the previous operator.
Please be assured that we will bring over the original high standards of Bunc once we get everything rectified.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back to feel the improvements being made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at this hostel a few days because I did not want to pay so much for a hotel in Singapore. Hotel is very expensive here. This hostel was great located so close to the singapore river with the Boat quay restaurants and the Clark quay night club area. Also only a short walk to Chinatown. Only two minutes of walk from the mrt. Could it be better? But a hostel is always a hostel and it of course more comfortable to stay at a hotel than sharing a room with others. I liked this hostel and I could consider staying here again if i not choose to stay at a hotel next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Tonkan,
We are glad you liked our location but we are also really sorry that some parts of the hostel weren't quite ready during your stay.
We had some issues with the independent operator that we had initially franchised it to.
Please be assured that we have since taken it back to run it on our own.
Corrections and improvements will be made accordingly to the original Bunc standards.
We hope to have another chance to Host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#47 of 240 in Singapore
531 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,178 reviews
@ Little Red Dot
#81 of 240 in Singapore
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#73 of 317 in Singapore
10,405 reviews
Mitraa Inn
#39 of 240 in Singapore
305 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#66 of 317 in Singapore
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay

Address: 36 South Bridge Road Lai Nguang Building, Singapore 058670, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $26 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc@Radius Clarke Quay is a brand-new 70-bed, 5-storey hostel strategically located at 36 South Bridge Road, within the culturally rich Chinatown historical district in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bunc at Radius Hostel on Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc At Radius Hostel On Clarke Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing