We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy..”
Review of The Daulat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Daulat
Ranked #131 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The interiors are modern,tastefully done, the skylight is beautiful.English breakfast[could have included veg.salad or fruits for vegetarians]softdrink,fruitjuices,Every staff simply wonderful.Small swimming pool, everything you need within minutes of walk.Bicycles provided for moving around.Anandabhavan, komalas, komalavilas, gokul,saravanabhavan and any no.of veg,or non-veg,North Indian,Kerala cuisine.Mustafa mall, OG mall, Bugis, Queens rd,. street shops, bus stop Metro within 2-5 min walk..Staff ever ready to help,I suggest with all these plus points dont be too finicky about the songs[mostly hindi and tamil hits]from nextdoor pub that opens around 7p.m and closes at midnight.Am posting some photos at The Daulat hotel facebook, website.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Vidya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

A modern hotel with great service in a good location in Singapore. The rooms are extremely clean and very well-furnished. The staff are very friendly and helpful especially the kitchen personnel in the morning at breakfast (which isn't half-bad either). The only experience that taints my stay is making me wait for 45mins in the morning for my room when they confirmed receiving my request for an early check-in. However, even then the front desk was polite, apologetic and considerate so it's not enough to remove my positive feelings for the place.

Room Tip: couples please try the loft for quality time with your partner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuscansoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Daulat in late february and it was a very good stay,
Nice room, small/tiny but it got what you need and you are only there for sleeping, so we couldn't complain about that.
The service with complimentary water and soft drinks are excellent and well appreciated.
But there is a real bad thing and that is the nightclub "Chennai Angels", Be prepared for very loud music !!
The manager told us that the club is going to close within 2 months, so if you are going to stay at the Daulat after May 1st, there will be no problem, else you have to prepare with very good earplugs until 2.30 every night.
Some will find the neighbourhood dodgy, but we didn't find it that way.
It's Little India, after our opinion the most interesting area in Singapore, and it looks strange compared to normal western standards, but we didn't feel unsafe for a second despite we were walking through the darkest alleys and sometimes were the only white people within sight.
We will definately stay there again, if Chennai Angels has closed and we could get a good nights sleep without listening to the latest hits from Mumbay ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StigNordskovNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

我和朋友在網路預定了連續住四個晚上的陽台雙人房兩間(deluxe bacolny),check in時卻只給deluxe bacolny一間,及一間deluxe,兩間價差40新幣,因為朋友並不知道我幫他訂的是有陽台的房,我也沒去朋友房間看,所以一直到晚上十點我逛街回來後,朋友向我抱怨房間牆壁就連接著夜店舞廳,搖滾舞曲造成強烈的噪音,我才發現飯店給錯房間,我當天晚上立刻到櫃台要求處理,卻只得到今天全客滿,無法換房間,只說明天再看看訂房情況如何,然後說夜店營業到凌晨三點。隔天早上我再度向櫃台反應給錯房間,櫃台卻說他們沒有收到預約信,可是信用卡公司卻在我訂房完三天就全額扣款!經過態度強硬的要求後,終於得以換房。
這間飯店內裝不錯,也有游泳池,但是毛巾有咖啡色汙漬,而且兩天都拿到一樣的毛巾,床單上有長毛髮兩根,不會主動替換消耗品,甚至垃圾桶滿了沒倒,位於小印度區夜店正隔壁,每天都到凌晨三點,除了舞曲噪音,還有人聲大聲喧嘩。

This hotel is right next to the night club,pubs. It is very noisy every night until 3 am,
We booked 4 nights stay here in advanced on internet, every day we slept very little at night due to the loud noise, both music and the customers.
Furthermore, they gave us the wrong room type, which we booked two deluxe bacolny rooms, but they offered one right room,one deluxe only.
After complaining,they changed the wrong one to which we booked,however they did not make any compensation for the mistake, its cost is 40sgd different.
However,the front desk receptionist is polite.
Hot water is not enough. The floor is not clean, it has dust on it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thedaulat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

It was a great small boutique hotel for staycation and such an escapade in the buzz of the city...

I stayed in the loft room which was greatly thought of design..there were usb plug ins for charging...nespresso machine..hazard yellow labels of the staircase that gives a rough texture upon stepping...great when its nightime and you need to go to the toilet...half asleep stepping down the stairs but the rough texture was greaat to make u stay awake and not missed your steps..

It was a cosy room to just laze the day around..there was the aircon issue on the loft bed area where it was blowing hot air...took some time for the team to resolve but they send the housekeeping Faridah to look at it and it was back to normal...great effort on that!

Sara the frontdesk staff was friendly and helpful...great welcoming and it makes you feel smiley at her character...

Complimentary soft drinks and mineral water that you can grab at the pantry of the lobby was superbly chilled it was awesome that you did not need to buy them at convenience store...breakfast was minimal choices but it was still great at the price you paid that came along with the room prices..

I would loveee to be back here it was a greaat experience with all the great staff...despite living in sg...i felt like i was out of sg for abit...

Unexpected since my hobby was always havin staycations all around Sg...but The Daulat us worth mentioning for its service...great layout and architecture!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank NanaxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Located a 5 minute walk from the Little India station, The Daulat is a great hotel to stay in the Little India area. It is a 10 minute walk to the Mustafa Center, 5 minutes to the hawker center by the subway, and 15 minutes to Sim Lim Square and Bugis Street.

The rooms are clean, the bed is comfy, and the water pressure in the shower is good. Don't be surprised when water from the shower spills out into the bathroom--this has been accounted for with two additional drains outside the shower. So place your mat outside the bathroom area, not in it! The breakfast is also delicious, and if you're sick of eating the same thing every day, just walk over to the hawker for numerous delicious foods.

There is only one bad thing I can say about The Daulat, and that is the rooms on the west (pool) side of the hotel are subject to bone jarring music from the two bars next door. I brought earplugs and usually wasn't back until the bar closed, so it wasn't an issue for me.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the east side if you don't plan on staying out late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potatomato33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Staff were excellent for the price I paid it came with breakfast with pool facility with personal service . I was pampered by the staff . The plus point is there are free flow of bottle water as well as soft drinks . Breakfast was excellent and simple .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Empire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Kai
#156 of 319 in Singapore
276 reviews
Hotel YAN
#64 of 319 in Singapore
491 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#116 of 319 in Singapore
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Hotel
#129 of 319 in Singapore
73 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#167 of 319 in Singapore
575 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#126 of 319 in Singapore
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daulat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daulat

Address: 16 Madras Street The Daulat, Singapore 208413, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $88 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Daulat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors for the first time, The Daulat is a boutique hotel, which caters to both business and leisure travelers with an amalgamation of modern contemporary design and a rich architectural history. With an emblematic interior design across all its 16 rooms, it aspires to accommodate our guests with a unique experience during their stay. The Daulat is located less than 500 meters from Little India MRT station and resides in the heart of Singapore’s foremost Indian enclave. Little India is one of the most vivid, colorful places with an agglomeration of flower vendors, spice stores and Indian fashion wears. Little India historically was part of the Chulia Kampong area. In the initial plans of Singapore by Raffles which, was originally a division of colonial Singapore where Indian immigrants would reside under the British policy of ethnic segregation. The district eventually flourished and evolved to become, what is now known as Little India. Under the British colonial rule the architecture of the buildings then were symbolic of the British influence. The buildings were characteristically known as shophouses. Retailers ran their business from the first floor and their living quarters was the floors above the shop. These designs of the shophouses in Little India range from the Early 1840 to 1900.The fusion of a rich historical installation with modern contemporary facilities and design is what The Daulat cites as general theme for their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Daulat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daulat Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing