We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore, Little India”
Review of The Daulat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Daulat Hotel
Ranked #116 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were at first surprised as this boutique hotel was nothing like we imagined from the pics on the internet. However, we grew to love the quaintness of The Daulat. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms small but clean and the bed, linen and towels exceptional. Breakfast was simple but lovely, coffee very good. We were encouraged to help ourselves to the soft drinks and water from the fridge as much as we wanted - very handy as we packed a few bottles of water in our bags each morning as we set out in the Singapore heat. Location is great, close to the MRT, fantastic restaurants and the excitement of Little India. Downsides would be the noise from surrounding bars (mainly on the weekend) and probably a bit overpriced. Would recommend the Daulat to everyone who wants to experience a holiday with a difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annabel697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice for staycations in Singapore.

The hotel is located in the heart of Little India and the amount of choices for food and entertainment in the area is amazing.

I think this hotel is perfect for those who want to enjoy the sights and sounds of little india but with alot more comfort and luxury as compared to the many stripped-down no-frills backpackers inns around the area.

The hotel i feel is also the perfect destination for no-frills business travelers who wish to have easy access to more local amenities around the area.

During my stay, the service staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the quality of the finishings in the room was superb, the bed being the most awesome part of my staycation experience.

I definitely like the hotel and would recommend it to travelers coming to Singapore.

Room Tip: Try the loft rooms. They are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdulr344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently i had the opportunity to travel to Singapore and as in the past made a booking on line, the hotel is a little tricky to find but it seems well located in little India. Its a small hotel only 16 rooms and although our room was quite small we had all we needed. The staff were really helpful and having a drink fridge at your disposal day and night that it so very easy to stay refreshed.
This is a boutique hotel, in a good location with a hearty breakfast. Would recommend Daulat for short stays and for those who are looking for privacy. We were well satisfied with our experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this hotel based on its internet site and were quite disappointed for what we paid. On the plus side, the staff are all very smiley and helpful and it is nicely located in Little Italy. However, the rooms are not like on the website, the swimming pool was closed and the ac was really cold, noisy and we had no control over it. In fact, we asked the first night and it was supposed to be fixed the next day, but it wasn't. In the end we had to sleep with the card out of the slot to cut the electric and the ac/ventilation. Apparently, it's just opened but for almost 220 S$ a night it's not good value.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chiedete le stanze dalla parte opposta della strada (c'è una discoteca Indy-pop!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Jörg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#110 of 317 in Singapore
853 reviews
Hotel YAN
#59 of 317 in Singapore
454 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#146 of 317 in Singapore
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,191 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 317 in Singapore
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daulat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daulat Hotel

Address: 16 Madras Street The Daulat, Singapore 208413, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Daulat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors for the first time, The Daulat is a boutique hotel, which caters to both business and leisure travelers with an amalgamation of modern contemporary design and a rich architectural history. With an emblematic interior design across all its 16 rooms, it aspires to accommodate our guests with a unique experience during their stay. The Daulat is located less than 500 meters from Little India MRT station and resides in the heart of Singapore’s foremost Indian enclave. Little India is one of the most vivid, colorful places with an agglomeration of flower vendors, spice stores and Indian fashion wears. Little India historically was part of the Chulia Kampong area. In the initial plans of Singapore by Raffles which, was originally a division of colonial Singapore where Indian immigrants would reside under the British policy of ethnic segregation. The district eventually flourished and evolved to become, what is now known as Little India. Under the British colonial rule the architecture of the buildings then were symbolic of the British influence. The buildings were characteristically known as shophouses. Retailers ran their business from the first floor and their living quarters was the floors above the shop. These designs of the shophouses in Little India range from the Early 1840 to 1900.The fusion of a rich historical installation with modern contemporary facilities and design is what The Daulat cites as general theme for their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Daulat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daulat Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing