We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hola Lolla”
Review of Lolla

Lolla
Ranked #71 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hola Lolla”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Ming Tan and his team run a tight ship, in a tight space - so it definitely pays to book ahead. Sitting up at the bar you get to witness team Ming in action preparing house specialties such as sea urchin pudding and beef tongue escalopes. The food is flavour packed, intriguing and delicate all at once. The wine list is a real treat with some great choices by the glass. A place to come to solo or with friends - it works for all occasions. A little corner of Madrid in Singapore.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuavaJelly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    75
    29
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,853 reviews
1,139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
“Pretentious and cold”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Unfortunately for Lolla, I went to Vida Vino the evening before, and it was night and day between these 2

Entered Lolla and it was a very large counter area seating. Decor was hip and i was excited

15 minutes later, they remembered us! Came to took drink and food order. We ordered the duck rilletes, iberico pork collar, chicken + proscuitto, spanish tortilla + eel. the duck rilletes and iberico pork were good. The chicken seemed undercooked (yuck). The spanish tortilla seemed underwhelming as we are so spoiled with the yummy japanese cooked eel, this one seemed bland

Throughout the meal, the servers never come to you to ask if you want another cocktail, or change out your plates since the gravy and leftovers from 3 different tapas have all interacted and made friends. It's just a very cold environment and you don't really feel welcome. Or served

Skipped dessert and more potential wine and left. Anyway it was already the same cost as Vida Vino and i certainly don't want to spend more here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

When mentioning a couple of friends that we were going to visit Lolla, I heard "good but overpriced" a few times.
Perhaps because we did not drink much, but we had a very pleasant dinner for two for about $65 each and we did not leave hungry. This is a good place.

Our seats were downstairs, where some other reviewers mentioned they would be a bit sturdy. It is a counter-concept so fair enough.
We were attended by "Alan", if I recall correctly, who was extremely attentive while not intrusive. Very good service.

He suggested to order about four dishes. We did 5 between two, and and that was just perfect (mind you: we are decent eaters). On the side, we were given two (generous) samples of red wine: a portuguese and a spanish. Spanish it was, very good.

The meal started with the crostini bread with San Marzano puree'. This dish, while pleasant, did not standout (the sauce while not bad, wasnt exceptionally tasting).
We moved onto a cheesy suffle' which was very good and well presented, before the highlights of the meal: beef tongue and pork neck. Both extremely savory and interesting, while not overbearing. To finish off "lightly" we had the smoked scamorza (an italian cheese), that was ok (somewhat rare to find in Sing ).

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FedwardHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“To be recommended !”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had dinner at Lolla with a group of colleagues, so we sat in the basement (the AC was quiet cold for me). We have very nice "tapas", cooked with mediterranean influence, I recomend scallops, and chocolate molleux for desert.
Service was good, we had a great night and will probably come back !
It is not cheap but stays accessible.

Minus point is that seats were not comfortable, but the atmosphere is nice and trendy.

To be recommended !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went to Lolla for my husband's birthday back in February. I am still dreaming about the leek gratin. Seriously, it was freakishly good.

As a foodie, I admire the way all of the chefs work together in the kitchen. They make it look really easy to all cook in a small space, which I am sure it is NOT! We also had grilled calamari, the steak and gelato. Everything was wonderful, but again, do yourself a favor and get the leek gratin.

Decent prices for Singapore, especially for such a highly rated restaurant. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lolla also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Lolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing