We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hideout”

MacRitchie Nature Trail
Ranked #15 of 809 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A short trip from the city center lies the serenity of MacRitchie Reservoir, part of Singapore’s water catchment system that captures rain water to help supply the island’s growing population. Trails surround the park, which has an upgraded visitor’s center featuring a café, restrooms and information station. The best views are from the TreeTop Walk, a 250-meter suspension bridge across the rainforest canopy, which can be accessed along the seven-kilometer Venus Loop. Wear hiking shoes and bring water.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favourite hideout”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I always head to this place for a run and i hope that the trails are maintain without having man made stones being place over the hills

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Huiying2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    493
    60
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Jungle”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Highly recommended escapade if you like walking and you have plenty of time. This is a taste of the tropical rainforest 20 minutes from the city center. To get there, the closest MRT station is Marymount, but you'll have to walk about 10-15 minutes from there to get to the park entrance. It's not easy to find and Google Maps isn't very helpful. The entrance I used, which I think is the closest, is right next to the St Theresa's Home entrance. Once you're in, however, signs are plentiful and clear. Everything is well maintained and it's very easy walking/hiking, most trails are either hard packed or gravel, or wooden walkways. There's a lot of life, I saw turtles, a monitor lizard, plenty of monkeys (which were very well-behaved even when I walked very close to them), birds, butterflies, and the forest is teeming with jungle sounds. A huge contrast to downtown Singapore!
Distances are easy to underestimate, which is why you need to have plenty of time. Getting there is hard, as I mentioned, take a taxi from an MRT station close by if you want to make your life easier and save time. Take some water, it's very hot and humid, you'll be sweating a lot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebdanslevide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Long Walk!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We took MRT to the nearest station and then started our trek towards the treetop suspension bridge. We should have paid closer attention to the distance markers and been more prepared. We are a healthy, young group, but should have brought water and snacks. The scariest part of our trek were the monkeys on the playground near the reservoir-- very aggressive-- hold on to your belongings. We enjoyed our walk despite the distance and heat, and the treetop bridge is really very cool. Definitely worth it if you have a morning you'd like to spend exercising in Singapore. I did get stung on the foot by a very poisonous bug of some sort, but overall, highly recommend. Bring water, snacks, and maybe bug repellent. Wear comfortable walking shoes and breathable clothes as you will be out there for a while if you start at the reservoir park and do the entire loop to the bridge. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bridge loop is one way and is over 2 kilometers-- so no turning back once you get on this trail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cvb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Easy to get lost”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We set off from the water reserve on what ostensibly was going to be a 5K walk following the pink trail towards the tree top walk. Just before the tree top was a ranger station. The tree top walk can only be done in one direction and it doesn't tell you that it is over 2K!
We then looked for the exit, but the sign was broken so we asked the ranger where to go. He said there were two ways and pointed to what he said was the quickest. It went onto a road past a golf club. We asked a local walker where the exit was, and he told us another 2.9K down the road !!!
At this point I was exhausted and we managed to book a taxi from the golf club
On top of that we saw a blue and red snake. when we googled it, it turned out to be a Malaysian blue coral snake - the 10th most deadly snake in the world!
If you are going to do this walk start at the Venus drive entrance and walk back to the water reserve - at least that way you have civilisation at the end

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great walk”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Well marked path and well maintained. Treetop walk was worth doing but make sure you walk the right way around as it is a one-way only walk across the treetop bridge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacRitchie Nature Trail also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to MacRitchie Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing