We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeleivably excellent food and cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
Ranked #24 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Unbeleivably excellent food and cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We found ourselves at a loose end before our flight home late on Sunday night and discovered there was a Din Tai Fung pretty much underneath the hotel. I have already sung Din Tai Fung’s praises in Hong Kong and Orchard Road Singapore.

I can only again say that this is a Michelin starred restaurant that serves food under £2 per dish and is out of this world good. It gets very busy so possibly book or don’t go at peak times if you are not prepared to stand in a queue 50 people deep.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    159
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
571 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Yummy food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

On a recent trip to Singapore, we had dinner in the Raffles City eatery and we were not disappointed. The food is delicious and you can see is being prepared by the staff. So reasonably priced and you are not hurried out the door even with a huge line up waiting to get in. Try it and you will return like we have.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was OK, nothing particularly special, service excellent, location ordinary. Din Tai Fung had been recommended as something "special" but I was left wanting!
I thought prices were very expensive considering the above. Wouldn't go out of my way to return. Can't think of anything above the "average" to recommend it to others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible Horrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Really disappointed. Just eaten there. All the courses we wanted were sold out. Horrible greasy food. Beef soup absolutely disgusting - full of grizzle & fatty meat. Dumplings average & egg fried rice v v greasy. Feel sick now & bloatered with a vile aftertaste !!! Not recommended AT ALL !!!

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some of the best dim sum you'll ever eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just discovered Din Tai Fung in Singapore. If you like dim sum you'll love this place - almost everything on the menu is good, and some things are outstanding. We went to a couple of different outlets in Singapore, and the food was consistently good across both of them.
Try the 'Shrimp and Pork Oriental Wantons in Spicy sauce', they're outstanding - as is the Sliced Duck in Crispy Spring Onion Pastry.
The only thing avoidable in the entire restaurant is the Almond Pudding with Black Sesame sauce - try the Mango Pudding instead.

Prices are reasonable, with the average being about S$8 a plate of dim sum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank karan701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung also viewed

 

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing