We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very thin walls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venue Hotel
Ranked #122 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very thin walls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I stopped at the Venue hotel for 5 nights in May and I would recommend the Venue hotel if you are looking for a nice hotel, at a cheap price, in Singapore. This hotel is definitely value for money. The hotel reception is inviting and the staff are friendly. The only issues with this hotel are that the rooms are small and the walls are paper thin, so if you are a light sleeper then you might want to avoid this hotel. On two occasions I was woken up in the early hours of the morning; once from guests coming in late and banging doors and the second time was when someone moved to the room next door (because they weren't happy with their room) at 3am and then the cleaner started cleaning the room to the other side at 4am!!! I complained to the Manager, and he did apologise; however, he shouldn't have the cleaners cleaning the rooms at 4am in the morning!
The rooms are clean, well stocked with toiletries and tea/coffee and include a TV, fridge, complimentary water and a safe. I had a pleasant stop at the Venue. It is a little far out from the centre of Singapore, but the No. 33 bus stop is about 2 minutes up the road and it takes you to Clarke Quay or China Town in 30 minutes (for about €1.90 SGD).
Overall, I had an enjoyable stop at the Venue and I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MAMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MAMurray, thank you for kind review! We do appreciate your kind comments and we have already begun working hard to fix those issues mentioned !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    202
    105
    25
    19
See reviews for
52
185
62
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

a $20 cab ride from the airport (no shuttle) and conveniently located in the red light district, “the view” hotel provides windowless rooms with cardboard walls that smell like cheap perfume and liquor… here at the view you will be exposed to local sites and sounds provided by the mass hookers that hold down every corner of ever block in a 2 mile radius... so if you seek the vibe of cheap sex, bad perfume and a $50 cab ride roundtrip… “the view hotel" is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrinegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

For the price they charge, venue hotel is a great choice. You just need to be realistic about what you get for about $80 per night in singapore. Yes the rooms are pretty tiny, but realistically how much room do you need to sleep. There are no windows in the standard room, but then we were only there after 9-10pm and gone by 9am the next morning so no issue there. Basically small comfortable rooms, in a new clean hotel with some funky decorations. The only feedback I would give is around the bathroom. Really need to have the toilet realigned so that you can actually sit on it, very uncomfortable sitting on a toilet sideways.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Venue Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Dear swc1985, we do understand the limitations mentioned, however our Superior and Deluxe rooms come with a window option and more comfortable level in terms of space.
Thank you for your sincere feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

we stayed there 2days and 1 night. first impression of this hotel was neat , small and warm hotel in the middle of east singapore. its surely a boutique and the smell was so nice. the lobby is unique decorate with 2 elegant seats . th person in charge both of them very warm welcome and nice. the room small but neat and no window. but they made the circulation gud. make sure to ask them to place you in no smoking room. surrounding very nice alot of resto , best eng seng seafood at joochiat place and also durian lingerie on still road. next to hotel is giant supermarket where you could buy your need. buses are passes by in front of hotel as well as taxi. really a different experience compare if you stay in orchard area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purbaningrum_Sasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Venue Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Dear Purbhanigrum_Sasmita, thank you for your kind encouragement! We do appreciate all the nice comments in your review, they are much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

really really great, stayed her for ten days and nothing i could complain about. Rooms were fairly modern and always cleaned well, and staff were really friendly and provided good service even early early in the morning. Location was good and right next door to a supermarket that seems to be open all the time. overall was really good compared to other places stayed at in Singapore within the same price range. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacinta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Venue Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Dear Jacinta S, thank you for rooming with us! We are grateful for the time and effort taken to write such a great review of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent value for money, clean room and fantastically friendly staff.Supermarket is close by as is bus to Suntec City.

Only downside rooms are small but for the price this hotel represents fantastic value for money!

Enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Venue Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Dear Paul W, thank you for being so kind in your review! Do book our Premier and Deluxe rooms on your next visit for a different level of comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I just stayed at the Venue Hotel last night and could not be more disappointed. I understand that for a $65 room in Singapore, you won't be getting much. But even for the price the experience was just terrible. I was still shocked at how poor this hotel is, particularly after reading the 'value for money' comments. The service was not friendly when I checked in, and upon reaching the 3rd floor, I was greeted with the sounds of a couple having 'fun' in their bedroom. You can imagine how paper thin the walls must be if I heard this from the elevator, which is a good 20 feet from the rooms. From inside my room, the sounds were much worse. Even past 2 am, I could hear the sounds of talking and the radio being played. I am usually a flexible traveller but the noise issues were too hard to ignore.

Besides the utter lack of soundproofing, the hotel smells like a terrible mixture of cheap perfume and stale cigarette smoke. I have no idea how this is, given that this hotel is relatively new. I got to the hotel around 10 pm, and by 1 I had a headache because of the smell. Further, the wifi works so poorly they might as well not even have it. To add to the list, when I asked for a map of Singapore, or a map of the MRT station, or any information at all about Singapore, they had nothing, saying they were 'all out'. And finally, the room itself is oddly very humid, making for a very unpleasant experience.

Travellers beware: for the flight wary traveller tempted into thinking the proximity of this place from the airport makes any inconvenience worth it... you will be sorely disappointed. I truly regret my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Venue Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Dear Kat F, we are sorry to hear of your experience! We will be looking seriously at the areas mentioned and working hard to improve them as best as we can! Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#125 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#94 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#132 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#144 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#143 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venue Hotel

Property: Venue Hotel
Address: 305 Joo Chiat Road Venue Hotel, Singapore 427556, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venue Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing