We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little peace away from the maddening crowd” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinese and Japanese Gardens

Chinese and Japanese Gardens
Ranked #55 of 796 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The stunning colors of the plants and rock formations in the Chinese Garden contrast with the thought-provoking Japanese Garden.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A little peace away from the maddening crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

These are well planned gardens with wide, sealed walking paths. The gardens cover a large area and although they are popular it is possible to find a quite spot for a picnic, relaxing or admiring your surrounds. The lakes are full of carp and there are many water birds to be seen.

Entry to the garden is free. Within the Chinese Garden is a small turtle and tortoise sanctuary. Entry fee is $5.00. Some of the tortoises roam freely around the garden. You can buy a bag of tortoise food for $1.00 and feed the animals in the ponds. A great activity for young children.

Although there are many vending machines around the park selling cans of soft drink and bottled water I did not see and cafes or vendors selling food other than ice-cream.

The parks are very easy to get to as the entrance is directly outside the Chinese Gardens MRT station.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    221
    71
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Do not waste time for oversea tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is more suitable for local people to hanging around. Nothing special in the garden only with a pond with fresh air. Suitable for family with kids like me to spend a weekend with them, picnic or jogging.

For oversea tourists i would suggest to visit Botanic Garden instead.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelbaby_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wasted potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

There are no so many parks of such size in Singapore and this one could very well be the "botanic gardens of the west". However, nothing really seems to make it attractive, particularly the Japanese gardens section which is old-fashioned (tyres used as flower pots, large unappealing paths) and offer virtually no attractions to children, In land scarce Singapore, it is really a pity that the potential of these gardens be left unattended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manunuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peace & tranquility - well mostly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you take the MRT,get off at Lakeside. It is a fairly short walk along Jurong lake (and if you look carefully, you see a number of small animals such as squirrels. The bonsai garden is definitely worth a visit - pity that a large part of it is not accessible. Climb to the top of the high-rise pagoda for a nice view of the gardens and surrounding area. The more wooded areas are really nice & quiet. I found a number of people who insisted on playing music at high volume on their cell-phones, something I find extremely rude. Would I go back? Yes, it is a nice place to visit. Take water though - it is HOT (there is at least a shop at the tortoise museum if you forget)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boca_Culebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not bad for free :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went to the gardens on the MRT. I live quite a way away on the east coast. If I lived in the city I would use this facility again as it was lovely and peaceful there. Not too many people. Everything freshly painted and well kept gardens and lake. Only downside was nowhere to sit and buy a cold drink. If you go definitely take plenty of water, there are plenty of toilets there. Try and go at the cooler part of the day.I visited the turtle sanctuary but it upset me that there were so many crammed into a small place in concrete boxes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank koolcazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese and Japanese Gardens also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Chinese and Japanese Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing