We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, laidback and dog-friendly, but a little expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coastal Settlement

The Coastal Settlement
Ranked #745 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely, laidback and dog-friendly, but a little expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I think all the reviews here have mentioned the decor, and this is a laid-back, out of the way location and an escape from the urban heat.

The food isn't exceptional, but it's functional. Don't expect anything too amazing from the kitchen and you won't be disappointed. It's quality café food at restaurant prices. They're using good quality ingredients here, but dishes like pizza on Lebanese bread and creamy mussels and clams are crafted to be charming old friends rather than wow you.

Everything costs a bit more than it should do (a small salad is $16++, a small pizza is $22++, a beer is $13++ and a lemon barley is $7++), but it's a charming and relaxing atmosphere, so if you're looking for a breather from the city then you'll probably find it's a small price to pay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativeSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    79
    34
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unusual decor, pleasant venue for evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at this restaurant quite late in the evening but were accommodated without fuss. Kitchen closes at 9.45pm.
We had a lovely table on the verandah overlooking the garden. The service was very good, attentive staff without being fussy.
Only problem was my main course took a long time to come, everyone else had their meals bought out at the same time. Apologies from the waiter for the delay and the meal was worth waiting for. Mushroom and truffle fettucine, yum!
The decor is eclectic with an unusual collection of bicycles and motor scooters displayed in cabinets around the walls! There are old VWs in the garden.
It is out in Changi Village so a fair distance from the city but well worth the visit for something different.
We went with our son and daughter-in-law, they paid so I don't know how expensive the meal was.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chucky tuna bread... mmm...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The decorations inside the cafe bring back memories from the 60′s to the 80′s. Various sections of the cafe have specific themes. There is also outdoor seating available. Love their fries with vinegar and their tuna bread! Published photos here - http://effandbee.sg/coastal-settlement-among-greenery

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerenceTanST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spacious restaurant - good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The group of five of us drove from the west for lunch. The restaurant only accepts reservations for group of 10 and above, so if you're a small group, go earlier. But then again, the place is pretty big, so you should have no problems securing a seat for smaller groups.

We reached about 1.30pm on a Sunday and was promptly lead to a table for 6. But come another 1-2hours later, you will end up queuing. I love the quirky, vintage decor of the restaurant. It strikes me as a family place due to the number of kids and big family gatherings around us. The place can get pretty noisy, so don't expect a romantic conversation going on anywhere.

Service was acceptable. Food was not too bad. We ordered a few main dishes and staff was quick to notice that we aim to share. Extra plates were served quickly. We love the pizza, although it does remind one from Skinny Pizza.

Overall, I thought it is a good place for big gatherings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jyyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely decor and location but average food and poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited for dinner after a long break. Food has improved but the service has not. Slow and not attentive. Food came at different times. Had to ask a number if times for different things.

It's a busy place with lots of screaming kids.

Food is as average. No different from many places. Prices are high especially for a casual eatery with poor service. Poor selection of wine and at high prices.

Will definately not return. Better places to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gt0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coastal Settlement also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Coastal Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing