We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible place.”
Review of Urban Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Urban Hostel
Ranked #195 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible place.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I think those people who are saying that this place is not that bad have not truly experienced the horror that the proprietors are. This is as of April 2014 and I am saying with great emphasis that the lady who runs the place is NOT just straightforward, she is rude, and irresponsible and verging on insane (and i'm being nice here).
If your checkout timing is 12noon, you better make sure you do not check out by 1215 or all your stuff will be unceremoniously thrown out of your room and you will be yelled at when you try to pack and leave as fast as possible. The lady will also try to grab at your phone and throw it because you take a second to tell your loved ones that you are checking out.
IT IS NOT WORTH IT. please, use the extra 3/4 dollars and check into a place which lets you feel safe, and like a human being.
I would not even recommend this to my worst enemy.
The place is dirty, the wifi is alright but the people and the location is sketchy.
DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Don't go here. I'm serious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    1
    13
See reviews for
1
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Worst hostel ever! My bed was totally dirty but they insured that the bed lines are clean. But it was obvious not? Bathroom was also disgusting and i think nobody cleans it ever. There were hair all over the floor and other dirt. Also the garbsge bin was totally full and over 2 nights i stayed there it gets even more full. But nobody cleared it. Booked 2 nights over tripadvisor .... otherwise i wouldn't have spent one night there!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

There are some pretty harsh reviews for this place but in defence of the lady who runs the hostel, she's not that bad. She's very direct, perhaps blunt at times but she was never un courteous towards us. Just try not to be a grouchy tourist and you won't have a problem.
Awesome wifi, I took full advantage of to Skype family and friends. The rooms were clean, the beds were nice enough. No negative aspects. The bathroom was basic, very basic but if you are a backpacker and you have just booked into the cheapest hostel in Singapore then what were you expecting?
Save money for your travels and stay here. It's not as bad as some people would have you believe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Slatedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Didn't expect much since this is intentionally for backpacking trips. Common bathroom but didn't mind. . It was a good location (near the train, restos etc)

In defense of Valerie(the landlady), she really is a nice person. Straightforward, yeah but not rude.

Will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is such a pretty well-located, very near MRT station, just 1-2 mins from hostel to MRT. And also, its price is good (difficult to find such cheap price like that), but of course, everything is basic. Toilet and bathroom is a bit bad. Ms proprietor is very practical and a bit prissy.
I said that I want to borrow the hair-brush but she said "I don't have, I don't sell it here". I want to borrow 3 prong plug from the roommate. When she heard we are talking about this, she called the roommate and give her warning that don't lend me because she sells it.

Room Tip: If you choose this hostel, should try chili-crab at No Signboard, it takes 5 mins to walk from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NhuTruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This has been the single worst accomodation experience I've ever had. We booked 2 nights on booking.com and chose it because of the price, $15 each a night for a 6 bed dorm with air con. When we arrived reception was empty and we waited an hour and a half for the woman to roll out of bed, litterally a few feet from the desk as she lives in the hostel, just to find out if we could store our luggage before check in. She told us to leave it by the kitchen on the other side of the hostel, watched only by cctv, which no one watched. Also she refused to give us the wifi code before our check in time. Throughout our stay the woman constantly disturbed us to look for other guests, turned down our air con when she felt we had it too high and even took our remote when we left it on while we went for lunch. A punishment for us, like taking a childs toy when they misbehave. At one piont a "madman" came in to use the toilet and kicked off, the police were called and he left. When we tried to lock our door later that night she told us not to because she didn't want to give another guest a key as he only stayed one night. Put our personal safety at risk to avoid the paperwork involved in the $10 deposit, wonderful. An hour before check out she took our keys to give to another guest I assume, then returned to the room twice while we were packing to tell us to leave, though we weren't due out yet. Upon checking out we confronted her and told her we felt mistreated. She responded by calling us rude and telling us to go to a 5 star hotel if we want to be treated better. According to Urban Hostel, you can buy respect so I suggest you spend the money on it elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natalieruth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed two nights at Urban Hostel, upon arrival we had to wait almost 2 hours just to see if we could store luggage and confirm check-in time, because the receptionist got out of bed late. The dorm was ok, what we expected for the price, with good air con, the bathrooms and other areas were revolting. The biggest problem was the woman who worked there, she was amazingly rude to us throughout our stay. She removed the air con remote from our room when we left it on to go out to lunch, then she came into our dorm late at night to check on other guests and turned the heat up, complaining it was too cold, amongst other things. When we checked out we informed her of our stay, saying we thought the service was unsatisfactory and that we felt she was rude, she replied saying that if we wanted good service to go to a 5* hotel, spoke over us and ended up shouting in our faces,...that pretty much sums our experience up. I urge you not to stay at Urban Hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Nano Hostel
#165 of 231 in Singapore
3 reviews
Blue Jazz Hostel
#98 of 231 in Singapore
11 reviews
Coziee Lodge
#99 of 231 in Singapore
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joyfor Singapore
#90 of 231 in Singapore
74 reviews
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#15 of 231 in Singapore
246 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#51 of 231 in Singapore
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hostel

Property: Urban Hostel
Address: 67A Lorong 27 Geylang | Geylang, Singapore 388189, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Urban Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing