We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for any backpackers.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gap Year Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gap Year Hostel
Ranked #92 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
1 review
“A good choice for any backpackers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is my first time staying in a backpackers hostel and it was really great! I feel welcomed the moment I stepped into the hostel. The owner couples are really friendly, helpful and very nice to talk with. The rooms are great, each bed has its own individual reading lamp and sockets which is very convenient. The hostel is located near the MRT(5 mins walk) which is easy for me to get around. I really enjoyed my stay here. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perng612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap_Year_Hostel, Owner at Gap Year Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and good luck for your future endeavours :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are looking for a hostel in Singapore, Gap Year Hostel is definitely your 1st choice.
I travel every week for my work, and Gap Year is the best hostel i ever stayed.
The owner, Mr. and Mrs. Dennis, they are like friend. Friendly and warm.
The nearest MRT and bus stop around make your trip easier and comfortable.
The clean accommodation and the unique design of the hostel is also another "waooh" point. Ask Mr and Mrs. Deniss and you'll be surprise of their creativity.
I personally like the design of the room with individual reading lights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuhSia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap_Year_Hostel, Owner at Gap Year Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
thank you for your kind words and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

gap yard hostel is the best!!!
It's cozy and extra comfortable. it's location is very good to because there's a many place to shop around there. The pillow is good too :)
next time, i am definetely will come back.

Room Tip: Pick the Top bunks, it's the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap_Year_Hostel, Owner at Gap Year Hostel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
thanks Marjasa, Ede, Zeno and Adhe ... all the best for your studies and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed this place.
The hostel just opened about a month ago, so everything is new and clean.
We sleept in a four bed dorm which was small and had no windows, but you can stay in the sofa area which is really nice.
The owner couple has an artistic flair and are really helpful in any question and nice to talk with! We also learned about the fantastic food around here ;)
There are just two showers including the toilet so in the morning you may have to wait.
Close to Little India and the metro station a good place to stay and explore Singapore.
Including breakfast (toast) and complementary tea and coffee.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juls_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap_Year_Hostel, Owner at Gap Year Hostel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
thanks Lea and Julia for your kind words :)

really glad that you both enjoy our communal area as a lot of thoughts and efforts are put into its design. we hope to engage our guest more there and make them feel at home.

see you soon .... in Singapore or Switzerland ...
cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Mori Hostel
Mori Hostel
#95 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moni Gallery Hostel
Moni Gallery Hostel
#88 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel
Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel
#120 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#165 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#34 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Premium Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#87 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap Year Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap Year Hostel

Property: Gap Year Hostel
Address: 322 Lavender Street, Singapore 338821, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gap Year Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO air-con curfew, less than 5 min walk from subway, Nutella and snacks, clean, friendly staff, near to amenities and places of interest Inspired, designed and managed by backpackers, Gap Year backpacker hostel is a brand new design hostel located in a premium location. Renovated from a pre-war 2-storey shophouse with impressive floor to ceiling height, our 2800 sq feet hostel provides an unique and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gap Year Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap Year Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing