We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean hostel in a negligible location”
Review of Central 65 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central 65 Hostel
Ranked #98 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A clean hostel in a negligible location”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having read all the amazing reviews of b88 hostel on TripAdvisor, I was keen to try this hostel out during my month in Singapore. Visitors seem to appreciate the nice staff, the breakfast and lounge, and the privacy of the dorm rooms, which are fair points, but hardly to the extent I was lead to believe. I can only assume this is because most reviewers are inexperienced in several places of accommodation in Singapore, and therefore incapable of objective comparisons. My own review is based on the experience of four hostels and five hotels in Singapore.

Located on Jalan Besar between Little India and Bugis (a little too far from both), b88 offers clean dorm rooms with air-con and custom-built beds. The beds are made into capsules that offer a little more privacy than is available in a common hostel, but they neglegted to add curtains that would easily add a lot more privacy to your capsule-style bedspace. Thus the privacy is lesser than that of a true capsule hostel, such as Woke Home Capsule Hostel for example. I found it difficult to sleep with people coming and going, but that is the case with all dorm rooms. The wifi usually works and the bed itself is quite comfortable, although the capsule and lockable luggage container could be bigger (only my backpack fit into the container and everyone just kept their luggage on the floor). The blanket provided was too short for my average-length body and failed to cover it fully, which is a minus.

The staff is accommodating and friendly. Personally I didn't get much of a tour of the hostel - basically I was just shown into the room and the rest of the hostel I had to work out on my own (usually guests are shown where the bathrooms are and where to eat breakfast in hostels), but such an oversight is easy to make sometimes, and I'll count myself as an exception rather than the rule in this case. Otherwise I found the staff to be polite and helpful.

The common room of the hostel is nothing to write home about. It's just a room with a table, a sofa and some pillows for sitting. The reception is located in the corner of the room by the entrance, and this room is also where you'll eat your breakfast (toast, cereal and a few fruits). The big tv with movies being shown in the evening is an added bonus.

Other than that the hostel has bathrooms that are pretty clean, but often the floor is wet and you'd better use slippers. There are only four showers per floor and four toilets, but three of the toilets are located in the same space with three of the showers. The single just-toilet cubicle is ridicilously small meaning the door is difficult to open once you're inside. The faucets and sinks of the bathroom are nicely designed and I liked them a lot.

All in all, b88 Hostel is a decent hostel in a negligible neighbourhood - definitely better than the common hostel in Singapore, but also definitely worse than the capsule hostels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
8
41
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kamakura-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

初めて来たシンガポール。
b88での宿泊はとても快適でした。
部屋も綺麗で、スタッフもとても親切。
来る度に宿泊しています。
とてもオススメです。

The first time Singapore to come.
Stay by b88 was very comfortable.
The room is also clean and staff is also very kind.
I7m staying, whenever i'm comes.
It is very a recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very Very nice hostel. A lot of privacy even in the dorm rooms because of the single beds. Very clean and well-kept. Staff is amazing like a second family. Nice breakfast, Common Area. Very good loction close to some MRT stations and a bus stop in front of the door. Next stay in Singapore will be the same place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst-Detlef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The place istelf and the hospitality was excellent. Close ammenties,MRT 10 mins walk away to take you all over and right next to little india which has amazing food. The dorm rooms was one of the best ive stopped in whilst travelling all over asia with nice comfy beds and private locker below and also a cabinet in your bed which has a power point to charge your phone or laptop whilst out and has a lock on it. The seating area was great to hang out in,with big tv and endless films to watch with fellow travellers,free tea and coffee all day and the staff actually interact with you and tell you all thats going on and recommend places of interests to visit. In my opinion,this is an excellent hostel and cant give less than 100%. Thank you to B88 for making my stay the best ive had at a hostel and will definately be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bsuk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is my first time come to Singapore. And i chose b88 Hostel as where i live there. Everything in this hostel are awesome. Located in a strategic place, that make me easy to explore Singapore. Only 10 minutes from MRT station and a bus stop in front of the hostel. Very comfortable to rest, very clean, comfortable bed room, good bath room, good breakfast, comfortable lounge and absolutely with a very very friendly staff.
I lived there for 5 days and i was very impressed. Every time i go back to B88 hostel i feel like coming home. And this one reason that makes me want to back to Singapore soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian_PPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you think of home in Singapore think of B88, 100% comfort , very clean, peaceful, in the heart of Singapore accessible to all corner of Singapore. good rate when it comes to price, good brakefast, but stop just in front, few walk away from the MRT-station. I planned on staying in Singapore for 10days but I ended up staying 30days just because of the comfort from B88. The staff are nothing to talk about they give you all attention and make sure you enjoy your stay...

Room Tip: All the room are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald00Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

B88 is a very good hotel, the boss is very enthusiastic, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the next day we go to the airport take less than a taxi or boss helped us to call a taxi, really thank her a second chanceI will go to Singapore to play live in the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Janet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beighteight, Manager at Central 65 Hostel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hey Janet!

Thanks for taking the time to write. Our team here really appreciate your kind comments,

We'd love to have back here when you're traveling through Singapore again.

Wish you safe travels during your time in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 Fuji
#284 of 312 in Singapore
10 reviews
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#173 of 312 in Singapore
345 reviews
7 Wonders Hostel
#86 of 227 in Singapore
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC Premium Hostel
#93 of 227 in Singapore
104 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Sleepy Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
Blissful Loft
#179 of 227 in Singapore
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central 65 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central 65 Hostel

Property: Central 65 Hostel
Address: 134 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208852, Singapore (Formerly b88 Hostel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central 65 Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central 65 Hostel (formerly known as b88 Hostel) situated at the central heritage district of Singapore since 2012. It is now rebranded and renovated to provide you the highest comfort of living, at a budgeted pricing. Every effort is put in to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one. The 24-hour reception and cafe, coupled with a spacious luggage room for easy storage of your bulky luggage, service and eatery. From a “Pillow Menu” where you can choose your pillow of choice (goose down, buck wheat or even the aromatic or memory pillows at no extra cost!) to a in-house Gym and a luxurious rooftop Jacuzzi, we offer you all the five star trappings at a very affordable and communal price. We provide 134 beds in mixed dormitory with dedicated dorm for female travellers. Travellers will enjoy free breakfast, WIFI, coffee/tea throughout the day. We aim to provide our visitors quality sleep with our quality bedding. Therefore we have selected a anti-bed bug mattress with a high thread count linen on top of having a padded mattress protector and privacy blinds to give you your own personal space that you need despite sharing a room. Don’t take our word for it – Visit us and have a first hand experience…begin your unforgettably luxurious hostel experience here. Come stay with your friends and family NOW! Central 65. Where HOME is, when YOU travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central 65 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central 65 Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing