We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and delicious”
Review of The Halia at Raffles Hotel - CLOSED

The Halia at Raffles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Opened in November 2012, The Halia at Raffles Hotel is the latest and third addition to The Halia group of restaurants in Southeast Asia. The 100-seater restaurant, housed in the premises of the former Seah Street Deli, is an inviting space with lush planted foliage complemented by wood-carved tables and daylight streaming in through classic French windows. The restaurant prides itself on a refreshing concept which encourages flexibility and communal dining, with dishes classified under "large plates" or "little plates" instead of the usual "appetizers" and "mains". It also boasts an al fresco bar, which serves up its signature Singapore Sling by Hendrick's.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting and delicious”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I'd eaten in their Botanic Gardens place years earlier and had good memories of tasty fresh ingredients and clever smaller servings. Their Raffles sister eatery was great too. We had the crab in spaghetti, tuna sashimi and seafood with a pasta crust and creamy sauce - all were delicious as were the ice creamy desserts.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    165
    40
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great food and service...our waitress made my wife a drink that wasn't on the menu (and came back to check if it was ok) and brought crayons for our son

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The service and attention to detail is really first class. The fare is a successful fusion of local/Singapore flavours coupled with western favourites. Not to be missed - the Halia Chilli Crab which comprises generous chunks of chilli crab with spaghetti - a house classic. I also liked their potato fries with mesquite spice. My partner's chicken thigh was tender and juicy. May appear a tad expensive, but worthwhile for the experience. I'm looking forward to my next dinner there already!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Singapore Sling + Halia Raffles”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

First we enjoyed Singapore Sling cocktails in the courtyard.

Then went to enjoy a light lunch. So, we only ordered Chicken breast salad and Oriental pulled duck and - just to make our lunch a little bit heavier - Créme brulee -dessert. All dishes were very tasty.

It was lunch-time and the place was rather packed. Probably that was the reason we had to ask for our water and potato fries an extra time, before they were brought to us with apologies.

During our stay, a very heavy shower of rain broke out. We had our smallish umbrella with us, but our waitress arranged us a larger one, which we could leave at our nearby hotel without the duty to bring it back. Thanks to her once more!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kariheikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Mansard Champagne Dinner”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

i have this group of friends who are always in the know when it comes to the finest wine dinner in town.

we got ourselves a table for 10 at the mansard champagne dinner at halia @ raffles hotel on 2.12.2013. the acoustic was very poor as 1 of my “expert” friends noticed right away, and we had to “shout” at each other to be heard.

this the second time my wife & i joined the wine dinners. the last one at fordham & grand was one of the best dinners i had.

i looked at the halia mansard dinner menu & it looked great too. the concept was communal dining so the courses came in platters for sharing for 2pax.

the oyster gratin was a good, tasty, competent dish. most of us would prefer freshly shucked oysters or sashimi but if you had to have it baked, this was good.

the spicy prawn salad was 1 of my favourites. very refreshing. love especially the sharp spiciness that added the kick to the dish. prawns & salad were fine but nothing special.

the foie gras risotto with apples & duck leg rillette was great too, the duck imparting some flavours to the risotto, which was nicely done al dente. this was perhaps a finer preparation than that served at jamie’s italian & alfresco gusto but taste-wise i preferred the latter 2 which were creamier & more hearty & intense. a few friends did not like the al dente texture. 1 quipped that it was duck porridge..haha.

before getting on the main, we had a very nice lime sorbet palate cleanser.

the ahi tuna loin was another competent dish. these were very lightly seared. the capsicum & white beans garnishing was good & complement the fish rather well. overall i liked the dish though i had better ahi tuna loin in california & seared maguro in japanese restaurants.

next was the sous vide wagyu rump. it was strange that after sous vide (slow vacuum low temp cooking) the beef was still slightly tough & not tender enough, something not usually associated with the tender consistency if anaemic colour that sous vide produced. it was still not a bad dish for a rump cut, perhaps fine preparation & kind of average taste.

the dessert was fabulous, especially the white chocolate. the caramel honeycomb had an interesting & pleasant after taste. some of us thought of it as “terng chan po piah” the vanishing food with a honeycomb wrapped in po piah skin.

many of my friends didn’t think the food was great. it was ok though for my wife & i. i guess everything is relative & depends on the point of reference. perhaps many other wine dinner were better & this would not rank high. but i didn’t see much difference between this (comparing over all the courses) & what one could get at oso, otto, absinthe or forlino at S$88 even w/o the champagne, so to me dinner was quite good, & especially fun & enjoyable with the company.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chefquak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halia at Raffles Hotel also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing